We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, terrific location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Porta Rossa

Save Saved
You added NH Porta Rossa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #29 of 461 hotels in Florence
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, terrific location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband & I spent a week at this wonderful hotel last month. The Porta Rossa was very clean & convenient to all locations. The staff was very helpful with everything. The breakfast was great - a huge selections of breakfast food including fresh fruits and yogurts. The best part of our stay was the amazing shower! It was quite large and after a day of touring it felt so wonderful! The location of the hotel is so quaint. The bed was also very comfortable - we would stay here again the next time we visit beautiful Firenze!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    216
    45
    9
    7
See reviews for
114
511
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here on a trip in April and I didn't care for the hotel, there wasn't anything horrible about the hotel that would cause me to tell someone not to stay here, it just wasn't for me.

The hotel was in a great location, we walked to everything but did take a taxi from the train station, it was a bit far to walk with luggage. There are a ton of restaurants, shops, ect . . .right outside the hotel. The hotel was noisy at night, one side faces a street that has a lot of car traffic and the other side faces a back alley with a lot of foot traffic. The rooms are very modern and large, it reminded me a bit of the W's you see in the states. Some people may like it because it was so large and modern. I thought it was sterile and boring. Because of the street noise and how bright the room was with everything white I didn't sleep at all in the 3 nights I was there.

Breakfast was fantastic and included.

All in all if you are looking for a modern American hotel with a bit of a trendy nightclub feel (think South Beach Miami) this may be for you. For me it wasn't quite what I was looking for in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ended up staying at the Porta Rossa after the place we originally had booked had a problem with water being cut to our room. The Porta Rossa was very clean and the architectural style was a lovely blend of preserving the original building's old world character with modern updating, including a large, lovely, updated restroom with a large tub (a big plus for me!). There was a great selection of food choices for breakfast - allowing us to fill up, grab a gelato during the day for a snack, and enjoy a nice meal out. My only complaint is that the room felt sterile. It was all white, with no art or personality whatsoever. Maybe they hadn't gotten around to that yet? Otherwise, this hotel comes highly recommended from me!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Porta Rossi is a well known hotel in centrally located Florence.

The hotel itself is in a small alley 2 minutes walk from the Ponte Vecchio Bridge, 5-10 minute walk from the Firenze Train station, Uffizi Gallery, Duomo and Leather Market. The designer shops are round the corner, 2 minute walk on Via de' Tornabuoni.

Our room was on 2nd floor, the rooms are clean and spacious with beautiful sacious bed and old style furniture.

The breakfast served was plentiful with fruits, eggs, cold meats, bacon, pastries, breads - anything you wanted!

Wifi is fast and reliable, just had to grab a wifi card from reception which lasts for 24 hours each. The receptionists are very helpful in giving local information, directions, opening times and helping with travel.

Florence is such a beautiful city - I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our hotel experiences in Italy were not the best...that is until we checked into the NH Porta Rossa. The entire staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and professional. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The hotel has all of the modern amenities you need to keep connected (e.g., wifi and wired in the room). The breakfast buffet was fresh and well serviced by the staff. The room was beautiful, modern and had plenty of room to unwind. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the NH Porta Rossa for 1 week last year and I had a great experience.
The hotel was fully renovated and the bedrooms were very well decorated with a modern style combined with the incredible old building. The hotel location is perfect for sightseeing in Florence. 5 to 10 minutes away from any of the many touristic attractions.
The hotel staff was nice and friendly and they help me choose some activities during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is in a superb location in the heart of Florence. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff are pleasant and helpful and breakfast is good. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Porta Rossa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your NH Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.