We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view and location are the best part....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio to your Saves list
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy (Pitti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Markle, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The view and location are the best part....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'm giving this hotel a higher rating than I would give it had it been located anywhere else. The service at the rooftop bar was so, so and the rooms are a little tired and outdated. The room itself and the bathroom were adequate. That said, the location at the foot of the Ponte Vechhio and steps from Pitti Palace and the Ufuzzi is unbeatable and the view!! What can I say, the view is just incredible. Panoramic vistas of Palazzo Vechhio, Ufuzzi, and the Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments! If you have loved our hotel for the perfect location, I'd like you to know that before spring will hit Florence again, we'll be done updating all the rooms, so maybe you want to plan your next visit to our marvellous city!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    514
    126
    40
    10
See reviews for
156
622
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Hotel Pitti Palace is about as near to all the main tourist attractions as it's possible to be. It is literally across the street from the Ponte Vecchio and a short 10 minute stroll to the Uffizi Gallery. Our room was very clean had a large comfortable bed and well equipped with air conditioning - something we didn't expect to need at the end of October! The hotel is situated in the centre of the city, so as we expected, our view was of the street below. The views really come into their own when you visit the Breakfast Room/Restaurant area. Our breakfasts were a special treat with a superb choice of continental breakfast and a stunning panoramic view of the Florence cityscape. In short, if you need a hotel to see Florence and do not insist on swimming pools or gymnasiums, then this should be you first choice. All the hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. We had no trouble getting to the hotel from Florence Airport by taxi or returning, paying a fixed fare of about 25 euro’s. We hope to return there one day and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor and well above any street sounds. Any noises were not invasive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks Malcolm for taking the time to write this review. We are especially glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful city of Florence.
We hope to see you again in our hotel! Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent a very pleasant three days staying at the Pitti Palace. The situation, at the end of the Ponte Vecchio, was excellent. You could enjoy the bustle from the street below if you left the windows open, or shut it out completely with them closed. Our room was a good size, and the king-sized double bed was so comfortable. The rooms and bed were beautifully made up and cleaned each day. The breakfasts were on the roof top room with terrace, from where you got superb views of the Duomo and Giotto campanile. We walked up all the flights of stairs our first morning but took the lift straight into the terrace room thereafter, having tired ourselves out walking round all the wonders of Florence.
The food was very good with a lot of choice. The catering staff were very friendly and helpful, as indeed were all the staff we dealt with.
We would certainly use the hotel again if we went back to Florence - and it is certainly worth another visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels have better view and are further from street noise - though double glazing cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. As you say Florence is definetely worth one more visit, so we hope to see you again over here to enjoy all its beauties.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect spot. It is close to attractions and easy to get to. The rooms are clean and spacious and the service is superb without breaking the bank. We have been here multiple times over the years and will definitely come back when the chance arises. It is not a fancy pancy place (sorry for that) but for the price you would be very hard pressed to find a nicer, cleaner, better hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for you review but especially to be such a faithful guest. We are very happy you enjoyed to stay with us and we hope to have you here again and again!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What this hotel possesses in location quickly falls victim to its seeming lack of customer service. We stayed at the hotel again this time in Florence, having stayed here in 2004, and quickly found that the focus on customer experience was sorely lacking. The air conditioning was turned off (evidently occurs in September) and it was hot in the rooms, pillows hard as a brick, and offered an occilating fan to work it our on our own. The location comes with the price of being a little loud at the convergence of the Ponte Vecchio and several side streets...all of which is not an issue if you can turn on the air and leave the window closed. The other disappointment was that one of the hotels prime assets, the rooftop seating area, is now closed except for breakfast service. We were told that a security inspection forced it to be closed when not attended...though most area hotels did not do the same. The breakfast is adequate, but lackluster, with danish and machine made coffee and cappuccino. I don't think our next stop to Florence will include a stay here unless reviews here show a marked improvement in management focus on the guest experience. Also for what it is worth...there is the most odd smell of sewer gas in the lobby...to be fair this was not present in the rooms.

Room Tip: ask about the air conditioning prior to booking! Ensure that you have a room facing other than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay in our hotel. We are sorry for the disappointment you expressed for some issues you encoutered while staying with us.
Unfortunately for the air conditioning/heating system we have to follow a certain procedure that can't make everybody happy while the season change, especially when the weather surprise us with an extraordinary long summer like the one we had this year.
Providing fans was just a way to be helpful (and yes fans need to be turned on manually). For the rest, as it happens most of the times, it has been mainly a communication problem I'd say. If you would have asked we could have changed your pillow, just as you could have found out that we also serve espresso and other hot drinks beside the machines. Thank you for pointing that out anyway, we will definitely pay more attention in making our guests more aware of this services.
We sincerely hope to have you back in our hotel for you to have a wonderful experience!
Our best regards.
Ps. by the way, the sewer gas you mentioned had really nothing to do with the hotel and it's really embarassing for us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent four days in Florence and chose Pitti Palace for our stay. The hotel is perfectly situated. Our room was on 2nd floor number 209. The room was slightly small and tired but spotlessly clean and the view from the room was amazing. We could open floor to ceiling windows and take in the atmosphere from the bustling streets below. It actually felt as if you were in the street with theropod walking around. Please don't worry though, as soon as you close the windows there is no noise at all. Our bedding and towels were changed an cleaned every day. The breakfast was continental and covered all the needs for many different tastes (perfectly adequate). The staff are excellent. The roof top restaurant slightly confused us. On the first night we were exhausted and asked at the bar on the top floor if they did meals and were told no. However, on our last nightwear went up for a cocktail. We ordered our cocktail then saw the menu and ordered some onion soup. It was delicious. So much so that we followed this with a pasta dish which was equally nice. The hotel are missing a huge trick here as the food was excellent as was the service. The cocktails were large and worth the €8. Very close to the hotel are the main sights. There is a supermarket too very close that sells beautiful prosecco for €5. We took this to our room when we were exhausted from walking all day and sat at the window to watch the world go by. I would strongly recommend this hotel and both my husband and I will definitely return. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Hotel is located just besides the Ponte Vecchio. Thus you can reach every Sightseeing place within a Short walk. So far so good. But the breakfast is more than disappointing. You have only the choice between toast or White tuscan bread without salt. Only ham and one tasteless cheese is served. Only (very) hardboiled eggs are served which are not kept warm. Thus, although you can have breakfast with a great view from the Terrace Wine Bar, the items which are served there at night against payment (the meats sausages and cheese for which Tuscany is famous - a "Tagliere" costs between 8 and 15 Euros, which in the end is not the big amount) are not available for the guests in the morning. Reducing unit costs is economically ok, but its consequence can lead - as in this case. to bad value for the customer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#80 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#41 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
#48 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
San Marco
San Gallo Palace Hotel
San Gallo Palace Hotel
#69 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#81 Family Hotel in Florence
#86 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#98 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.