We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio to your Saves list
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #82 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so well located, simply steps away from the Ponte Vecchio and just a few blocks from the Pitti Palace. The staff are very accommodating, the rooms exceptionally clean. Breakfast is offered on their sixth floor and you can eat inside or on the balcony/patio. The view of the Duomo and the hillsides is a lovely way to begin the day or to watch the sun go down.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a nice review about our hotel, I ma glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon

regards

SB
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    474
    119
    35
    9
See reviews for
136
575
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights and found the location absolutely perfect. Within 10 min walk to major sights (Duomo, Piazza Signoria, San Lorenzo, etc) and less than 15 to Accademia. Better than that, you are 30 seconds to ponte vecchio, and only a 15 min walk to the best view in Florence on Piazzale Michelangelo. My room had a great view! I would recommend booking a double room, even as a single traveller since I caugh a peek at the single room and it is quite small with no view. Service was mixed...mainly friendly but there was one moody receptionist who didn't smile. Beds are a bit hard but I think that's typical. Would stay here again if I'm on a budget!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, as my previous answer to another single traveller, here is the example that when we can we upgrade single rooms to double rooms, of course it is not always possible to do so.
I am sorry for the moody receptionist, let me investigate who had a bad day... hope to see you again in Florence

Regards
SB
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wonderful location, nice rooms and staff. Morning breakfasts (included) were good, and the restaurant staff were great. While not a 4 star hotel, this hotel was very nice and I would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for recommending us!
Hope to welcome you again

Regards
SB
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is located literally yards away from the Ponte Vecchio, cross over it and turn right and you are a stones throw away from the Uffizi. Go straight on when crossing the bridge and you are a short walk from the Piazza della Signoria and also the Piazza del Duomo isnt far away. Also the Boboli Gardens and Pitti Palace are 5 minutes away so needless to say the location is great and the biggest plus point of the hotel.
With regards the services, breakfast was good and is a self service buffet with a decent amount of choice and very good for the hotel rating. There is a terrace on the 6th floor which would be great to sit out in when the weather is nice and this is another good feature of the hotel. Staff were freindly and have no complaints whatsoever, just remember that you need to pay a 3 euro tax per person per night (which we forgot about until we needed to pay it upon checking out) so make sure you dont forget!
With regards the room it was plainly decorated but of a decent size based on its central location and the bathroom was modern and everything was very clean The view from the room was great overlooking the Duomo and the vecchio clock tower.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and for the price we paid was good value.
One tip if you are travelling from Pisa make sure you validate your ticket before you travel as we were fined 10 euros and it seems lots of people get caught with this and its a quick money maker for the train companies as the ticket inspector had a printout in every language explaining this but the ticket doesnt state much info on this.

Room Tip: My advice would be to get a room higher up as the area around the hotel is busy so you can hear some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review about our Hotel and the tips you gave for other travellers!
See you again

SB
ASs mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel 13 years ago, so we knew the location is great. We had a nice room with a view. We again enjoyed a quiet pre dinner drink on the roof with the views to the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio. The buffet breakfast has everything you need and the wait staff were very helpful. Some mornings, there was even a complimentary taste sample of Tuscan produce.

Room Tip: The extra cost for a room with a view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a review about us, I am glad that you returned to stay with us after 13 years! Hope you will be back soon!

regards
SB
Ass mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was a little dated in decor - but the location just off the Ponte Vecchio was amazing. A couple of paces from the door and you are on the famous bridge looking around at the Jewellery and across the Arno river. The second highlight for me was the 6th floor terrace, where you have your breakfast and evening drinks if you wish, again it's not the most stylish, however it does have a lovely view across Florence. You can relax with a drink in your hotel, yet still feel like you aren't missing anything as you take in the Florence skyline.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about us, I am glad that you enjoyed our terrace and skyline!
Hope to welcome you again

Regards
SB
Ass mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went for a short holiday to Florence and spent 4 days together with my boyfriend. The hotel is very nice, clean and has a very good location, close to all important touristic objectives. Try to book room 506 or even better 507. They have excellent view. Breakfast is like in Italy, meaning not too many to choose. Italians usually for breakfast have a coffee and a cornetto (meaning something sweet, like a croissant) therefore maybe they are not used to a rich breakfast. :)

Room Tip: room 506 or 507 - belle view: Pallazo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio, Coridorio Vasari
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about us, I agree with you that the rooms you mentionned are very nice and have a nice view!
Hope to welcome you again in Florence!
Regards
SB
Ass Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo, 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
#79 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.