We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location for the cost could not be rivalled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio to your Saves list
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #82 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location for the cost could not be rivalled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised at the standard of this 3 star hotel. As every other reviewer has said the location is amazing. On arrival the receptionist could have been a bit friendlier, just offered us a map of the city and our room key but the the other staff more than made up for this initial encounter. When getting back from a full day sight seeing we went to the 6th floor bar and had a lovely bottle of wine served by an extremely helpful and cheerful barman. I can't agree with a previous review about the juices for breakfast. I thought they were delicious and fresh. Yes the breakfast is a bit "samey" but hey ho this is a very reasonably priced hotel in a very expensive City. I can't recommend enough the City Segway tour. It was an amazing way to see all over the City in a very short space of time. You came away with a strong feel for what you wanted to see in more depth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comment about us, I am glad you enjoyed your stay throughout and we hope to welcome you again soon
regards

S. Bisconti
Ass mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    474
    119
    35
    9
See reviews for
136
575
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a our second stop after Rome and it was great! Actually I was a bit impressed when we walked up and into it. It was really nice. The place was really clean, updated, and GREAT location. Breakfest was great by Itilian standards. Hard boil egs, ham, cheese, OJ, fruits and croissants. It is 10min to get to everything you want to see!! Getting here is a bit tricky but make sure you get bus info and a map from the TI across the road from the train station. Its walkable if you packed smart but if you didnt a tax will cost about 10-12 euro depending on where you want him to take you, TIP: if you tell the Taxi driver you just need to get to Pointe Vecchio then it will cheaper because if the take to the hotel they take the long way and its pricey!! you are in Italy to eat (we were :) this is a great location. As you are on the other side of the Arno river you are where the locals live and eat! Please make sure to have a Bistecca alla Florentina!! Any questions drop me a line! eja10864@gmail.com

Room Tip: not to close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review about us and vor giving other important tips to other travellers

Regards
Sabrina Bisconti
Ass mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As detailed on previous reviews, the location of the Pitti Palace Hotel could not be better for seeing all that Florence has to offer, it is literally a few feet from the Ponte Vecchio. On arrival we received an upgrade to a superior room which was spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, especially Marco on reception who printed out railway timetables and offered great advice on getting around. Despite dreadful weather on a couple of days we had a wonderful time in Florence and would happily return to both Florence and the Pitti Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your nice review and for the appreciation towards our staff. I am sorry you found bad weather but you may always come back in the summer!
We look forward to welcoming you again

Sabrina Bisconti
Ass mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in the Pitti Palace for one night in December . I knew it was practically ON the Ponte Vecchio Bridge , but couldn't believe it was true , for such a low price (80 euros) compared to other more expensive ones at a bigger distance .
The room was clean , the bathroom spacious and had all the necessary amenities (i.e a safe) .
We had stayed in various different hotels in Rome , but this one seemed new, whereas the rest , simply well preserved.
The only thing that we were a bit let down , was the poor breakfast . Don't get me wrong , you could leave with a full stomach , it's just the variety that was in par with a 2 Star Hotel .
I am sure though that in Spring and Summer the fact that it's on the last floor with a gorgeous view of the whole city , is a plus .
Other than than , it is so close to all major tourist attractions that you could go sightseeing , then take a break and relax in the hotel for a few hours and then go out again and go back again and then out for dinner.
Certainly we were satisfied by the overall services and room size/cleanliness.

If you arrive by a rented car , make sure that you park it on a nearby underground garage with a heavy cost (I think 25 euros) otherwise you will get a fine at best , or even get your car tolled . In the garage , they communicate with the police and register your license plate , so that you are excluded, since in order to get to the hotel , you had to pass through at least two cameras that have you already registered as a trespasser (not even motorcycles are allowed near the center.
I also read that the fine goes to the rental agency who in turn charge your credit card with a hefty price , even without you knowing it .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for your review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed Florence and also our Hotel. I am sorry if the variety at breakfast did not satisfy you, we did made some improvements to our Buffet in the meantime.
Thank you also for the very clear and usefull tips about the garage and parking issues!
Hope to welcome you again

Regards
Sabrina Bisconti
Ass mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our seven day stay at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio was a very pleasant one. It is ideally located since, as soon as you step out of the hotel, you find yourself on the Ponte Vecchio and within the historical centre. After our first night we asked if it was possible to change our room because of the noise caused by road works. Within a few minutes we were given a bigger and better room at no extra charge. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, well heated and the little extras, such as the towelling slippers were a pleasant surprise for a 3-star hotel. Breakfast is served on the top floor, from where we had a lovely view dominated by the Dome of the Duomo and the tower of Palazzo Vecchio. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is only one lift so rather than waiting we found ourselves taking the ‘fitness steps’. This Hotel is very well priced and if I had to return to Florence I would definitely go back to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for spending a full week in Florence! I hope you enjoyed our City and your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon

Regards
Sabrina Bisconti
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

a dream location literally at the foot of the Ponte Vechio and within 10 mins walk of all Florence sights. What sets this hotel apart from others are the polite, friendly, knowledgable and caring staff - highly recommended

Room Tip: ask for a high floor, you might just get a room with one of the best views of the Florence skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review, I am very happy to read that what impressed you the most was the staff. It is our main goal to satisfy our guest making them feel welcome and at home.
On behalf of all the staff, I thank you and hope to welcome you again

Regards

Sabrina Bisconti
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Pitti Palace is a nice enough hotel for someone just looking for a clean room in a good location. There is nothing fancy about the hotel, but it's reasonably priced and the staff was very friendly. The gentleman at the front desk helped us make a dinner reservation because we do not speak Italian! It was very helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
#79 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.