We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and views from the roof terrace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio to your Saves list
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #76 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location and views from the roof terrace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Pitti Palace hotel. The room was lovely, cleaned every day - certainly no smaller than other hotels we have stayed in. The location is fantastic, right on the edge of the Ponte Vecchio and directly opposite the Vasari Corridor which was the main reason for our trip. The view from the roof terrace is spectacular, especially at night. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for as high up as possible to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, vice direttore at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay with us, I am glad that you had a nice stay in Florence and hope to welcome you again soon
Regards

S. Bisconti
Assistant Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    443
    107
    32
    10
See reviews for
122
537
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is just in front of the Ponte Vecchio bridge. There's a public parking near but you need to reserve a place. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the roofs of Florence. The rooms are new and very tastefully decorated.

Room Tip: I went in low season and got a great deal on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanmore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fantastic location within easy walking distance of all the local attractions. Clean but smallish rooms but more than adequate for a short stay. Helpful friendly staff.

When we visited builders were on site refurbishing the third floor but they were unobtrusive and this was no problem.

Great views from the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your leaving a review about your stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed Florence and hope to welcome you again

Regards

SB
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a very disappointing stay at this hotel. Together with another couple we booked and paid in advance for superior rooms for four nights through Secret Escapes. We presumed that the reason for the Secret Escapes offer was due to February/March being out of season.

Firstly, during our stay the hotel was undergoing extensive refurbishment with 2 floors closed off and the lounge area out of use. We had not been warned that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment. There was much noise and dust, men were working on rooms on our floor and doing re-wiring in our corridor. On quite a few occasions we had to walk the 5 floors up to our room because the one lift was being monopolised by the workmen and indeed we had to carry our cases down the stairs on the morning of our departure. No-one apologised or expressed any concern or asked after our welfare. I suffered from the dust, I have no idea how someone with asthma would have coped. Our belongings were covered in builders dust. We had to climb over workmen in the corridor. The landing carpet was covered in big dusty footprints and the carpets on the stairs and lift were covered with hazardous loose fitting dust sheets.
The reception staff were generally somewhat off-hand.

Secondly, we realised half way through our stay that we had not been given the superior rooms for which we had paid. The man on the desk that afternoon was reluctant to check our booking and when he did he seemed unconcerned. He simply said that due to the building works he didn’t have any superior rooms available. The manager was not there and he said that he would raise it with his manager who would speak to us, but we heard nothing further, the word ‘sorry’ did not pass his lips. There was no explanation, refund or apology offered. The manager had five days in which to speak to any one of us but still to date we have heard nothing.

We would certainly not stay here again since customer satisfaction seems very low on this establishment's list of priorities.

Room Tip: I can't offer a tip as I won't be returning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest

I read your review and I am uitterly sorry that you went through all these inconveniences. We have tried togive as little disruption as possible during our maintenance and I apologize that we did not succeed with you.
Unfortunately there must have been a misunderstanding, or even an oversight as I was not informed properly of your unsatisfaction. I apologize for not beeing there to help and to listen to your needs.
Once again, I extend sincere apologies from me and all the staff. I hope that you will return to Florence, I will be happy to meet you even for just a drink together in our Terrace

