We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rapallo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rapallo Hotel to your Saves list
Rapallo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria, 7, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #18 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Severn, Maryland
2 reviews
“Hotel with history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel Rapallo Firenze is not only nice renovated hotel with nice modern European style rooms and good location but also a hotel with history. At the front desk there is a guest sign book. This book reflects not only guest names and comments but also their country. A staff member reflected on a postcard picture of Demidoff Monument at Accademia Gallery. He shared with us the history of Nicola Demidoff and the location of Piazza Demidoff. This is why I travel … to learn about history and culture.
~ Maryland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
dear, thanks paer have remembered this little detail. I think like you. I like to know, know and find those red threads that bind together all over the world, which are made by the traditions, arts, sciences. for this reason we believe that part of our job is to know as much as possible our city and put at the service of travelers our knowledge. directions are physical and mental ones that we offer.
a salute to maryland
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    265
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
163
524
24
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiance and I kicked off our honeymoon in Italy in Florence and did a lot of research on hotels several months in advance. Hotel Rapallo was a very cute hotel, conveniently located in walking distance from the train station but not so close that it's in a touristy neighborhood. The room was somewhat small, but clean, and it had a big balcony (although the sparse table and uncomfortable chairs left something to be desired). The hotel staff was kind enough to give us a room with a tub, which I had requested, and also gave us a nice little surprise of prosecco and fresh cherries.

The complementary breakfast in the morning had a fair amount of variety and you can't beat a fresh, well-made cappuccino to start off your day.

Compared to some of the other hotels where we stayed on our honeymoon, this was one of the best values.

Room Tip: If you want to get a room with a tub, just call and request it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
kind guest, we like the most special occasions, those who make a special trip, and we are always keen to be part of it in a more discreet but attentive. We are pleased, therefore, to read the satisfaction of his stay, ringrazioando you still have us secelto a sprint. it was a pleasure.
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishteacher44
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everything went pretty well. I enjoyed the fresh fruit at breakfast and the espresso machine was a plus! Our room was nice, but the shower was almost level with the floor and the shower doors did not close enough. The water would flood the floor if you didn't position yourself a certain way in the shower. I have to say I did not like that the people working the reception desk stayed behind closed doors and you felt like you were bothering them. I think it would be much more welcoming if the door was kept open. One reception person advised me on the bus to Piazza Michelangelo. He said it was a nice ride and to buy the tickets at the newspaper. It took one hour from the the time we left the hotel until we got there. It was not a pleasant ride. Walk! The woman at breakfast and the reception at night was the most welcoming and kind of all.

Room Tip: We were put on the first floor right near the staircase. You could hear people going up and down. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for your suggestions that will help to improve our work. a cordial greeting to all our staff
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in June and we could not fault it. We had a double room with a very large bed, the room had two windows one to the front and one to the side street, we were not disturbed by any noise in the street below. Bathroom was a good size with very large shower and free toiletries. There were also tea and coffee making facilities. Every where in the hotel was spotless and we found there was plenty of choice at breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location and a short walk to the railway station. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comment short. we hope to again offer our hospitality to a new residence in Florence, the city where always worth going back
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading other reviews and were very glad we did. It was really easy to get to from the train station, just a few minutes walk up Via Nazionale, and nice and central to go exploring from! Every member of staff we came into contact with was really friendly and polite, and made us feel at home instantly. The room was spacious, clean and obviously recently refurbished and looked fantastic. We had a room overlooking a side street which was really quiet, despite the central location. The bed was very comfortable and free wifi was also handy. There are some lovely little finishing touches at this hotel too - like complimentary bottled water in the fridge, and free soft drinks, coffee and tea along with free biscuits in the afternoon and free bar snacks in the evening for a drink before dinner, as well as a very reasonably priced bar. The staff were happy to point us in the direction of dinner venues, and sort taxis for the airport too. The breakfast was lovely too and they offer a packed lunch for 5Euro if you want to take one with you on your travels!
A really fantastic place, not sure why its only 3* to be honest, as its one of the best we've ever stayed in and will recommend to anyone we know who is travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
thanks for your comment, that dear to us. Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our stay in Florence was made by this hotel. On our quite late arrival the staff were waiting and friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble for them at any time, recommending trips and making advanced bookings at the museums for us, giving directions etc. Breakfast, although a simple continental one, and the dining area itself were nice. Our room was very comfortable and the hotel recent renovations were immaculate and the décor elegant. We would recommend Hotel Rapallo and hope we have the chance to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
thanks for your comment, we are always available to our customers, but in particular we like to suggest paths for our city. live in a somewhat 'more original, which is possible even for a few days without losing its celebrities.
best regards
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very good value for money hotel, rooms are clean and tidy.Rooms have double glazed windows so when they are shut it keeps out most of the noise meaning you get a good nights sleep.
All the staff we spoke to where very friendly and helpful.
Some people would say this hotel is a bit out of the way but it isn't as you can cut thru the side streets and you are within 5-10mins walk from the main attractions, Its only a long walk if you stick to the main road but there is no reason to once you have your bearings.

Breakfast is minimal but my understanding is most italian hotels are the same (i may be wrong?)

If anyone is struggling to pick a hotel to stay in i would recommend Hotel Rapallo without hesitation :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
thanks for this comment. makes a great honor to our work. read these words from one of our clients is the satisfaction of being understood in our work, and a job well done. we must always improve, but this much enthusiasm from us in expressing our service.
friendliness, we hope to have you back soon in florence
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rapallo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapallo Hotel

Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria, 7, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rapallo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rapallo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rapallo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.