We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio to your Saves list
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #75 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“September Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pitti Palace last September and it is without a doubt one of the best holidays we have had - Florence is a beautiful city and has a unique atmosphere. The hotel itself is clean, friendly and great value - and most important;y for us it is ideally placed to enjoy the sights and sounds of Florence. Situated just on the other side of the Ponte Vecchio (ie not the city side) it is within easy reach of all the main attractions. Buffet b/fast is great value although I had wished that there had bee a bit more choice in terms of cold meats and cheeses (but that may just be me...my wife was more than happy with the variety of fruit, muesli and yoghurts).

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and we got a view of the river (just), which was lovely as we also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    442
    107
    32
    9
See reviews for
121
536
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a very last pick. We've been bounced from elsewhere and we had to find an accommodation in Florence. Looking just for the location, we've picked Pitti Palace.
We've stayed at the 5th floor, and the view was amazing.
Price was very reasonable (120 Euros for the double, 1 night).
The only thing that didn't deserve the full 5 green dots is that there is not double glass in the windows so that makes kinda of noisy when it comes about "nighttime downtown activities".
Breakfast was at the 6th floor where (as I said even about the room itself) the view is stunning.
I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went for a room with 'City View' for our anniversary weekend which said on the booking.com description and confirmation 'Overlooks Ponte Vecchio or the gardens of Forte Belvedere. It includes air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a minibar'. Our room 510 was compact with shower only in bathroom, modern and worked well for us with extremely comfy bed and excellent maid service. In reality it looked across a rooftop with the cathedral dome and Palazzo Vecchio campanile visible. The view from our little balcony down to the street and end corner of bridge was very entertaining. The view from the breakfast room and terrace is the real thing! Reception are helpful when asked and on arrival (10.30 pm) directed us to the only place open to eat. The location is the winner with this hotel - to step outside, cross the street and be right on the bridge was the perfect start to every morning. We needed to have internet access on our first night and through the weekend for work but I had read reviews saying that the hotel's wifi was flakey so I invested in the hire of a Tep pocket wifi £30.50 (the hotel's if working is free on their laptop in the very lovely lounge and 5 euro per half hr in your room). Tep was eventually a good solution but it didn't work on arrival - not a good or stress free start! I digress ... Cost for 3 nights in January £332.88 which includes 18 euro tax. For my husband's first Florence visit the Pitti Palace hotel was perfect and was made even more so by the splendid coffee/cake/ice cream spot on the corner of the bridge opposite. Nice sweets in reception!

Room Tip: Compare descriptions of each room type on different sites as they seem to differ in particular regar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was the second time i've stayed here. As it says in the title, the location of the hotel is perfect. Right on the doorstep of the Ponte Vecchio, a 5 min walk over the bridge to the centre (Duomo, Uffizi etc) 2 min walk to the Boboli Gardens... easy access to everything. We got a taxi from train station (5 minutes and about 8 euros)

The room was on 3rd floor, road is quite loud outside sometimes but not that bad. Room wasn't the biggest but that doesn't matter to us as we were out and about doing stuff most of time.
Breakfast was good, nice variety of bits and pieces and the view from the terrace is just beautiful. (If you go in spring/summer you can sit outside)
Internet access is fine... hairdryer in bathroom is rubbish but that's not really a massive problem. Just give yourself a bit longer to get ready!!

Taxi rank outside hotel for when you leave, easy peasy.
Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself and several friends stayed in the Pitti Palace in November as we were running the Florence Marathon. It is advertised as 3 star and the price was very cheap (around £150 for three nights bed and breakfast for two people). The first thing you notice is the fantastic location - literally a few steps from the Ponte Vecchio, and within comfortable walking distance from all the sights of Florence. It was also walking distance from the main train station. The reception staff are friendly and helpful, and provided us with maps and recommendations of where to visit and where to eat. I was surprised at the quality of my room and would say it was much better than three star. It was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom. I slept very well during my stay. Unusually, the breakfast room is on the sixth floor and provides stunning views over the city. Breakfast was very good - the usual continental fare, but very fresh and plenty of it. They even did an early breakfast for runners on the day of the marathon. An added bonus was that it was a short walk from both the start and the finish of the marathon. We all agreed that even if we had gone for a 5 star hotel we could not have been more satisfied. I loved Florence so much that I'm returning in August with my family. I tried to book the Pitti Palace again, but unfortunately it is already fully booked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was in a pretty great location, the free breakfast was good, there was a good selection of cold foods, and it was a pretty nice view of the city. We stayed here for New Years Eve and had a fantastic time! We walked to all the festivities in the town. The room wasn't too small either. I give it four stars because the wifi never seemed to work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the wi-fi troubles, unfortunately beeing in the middle of the Festivities it was hard to find the technical assistance.
I hope to welcome you again
Sincerely Yours

SB
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had mixed comments about this place.
Firstly our pet picks:

1) The hair drier was pathetic... would take over half an hour for a lady to dry her hair.

2) The hotel offers a paid internet service with the use of their laptop . The 7 days that we stayed there the internet did not work. This was very frustrating. Especially since its very hard to find an internet cafe around these days. Each time we asked about the internet the staff said it was fixed, but this was not the case.

3) Our third pet pick (and the one that brassed us off the most). Through fault of our own we miss timed our stay in terms of leaving dates. We were rung at 6pm (7 hours after check out time) to inform us that we did not have a booking for that night. Even though we had handed in our key when going out several times that day where they could of said that we needed to check out. At the late time of 6pm we were then pretty much forced to book another night here (as opposed to finding somewhere else) at a much higher rate. I guess the point that we are highlighting here is that the staff did not have high quality customer service, when they had the ability to charge us at the rate we had paid all the other 6 nights. We ended up having to pay almost double the rate we had booked at for this final 7th night....The staff had poor communication in letting us know we had not booked for this night until it was very late in the day.

On a more positive note, breakfast was included as part of our rate. The breakfast was enjoyable, with good and varied food and drink...In terms of location, the hotel is central and has a supermarket near..Overall, a nice hotel, with customer service that could be worked on a bit.

(Speaking of the name of the hotel, check out the actual Pitti Palace while your there....amazing gardens to walk through).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations. Unfortunately we had troubles with our internet provider, we made everything that was possible for us to solve the problem but beeing a technical issue we were forced to depend on their technical assistance.
I take the opportunity of your review to inform other possible customers that we also have a couple of haidryers that we can lend to our guests if the one in the bathroom is not enough. I am sorry that we did not inform you about this opportunity.
For the third pick: I apologize that we did not inform you immediately about the check out time, we did not see you handing in your key and so we could inform you only late in the afternoon that check out was overdue. We charged the best available rate of the day, as you booked with an internet portall a special offer, we are unable to know the rate you booked at first.
I apologize for these inconveniences and hope that your stay was not spoilt by them
Sincerely Yours
SB
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#56 Family Hotel in Florence
#61 Business Hotel in Florence
#67 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.