Sincerely

Sabrina Bisconti
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Booked as part of a package through British Airways our expectations weren't high, but we needn't have worried. Reached by an interesting 15 minute walk through town from the main railway station (we could have taken a taxi), the hotel was very easy to locate at one end of the Ponte Vecchio. The friendly and efficient staff soon had us settled in our large newly decorated and well equipped room on the second floor. Plenty of drawer and hanging space in the neat lobby next to the compact but newly fitted bathroom.
A quick trip up to the sixth floor bar and restaurant, which serves as the breakfast room in the mornings, and we knew we had made a sound choice. Great views, good selection of beverages and a very smiley, friendly barman.
The third floor was undergoing refurbishment during our stay but this was in no way an inconvenience and the work mostly went on unseen and unheard.
Position wise this hotel is perfect. It is only a five minute walk or so to all the main points of interest over the bridge and into the city or by turning right out of the hotel, five minutes to the incredible Pitti Palace and gardens.
The continental style breakfast was excellent, with a choice of fruit, cereals, toast, yoghurt, rolls, meat, cheese, cake etc. and as much coffee as you could drink; all topped up continuously by the friendly and efficient staff.
Yes, there is street noise, but that is to be expected in the busy hub of a narrow streeted old city, and we can hardly criticise those that work late into the night and from early morning to get a job done or clean up before we visitors make the streets impassable.
We would certainly stay at the Pitti Palace Hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of sorts but don't expect those aerial views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we just reopened the second floor after a full refurbishment and you were one of the first to occupy one of the rooms! So it is important to have your feedback just to know if we have done a good job!
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Florence and hope to welcome you again

Regards

SB
ASSISTANT MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

To begin with, the staff were all very polite, and helpful which was a good start. Although things unravelled about 30 seconds after this.

The hotel was under going some work and there was mess everywhere and white cloth laid down everywhere. We called the lift as we had heavy bags, after waiting ~5 minutes the lift came down and there were workmen with tools in it. I asked was there room to let us in. They said no, and closed the door.

After an exhaustive trip I was slightly losing my patience and decided to take the stairs, rather than waiting another age for the lift. A very helpful staff member did help bring my girlfriends bag up to our room and show us where it was.

Our room was basic in utility, the bed was rock hard (perhaps Fred flintstone was doin a deal on beds?) and I had joked that if you fell face first on the bed you may be making a trip to the hospital afterwards.
I will concede that some people enjoy a hard mattress, so I suppose it's personal preference, just be warned.

Saying all that, once we got into the bed we did have several fantastic nights sleep, and to be honest we could barely leave the bed in the morning. I felt like I had been drugged! I'll put this down to walking and travelling all day, but you will have a quick and peaceful nights sleep.

If you are tall you will have difficulty in the bath/shower and the standing area us quite small, but manageable.

If your English speaking, there is bbc world, cnn. Good if you like news. Another thing was our tv made a high frequency drilling like noise. Although only on English speaking channels. I had went to reception as I thought those pesky workmen were drilling all night, but we had resolved it was the tv. Solution was to turn it off.

There is free wifi which was a life-saver as I couldn't get proper service with my iPhone, so that gets them a good point.

The breakfast was simple continental, fruit and bread and cereal. If you are lactose intolerant look forward to several breakfasts of bread rolls, but since most hotels I visit don't have lactose free/soya milk, can't complain but would add to service.

Would like to say the male staff member was v. Good (tall, blond) at breakfast, as once the workmen tried to walk through the breakfast area while we were dining and he made them turn round and use another route. Don't know what he said as was Italian, but was glad someone told them off for a change!

On our last day, they will hold your bags, if you wanna still go round the city/late flight etc. which is good.

On reflection: location is perfect, service v. Good, workmen need told to respect guests/dining areas/lift areas. Room although basic is adequate for holiday and fault it much.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I apologize if you had to suffer some inconvenience due to our maintenance works. We tried to create a minimal impact andgave strict instructions to all the people involved.
Despite these inconvenience I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Florence and that you could get a proper rest after walking around all day!
I hope that you will return soon, maintenance is over at last! we now shine in our new look, all rooms are now refurbished and the terrace bar is brand new!
Thank you for your patience and look forward to welcoming you again

Regards

SB
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a lovely hotel that is centrally located to everything. The staff went out of their way to help when our luggage did not arrive for 3 days. I stayed there in November during the marathon and the race passed the hotel twice. So much fun!. Breakfast each morning on the roof top was a delight. I plan to make this my permanent hotel in Florence when I visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a review about us! I am glad you had fun with our annual Marathon and hope to welcom you again in Florence
regards

SB
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#62 Business Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.