We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Bargello restaurant Florence” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bargello

Il Bargello
Piazza Della Signoria 4r, 50100 Florence, Italy
0039 055 214071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #790 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $20 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Il Bargello restaurant Florence”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant presents very small portions badly cooked with indifferent service. They also charge you automatically for that service. We had chicken breast and Pork Chop: they were delivered with french fries which we didn't ask for. This is not a cheap restaurant at all, and extremely poor value for money. The only positive thing I can say is that it has a very good location in a main square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco T, Proprietario at Il Bargello, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest
I've tried for days to find a sense in your review in order maybe to do better our job but I've wasted my times because I couldn't anyway...

At the end I've said to myself that maybe you had big difficulties in reading our menù because:

1) you complain about prices and they are written on the menù outside and in the menù on your table
2)you complain about the service charge and it's written in the menù outside and in that one on your table
3)you complain about the french fries with your main course and it's written in the menù outside and in that one on your table that we serve main course "with vegetables"

About the small portions:what can I answer to someone who complain that had small portions and the following step complain about the "mysterious and hidden added fries" on his plate??So your portion is too poor or too much??!!

So maybe I've a suggestion for you in order to live better(and maybe also to let people like us, who work hardly every day, live and work in peace...) and to enjoy your holidays:read better the menù next time and above all decide what about you want to complain before writing a post!

My best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    96
    54
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Friendly Restaurant in the thick of things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great friendly service, good value and good quality dishes. Great for a family meal out. Choice of indoor and outdoor seating in a great location. You might be lucky and get a few arias from the singing chef! Nothing to dislike, really.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco T, Proprietario at Il Bargello, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for been so happy to stay with us....seems that people understand our genuine friendly way to welcome our Guests but keeping the right professional approach to be efficient.
Greetings from the singing chef Vincenzo
My best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Colorado
1 review
“Il Bargello was the best time EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stopped at Il Bargello at first because of the location and the views. We had a fantastic meal...pizza, wine, dessert and coffee. But the best part was our waiter, Lorenzo. He was very attentive and sweet...then when we teased him a little bit (meaning we were being our normal smartass selves) he jumped right in and quickly became the biggest reason we've had at least one meal per day here. Last night we were fortunate enough to also meet Mario...another great guy. Both Lorenzo and Mario took us back to the kitchen to be serenaded by Chef Vincenzo (who sang a beautiful rendition of Nossun Dorma. Then all three came to our table throughout the evening to gift us with laughter, smiles and song. The food was excellent as was the wine. I will carry the best memories of our trip to Florence close to my heart because of these wonderful men. The best of Italy resides at Il Bargello :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco T, Proprietario at Il Bargello, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

All the Staff have worked behind Mario and Lorenzo to make you feel as better as we could and as I read you have a good remember about the trip to Florence and the Il Bargello too and this make all of us very happy to have done a good job.
My best to you and greetings from Lorenzo, Mario and Vincenzo the singing Chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
1 review
“Our FAVORITE PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend Ellen and I have been in Florence for 5 Days. We happened to choose Il Bargello for lunch and we are so glad we did!! We have been here almost every day!! Whether it's for pizza , pasta, just coffee or wine. We have not been disappointed by the service, location, staff or food. As a matter of fact, we have become friends with each person we have met who works here!! They treat us like family.. Whether it is Lorenzo, Mario, Vincenzo etc.. They have all been wonderful!! I will miss being sung to by chef Vincenzo (it happened last night) or listening to the playful teasing between Il Bargellos waiters and even the waiters in the restaurant next door. We had many choices of where to spend our Euros. Il Bargello will win every time!! As a matter of fact, we are going again today!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco T, Proprietario at Il Bargello, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us ever again and again for several times and for you long description of the restaurant and the staff and the food and the atmosphere and the service! We are so glad that your time here was so good and we want to thank you for any single words you have spent here for us!
Anytime you decide to come back to see us we will be here!
My best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing having lunch here in the middle of this piazza and historic place! Very good pizza and the service excellent! ;)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco T, Proprietario at Il Bargello, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this wonderful review I'm glad you had a great experience with us and I'm sure you will be back and that day we'll do our best to preserve your good memory of us!
My best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bargello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Bargello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bargello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.