We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular room and immaculate service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Porta Rossa

Save Saved
You added NH Porta Rossa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa 19, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #31 of 461 hotels in Florence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular room and immaculate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed in one their superior rooms. Room was in incredible spacious with an enormously high ceiling which added even more to the spacious feeling. Bathroom was huge. Room felt newly renovated with a beautiful design and a very stylish modern touch that carried throughout the hotel and blended very well with the historic building. Incredibly beautiful and stylish hallways, in fact the first hotel ever I made photos from their hallways. Hotel is perfectly located, right in the city center next to the Savoy and Bristol Hotel. When arriving by car be aware that the hotel is located in a pedestrian only area. We just parked the car somewhere near the hotel and told the location of the car at check in. They delivered our luggage from the car to the room and valet parked our car. Perfect service so far only encountered in leading 5 star hotels. Loved our stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    210
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
111
496
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Service provided in the hotel was excellent. We stayed in a Junior Suite. Room was very nice size. The Hotel is excellently located. Very close to Ponte Vecchio and best shops in Florence. Everything is walking distance. Best Gelato accross the bridge (Santa Trinita).

We liked that the hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. We got a great deal through expedia.com. Make sure to hang the "Do not disturb sign". They will come in to your room in all hotels in Italy around 9:00 am if you don't. Hotel doesn't include internet. They give you free internet (wi-fi) in the lobby area but it is slower than dial-up. Should ask them to include internet in their rates.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the back street. Request rooms in the front side of the hotel. No cars nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

It was an absolute pleasure staying at this fabulous property with well appointed large rooms with quality fit outs. The staff service is outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at Porta Rossa for 3 nights and were wrapped when we were upgraded. The hotel is amazing, in a building from the 1200's, it was modern, had stunning open windows, comfy bed and pillows, excellent daily room services and staff that were most helpful and welcoming, free internet as well. The location was second to none and we were within walking distance to everything. They even parked our car for us! You must visit the hotel facing the back entry to the hotel...olivieri....was the best meal and service we have ever had...recommended to us by the young man on the reception desk at porta rossa. Ask them for dinner and tour advice as well! Without a doubt it is worth a visit, wish we could have stayed for longer!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hospitality by the staff was amazing. Each different person we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were a bit on the small side and the bathrooms were quite small but we loved the style and cleanliness. The breakfast buffet was a good one with lotS of choices. It was in a good central location which made getting around easy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

First and foremost, the staff at the Porta Rossa in Florence were E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T!
From helping us get around Florence to providing restaurant recommendations to saying hello in the morning as we passed through the lobby, there is a unified sense of truly wanting to make their guest's vacation special. The team there was warm and as charming as the building itself.

The rooms are large by European standards. And the rooms and the building itself is strangely modern and historic at the same time. This is one of the oldest hotels in Italy, but the restoration is hip. I was a little worried that an historic hotel would be dingy, smelly, dusty. But this feels like a modern boutique hotel.

We loved the location: within walking distance to everything. To be clear, I don't think this hotel has great views from any room. Our room overlooked the narrow street below which was charming enough, but it wasn't like there was a panoramic view of Florence. Don't expect that. But since we went to Italy to spent time OUTSIDE of our hotel room, we didn't really care about views. I'm not sure that there are a lot of "great view" hotels in Florence anyway.

What we loved was the very clean, very comfortable, tasteful (hip even), spacious room. I loved the hardwood floors. I loved the high ceilings, old staircases, restoration work, and the eponymic red door!

The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Lots of choices at the buffet tables spread around the dining rooms. They made hot chocolate to order. Yum! We never had a problem with it being crowded, but on vacation, we get up early and go all day long.

Yes, you have to go to the lobby to make use of the free wifi, but they have a comfortable livingroom area. All we used wifi for was to check directions and email, so it's not like it was a big deal not to have it in our room. One note: my traveling companion was unable to get the wifi to work with his iPhone, but it worked perfectly on my android phone.

This was a splurge for us in Florence, and we loved it! We'd stay there again in a heartbeat. we could not have been more pleased with our stay. And a huge part of that was everything the front desk staff did to welcome and take care of us! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Would highly recommend this hotel for staying in Florence. Central location, beautiful old hotel but interior was very modern (great AC) and new with comfortable beds. Concierge was helpful with coordinating dinner reservations and have free internet in lobby (with a nice lounge of couches). We booked through the website and with an advance purchase got a great rate on a beautiful suite. The suite was beautiful, clean, 2 rooms, and great bathroom. If I had to say anything negative it would only be that the breakfast food selection could have been improved and have seen nicer spreads with more selection, but that is just being picky. Worthy of all the good reviews.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa 19, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Porta Rossa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;