We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel at a very good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minerva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“Good Hotel at a very good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family. The staff is great and the food at the restaurant is very tasty. If you book restaurant even 30 mins in advance you get a 10% discount. This was applied to the bill without even reminding them of our booking.

We have a 4 year old child and someone from the staff came to our room to provide some crayons and colouring book, which I thought was quite a good gesture.

Overall we had a great experience in spite of the ongoing renovation at the moment. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    433
    104
    35
    19
See reviews for
329
523
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Grand Hotel Minreva is located at the Santa Maria Square (Piazza) in the heart of Florence and within walking distance from the Central Train Station.
It's adjacent the Santa Maria Basilica with its amazing architecture and deep into the history of this wonderful city of Florence.
The hotel has a wonderful rooftop swimming pool and surrounded with numerous coffees and restaurants.
The breakfast is hearty and the staff are very very friendly and helpful
However the rooms are small and it lacks a fitness centre.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Piazza Santa Maria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i walked with a heavy backpack from the rail station to this hotel. Its in a quite part of city but its on the good side. Kind of on the bottom of the city/river. So when walking around city you can make sort of a circle & see everything & come back to where you started. All the museums & sightseeing buildings all within walking distance, the hotel has a restaurant, but there is so much good food around Florence.
The rooms are nice & adequate for almost anyone. Good comfortable beds & a good layout, the bathrooms are ok, they are parts of the bathroom not designed properly, especially shower area -but its ok for everything else you get. The hotel not anywhere near a ritz but for the value its nice & location.
As a backpacker this hotel was way more than i could need, but i could see it being suitable for families & anyone coming into see Florence, nice staff & international friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I were in Florence in October 2006 and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Minerva, which is located in Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the historic centre of Florence. The property is an old building from the Middle Ages (I could see the old bricks on the old wall adjoining the Hotel) and is one of the oldest hotels in town. The hotel is close to the central railway station (2-3 minutes walk) and the Duomo (5 minutes), and short walking distance to Uffizi Gallery and all the major artistic and historical attractions.

The hotel enjoys a nice view of the Piazza (square) and the church of Santa Maria Novella. The hotel also has a panoramic roof-top complete with a small swimming pool, a terrace solarium and a snack bar. I bet the roof-top will be very popular in the hot sunny days. Our double bedroom with a double bed was quite large and it was very nice and cosy. The bathroom was medium size, and was OK.

The daily breakfast buffet was great with large selections of food and excellent italian coffee (not the instant kind!). If you don't like coffee, you can also have tea or hot chocolate. The breakfast was served in the Breakfast Room, next to the hotel's courtyard garden, from 7 a.m. until 10.30 a.m.

I enjoyed my stay at this Grand Hotel Minerva. The hotel was very nice, the staffs were warm and friendly, the rooms were cosy, and the view from the roop top was great, especially at night.

Directions: From the railway station, walk towards the Santa Maria Novella Church (you can't miss it from the station), and you will reach the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The hotel is next to this square.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Location was great, near to train station and all major attractions are at walking distance. Hotel is clean and food is also great. Staff is very cooperative and frendly. You can take tours and can move from hotel to almost every where, not only in florence but in Italy. I have stayed 10 days in this hotel and this was my second time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days in March while on a business trip. While the hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, it's a great place to stay. Numerous attractions, restaurants, and shopping is within easy walking distance. I had a view of Il Duomo from my room. (see my picture).

The staff is friendly and everyone speaks English. A breakfast buffet was included, and it was a great way to start the day. Very interesting artwork in the lobby walls.

I didn't realize until late in my stay that there is a patio on the top floor which offers great views and a good place to catch up on emails.

They do not have a fitness center, however.

Room Tip: Hotels facing the plaza have great views but can be a little noisy. Consider interior rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Hotel is a great place to stay for location, comfort, mostly good staff and cleanliness. HOWEVER, some idiot designed the bathroom in Room 326 which is a junior suite, (and has a lot to offer) with a bathtub and shower that DOES NOT HAVE A SHOWER DOOR OR CURTAIN. You cannot make this up. What he did do was put a jacuzzi in the tub and obviously decided that the button that operates the jacuzzi would lnterfere with the shower doors. When you attempt to use the shower, you are reminded of the 1966 flood in Florence. It is beyond absurd. The width of the tub is so ridiculous because of all the jacuzzi hardware that taking a bath is not easy. It's a monumental shame because the hotel has so much to offer. The majority of the desk staff are efficient and always pleasant. The Managerial staff is efficent and always pleasant. So just beware of that room.

Room Tip: Make sure you are completely specific about everything that you want, need and DON'T want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#86 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence’s key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes’ walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. Wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.