We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Park Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Park Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Galileo 5, I-50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (myself, husband and his sister) stayed here for two nights back in June. We booked a triple room and were given the "Porticelli" room.The room and bathroom were both a decent size and well equipped. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but you can order light meals, although at 9.35pm we were told it was too late to order anything despite the sign stating light meals til 10pm. The "blue " bus line has a stop right out the front of the hotel, which leaves every 15 minutes and takes only 5 minutes to get into town, alternatively its about 3.5 kilometres to walk, but its uphill on the way back. Nice optional outdoor balcony area for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    87
    19
    12
    2
See reviews for
49
93
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 5 nights here. Is a converted villa and set in beautiful gardens. We had just a double room but it was huge with a large bed, chaise lounge, arm chair and desk. The walls were full of interesting pictures and maps. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom a good size. As we have seen in other Italian hotels the elevator was tiny but as we were on the first floor we were happy to use the stairs. These were very grand and I felt I should be in a ball dress whenever I walked down it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was part of the package but it was very limited and did not include any hot options. However you sat on a beautiful terrace overlooking the garden and the pool which made it very pleasant. You could have dinner there as well. The menu was limited but tasty and inexpensive. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk from Florence although you can get a bus at the door for 1 euro or a taxi for about 10 euros. We found it an advantage as after a day of fighting the crowds in Florence it was nice to sit in the garden by the pool and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent three nights here at the end of a holiday in Tuscany. We booked through Hotels.com and then became very nervous about it as the reviews on Trip Advisor were not good. I travelled with my husband and 8 year old daughter, our room which was supposed to be a family room with an extra bed turned out to be a junior suite with masses of room. View from balcony was slightly lacking as it was over a bit of a waste ground but not a crisis as we were out all day. The staff could not have been more helpful, particularly 'Lauren' on reception, she was brilliant. Gardens and pool fantastic and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Yes a 25 min trek which was actually a very pleasant walk. Bit of a trek with an 8 year old but nothing too bad. Alternatively the public bus into the centre of Florence was fine. Worth staying here if you want to sight see and then chill by the pool in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The situation, the building, the rooms and and the grounds are all gorgeous. The breakfast was good and the pool cooling. Although it is on a hill outside the main tourist area the hop-on hop-off bus made travel easy - but watch out for times. Walking downhill to the tourist area is OK but I would try the uphill return on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Park Palace Hotel has most of what we really needed in the jet-lag phase of a busy visit in hot July. A spacious clean room with a view out the back, little traffic noise, roll-down sun shutters, a cool pool in a shady garden, and a perfect verandah for meals. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Lots of families and couples give a comfortable vibe. The wi-fi worked, but the air conditioning unit in our third floor room couldn't keep up with the high 30's and baking sun on the roof. They gave us a table fan that did the trick so we could sleep. Ask for ice to stock your fridge for drinks each evening. We enjoyed the charming walk down to the Arno each morning before the heat of the day. Waiting for the #12 back up is less charming, so take a cab if you're really tired. Yes, two nice restaurants are nearby, but we ate "at home" to rest our tourist feet. Dinners were nothing special, some dishes better than others, but the cool verandah was a perfect setting to watch the sun dim on the trees and the garden lights come on. Big families gathered around round tables under white market umbrellas. Very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the Piazzale streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

A fantastic hotel in beautiful surroundings with a very inviting swimming pool to cool off in the summer heat.

We were so enchanted with the Park Palace when we arrived that we forfitted a couple of days sightseeing in downtown Florence to enjoy the sunloungers, the pool and the natural beauty of this green and tranquil Tuscan setting!

Our room (quadruple) was not modern but had a classic feel to it, which was all part of the charm of the place really. A good size with 2 en-suites and a walk-in wardrobe. We were situated on the 3rd floor with a huge window that swung right open to reveal an incredible and panoramic view of Florence and the hills and mountains beyond - a rare sight to behold!

Other rooms had balconies that overlooked the pool but I would say that as this hotel is on the top of a hill, it wouldn't really matter where your room is as all views I am sure would be excellent.

The staff were superb, very friendly, always smiling and happy to help.

We ate at the hotel restaurant on two of the three nights but felt that the menu was a little lacking enough for the third sitting and opted for a restaurant in the town on our final night. However, the rates for dinner at the hotel are exceptionally reasonable and had there have been more choice we would have been happy to dine again on the third night at the hotel.

A continental breakfast was served each morning, which was a joy on the balcony by the pool and gardens.

A fabulous hotel, which I would like to visit again some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice small hotel near Boboli Gardens.

Away for the crowds and with a nice pool with lots of shades for an afternoon nap!

We got a suite with 2 bedrooms in the separate "Villetta" which also featured a connecting room to sleep an additional 2 people. Setup was great for our family.

Staff was helpful and polite. Breakfast was fair and the one dinner we hate there was ok. There 2 nice and quiet restaurants within a 5 minutes walk. Nice after a day in the crowded and noisy city streets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Palace Hotel

Address: Piazzale Galileo 5, I-50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#121 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Park Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Palace Florence
Hotel Park Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.