We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minerva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Although not a trendy location, it was either within walking distance to tourist locations or convenient to transportation. Room was recently renovated-while not what Americans would call spacious; it was very nice with plenty of space to spread out. For a mother and daughter with separate luggage, it was great to have two sturdy luggage racks and a bright bathroom. Staff was very helpful. Although I am not really a person who likes to eat breakfast before 10 a.m., I found the staff in the buffet area to be very nice and anxious to please. The lady with the red hair, sorry don't know her name, did a good job of directing other staff.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We did not upgrade, but found a basic room to be quite adequate. When in Florence, you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    433
    104
    35
    19
See reviews for
329
523
43
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Except for some noise due to hotel construction, I was impressed by the Minerva. It's a short walk from the train station, and in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is a beautiful square. The hotel staff were excellent. I didn't have a room with a view, but with Florence at the doorstep, who cares.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great hotel right near (walking distance with luggage) the train station right in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Because it is near the train station, it is right near the hop-on hop-off bus stops making it easy to access the main attractions. We had a recently remodeled room that was nice and modern. Breakfast was okay, room was a good size and staff was helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The staff was wonderful , the hotel is dated and not a 4 star by any countries standards. Old furniture , uncomfortable beds and musty smells.
Location not great unless you want to be near the train station.
Piazza is the less popular type and not attractive and homeless people living in it.
Would not recommend it if you want luxury, comfort, and a homey feel. Food not bad.
Service very good , but not worth it, much better choices available.

Room Tip: Top floors are the only tolerable rooms
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

I am very sorry that you were so disappointed by our premises. I hope you have nevertheless good memories of our city and that you will come back to visit it in the future. Please excuse me, but I find it hard to fully agree with your description of our rooms. I prefer not to comment on this any further and will suggest our common readers to check other reviews on this same website to get a more complete picture. Please let me add what follows. We do constant maintenance and I am proud to say that cleanliness is one of our strengths. As to us being a 4 stars: we successfully work since decades with all major international tour operators and corporations and none of these has ever questioned our 4 stars rating. This is what really counts for us: official rating originating from local regulations would be irrelevant in itself. This said, if you look for fancy brand new design, there is most probably much better choices in Florence. I think we offer an elegant and friendly service (thank you for pointing this out) in a comfortable and well-kept hotel in a great location for visiting the city.
The Piazza: it is one of the most renowned squares of Florence, crowded with local restaurants and other hotels (among them other three 4-stars and even one 5-stars). The façade of the church of Santa Maria Novella, designed by Leon Battista Alberti, features marble stones directly from the Renaissance. Sometimes some homeless people linger on the square and even sleep on it, I would not deny that, but unfortunately this happens a lot in squares in Italy and southern Europe in general. I understand that this can be unpleasant, but I would like to reassure our readers adding that I have been working here since 15 years now and have no records of any harm caused to any of our guests.

I hope you will come back visit us if not for renting a room, for enjoying the view of the city with a drink from our bar on the rooftop terrace.

With my kindest regards,

Filippo Burroni – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

everything was perfect. the location is very strategic, very near to attractions and train station. very clean, well-designed and very nice and friendly staffs. there are 2 good restaurants also opposite side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had the junior suite facing the santa maria novella and the mountains- room was very spacious and clean. The location is just perfect, its 2 mins away from the railway station and 5 - 10 mins away from Duomo by foot. We stayed there for 3 nights.The breakfast was so so, not much of variety in the buffet..the only thing that annoyed me was after 10.30am the waitress just want you to leave, they will make sure that they close the buffet at exactly 10.30, as if they have another shift to attend elsewhere. My suggestion to the hotel would be to give your guest some more time during breakfast ,even if its past your deadline.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite - its spacious with a great view facing the santa maria novella
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guests,
Let me first of all thank you for booking our property and for your words of appreciation regarding its location and your room. But I would like to especially than you for pointing out an intolerable attitude from what seems to be a specific member of our staff. Usually our staff are praised for their helpfulness and cheerful attitude and your remark is really something I would like to investigate further. I would be very thankful to you if you would write me directly indicating the exact dates of your stay in order to properly address this issue.
I hope you will give us a second chance if coming back to Florence and, should this be the case, I would be very pleased to make anything possible to let you have a memorable stay.
With my kindest regards,

Filippo Burroni – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Unbelievably friendly, helpful staff the entire weekend. Great location. We had a room on top floor facing the piazza and with windows closed it was quiet. Rooms are very spacious and bed was comfortable. Nice breakfast buffet. Had booked as we were intrigued by rooftop bar but it was under renovation. They also have a seasonal rooftop pool. Guess we need to head back in the summer.

Room Tip: Upgraded to Superior room and it was very nice - top floor. Had room 506 with nice hardwood floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#86 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence’s key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes’ walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. Wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.