We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular room and immaculate service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa to your Saves list
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa) (Uffizi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #27 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular room and immaculate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed in one their superior rooms. Room was in incredible spacious with an enormously high ceiling which added even more to the spacious feeling. Bathroom was huge. Room felt newly renovated with a beautiful design and a very stylish modern touch that carried throughout the hotel and blended very well with the historic building. Incredibly beautiful and stylish hallways, in fact the first hotel ever I made photos from their hallways. Hotel is perfectly located, right in the city center next to the Savoy and Bristol Hotel. When arriving by car be aware that the hotel is located in a pedestrian only area. We just parked the car somewhere near the hotel and told the location of the car at check in. They delivered our luggage from the car to the room and valet parked our car. Perfect service so far only encountered in leading 5 star hotels. Loved our stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Service provided in the hotel was excellent. We stayed in a Junior Suite. Room was very nice size. The Hotel is excellently located. Very close to Ponte Vecchio and best shops in Florence. Everything is walking distance. Best Gelato accross the bridge (Santa Trinita).

We liked that the hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. We got a great deal through expedia.com. Make sure to hang the "Do not disturb sign". They will come in to your room in all hotels in Italy around 9:00 am if you don't. Hotel doesn't include internet. They give you free internet (wi-fi) in the lobby area but it is slower than dial-up. Should ask them to include internet in their rates.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the back street. Request rooms in the front side of the hotel. No cars nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

It was an absolute pleasure staying at this fabulous property with well appointed large rooms with quality fit outs. The staff service is outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj_Barmecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at Porta Rossa for 3 nights and were wrapped when we were upgraded. The hotel is amazing, in a building from the 1200's, it was modern, had stunning open windows, comfy bed and pillows, excellent daily room services and staff that were most helpful and welcoming, free internet as well. The location was second to none and we were within walking distance to everything. They even parked our car for us! You must visit the hotel facing the back entry to the hotel...olivieri....was the best meal and service we have ever had...recommended to us by the young man on the reception desk at porta rossa. Ask them for dinner and tour advice as well! Without a doubt it is worth a visit, wish we could have stayed for longer!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paigeandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hospitality by the staff was amazing. Each different person we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were a bit on the small side and the bathrooms were quite small but we loved the style and cleanliness. The breakfast buffet was a good one with lotS of choices. It was in a good central location which made getting around easy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrwoman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

First and foremost, the staff at the Porta Rossa in Florence were E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T!
From helping us get around Florence to providing restaurant recommendations to saying hello in the morning as we passed through the lobby, there is a unified sense of truly wanting to make their guest's vacation special. The team there was warm and as charming as the building itself.

The rooms are large by European standards. And the rooms and the building itself is strangely modern and historic at the same time. This is one of the oldest hotels in Italy, but the restoration is hip. I was a little worried that an historic hotel would be dingy, smelly, dusty. But this feels like a modern boutique hotel.

We loved the location: within walking distance to everything. To be clear, I don't think this hotel has great views from any room. Our room overlooked the narrow street below which was charming enough, but it wasn't like there was a panoramic view of Florence. Don't expect that. But since we went to Italy to spent time OUTSIDE of our hotel room, we didn't really care about views. I'm not sure that there are a lot of "great view" hotels in Florence anyway.

What we loved was the very clean, very comfortable, tasteful (hip even), spacious room. I loved the hardwood floors. I loved the high ceilings, old staircases, restoration work, and the eponymic red door!

The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Lots of choices at the buffet tables spread around the dining rooms. They made hot chocolate to order. Yum! We never had a problem with it being crowded, but on vacation, we get up early and go all day long.

Yes, you have to go to the lobby to make use of the free wifi, but they have a comfortable livingroom area. All we used wifi for was to check directions and email, so it's not like it was a big deal not to have it in our room. One note: my traveling companion was unable to get the wifi to work with his iPhone, but it worked perfectly on my android phone.

This was a splurge for us in Florence, and we loved it! We'd stay there again in a heartbeat. we could not have been more pleased with our stay. And a huge part of that was everything the front desk staff did to welcome and take care of us! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoelStahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Would highly recommend this hotel for staying in Florence. Central location, beautiful old hotel but interior was very modern (great AC) and new with comfortable beds. Concierge was helpful with coordinating dinner reservations and have free internet in lobby (with a nice lounge of couches). We booked through the website and with an advance purchase got a great rate on a beautiful suite. The suite was beautiful, clean, 2 rooms, and great bathroom. If I had to say anything negative it would only be that the breakfast food selection could have been improved and have seen nicer spreads with more selection, but that is just being picky. Worthy of all the good reviews.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#21 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#87 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, NHHotels, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing