We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minerva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely hotel,in our opinion, it is the best in Florence. We lived in a superior room with a balcony (4th floor) and great pfnoramic views. We agree with previous reviews the hotel is in a great location - all within walking distance. The room itself is quite large for Italy, clean well-equipped. Lovely breakfast with a large selection of snacks, hot and sweet dishes,great coffee (cappuccino or espresso as you wish).But the most important thing - it's a great service.The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful,very pleasant staff served breakfast. We felt welcome and friendliness everywhere in the Grand Hotel Minerva.Lovely restaurant in the hotel itself, we recommend,you will not regret. Thanks to Grand Hotel Minerva for our excellent holiday! Next time in Florence we will choose Minerva again!

Room Tip: A superior room with balcony (464) - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your very generous review. I would like to express my special thankfulness for your appreciating our service: it is a great satisfaction to me as the manager of the hotel to read these words, they confirm that our work on this is giving good results and encourage us to try harder and do better in the future.
I hope you will be visiting Florence in the near future and look forward to having you back here at the Minerva.
With my best regards,

Filippo Burroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    416
    102
    34
    19
See reviews for
317
509
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Grand Hotel Minerva is a chic, clean hotel that offers a central location where you can explore the city and sites by foot. Minutes from the train station, the Santa Maria Novella and the Plazza San Marco, the view from the rooftop is panoramic, where you can enjoy a light snack and take in the city view. One cannot leave the MInerva without dining at the restaurant where Pietro, Maitre 'd, offers an exquisite and the most delicious meal we enjoyed during our Italy trip. Roberta, the hotel representative was welcoming and efficient, providing numerous recommendations to make our Florence stay so spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I read with great satisfaction your review and I would like to express my special thanks to you for mentioning two of our collaborators. Everybody at the Minerva tries to do their best in order to assist our clients and everybody is encouraged to do it in their personal way, emphasizing their specific attitudes and avoiding cold formality: I am really glad you appreciated this. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

With my best regards,
Filippo Burroni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice. It even included a Breakfast Buffet with decent food. The location is also quite good. 3 minute walk from the Train Station: Santa Maria Novella. and about a 5 minute walk from Piazza il Duomo. 10 Minute walk from Ponte Vecchio. I would definately stay here again without a doubt. The front desk staff was also very friendly and helpful. I forgot our Outlet adapter and they had some which they let us borrow free of charge. Interent was also free. In the Piazza were the hotel is located there was an outdoor market (farmer's Market Style) with hot foods and local buys (cheeses, sausages, etc.)

Travel Tip: if you are coming from the Airport flying solo it is cheaper to take the train. If you are traveling with others, take a taxi.

Photo Tip: This hotel has a outdoor pool at the top of the hotel. You can go up there in the morning or evening during sunrise/sunset and take some awesome photos! or anytime as a matter of fact. It is a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing our property and for leaving such a benevolent review on Trip Advisor. I also would like to thank you for the tips left to our future customers, but I need to add something to that. There is two typical airports for reaching Florence by plane: Florence (FLR) and Pisa (PSA). If you land in Florence you will find no train: you can catch a cab (about 20€) for a 10-15 minutes ride or get one of the public buses. Obviously we can provide a private driver (45€). If you land in Pisa you will need to drive for about 1 hour, but ther is also the option for a train stopping at the nearby Santa Maria Novella station.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence.

With my best regards,

Filippo Burroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The Grand Hotel Minerva is in a great location; just two minutes walk from the station in a piazza next to the lovely Santa Maria Novella church, one of the most beautiful church interiors in Florence. If you get a room at the front of the hotel on one of the upper floors you have a great view of the Duomo. Even if you don't, there is a roof terrace which you can access for the view. You can walk to San Lorenzo market in 2 minutes, the Duomo in 5 minutes, and the Uffizi in less than 10.
The Minerva is comfortable, but a little tired, rather than grand. There are some really grand hotels in Florence and this isn't one of them. The bathroom had black mildew on the sealant around the bath which is never a good look. The staff are friendly and helpful and my room was large, clean and comfortable with a king size bed. I would probably stay again, primarily because of the location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence and for pointing out our convenient location and good service. I also thank you for pointing out some areas of improvement, specifically the black mildew on the sealant. We have had this issue in some rooms. This does not depend on daily cleaning (and in fact you are saying that the room on the whole was clean) but on a product that did not react as hoped: our maintenance staff is gradually substituting it with a new one. The process will take some days because after the work is done the bathroom cannot be used for a full day.
As to our name: it comes from long ago: the hotel opened in the 19° Century, more than 150 years ago. It used to be one of the few “grand” hotels in the city and we still have some rooms (the Frescoed Suite) which are a testimony of the age. Guests used to arrive with coaches pulled by horses and unloaded their big trunks for long stays. Things have changed quite a bit since then: many of our guest arrive with a small trolley bag and often stay less than 24hrs! We do not pretend to be a “grand”-5-stars property, and as you say there are many excellent ones in Florence, including a recently opened Four Seasons, but are convinced to offer a good 4 stars product. This said we would never change our name and will stick to it trying to offer the best possible service aiming to be “grand” at satisfying our customers’ need.
I look forward to receiving your next visit.

Filippo Burroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My two children thoroufhly enjoyed our two-night stay here. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a large sitting area on the first floor, ideal for groups traveling together. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. It seems we could walk anywhere in Florence within 15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel Minerva has a great location. We traveled by train from Roma and it is a short walk from the train station. We were also able to walk to the many popular attractions.
The staff is very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast, that is included, has just about anything you could ask for. We enjoyed our nightcap of limoncello or sambucca with the bartender, Lucio, who was also very nice.
We highly recommend Hotel Minerva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got home from a 10 day vacation to Florence. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Minerva. Both my wife and I think that the hotel was great in many ways. It is in an excellent location, only yards from the main train and bus station and next to a beautiful church. It is located in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is really a central location to all the main sights of Florence. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly and speak English very well. The room that we had was spacious and our view was overlooking the piazza where we could see the Duomo from our window. The room was kept clean everyday by the hardworking cleaning staff. Breakfast was included, and my wife and I loved it. There were plenty of choices of food to chose from. We would stay here again and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#88 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence’s key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes’ walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. Wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.