We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination of shopping and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minerva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect combination of shopping and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has a (small) swimming pool on the roof. Ideal location if you want to shop in the morning and relax in the pool (in the middle of Florence) in the afternoon. We had a superior room with view on the large square (always something to see). Just accross the square is the excellent restaurant Vincanto with tradiotional pasta's and pizza's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    433
    104
    35
    19
See reviews for
329
523
43
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Unfortunately we spent just one night in this wonderful hotel. I paid for a standard room (special discount available diretly on the hotel website) but when we arrived they suggested me a suite with a small charge. Result: our room was spectacular, looking in piazza S. Maria Novella and all the other city center historical buildings. Breakfast buffet is good, service and concierge are really nice and helpful. Good experience!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room we have is just amazing. Two full bathrooms, jacuzzi, sitting room. The view is nice and the free breakfast is good. It's walking distance to everything.
The room is clean and the people are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

very nice hotel very close to the train station and all the important sights in Florence. Staff is really friendly and pool on roof top is nice. Sometime we missed the bar tender, but when he was there, the drinks very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A 5 min walk from the main station, easy to find.
Reasonably expensive but to be expected for a pleasant hotel in Florence in late summer.

Room was fine, albeit on the days I wanted to be asleep before midnight, would have been useful to have some thicker glazing as the square can get a bit noisy sometimes.
Shower was broken in the room, but quickly fixed. I'd expect the grout to have been replaced in a 160EUR/night room - it was pretty moudly and the shower door leaked water onto the floor.

Breakfast standard italian fare. The sausages appear to have been made from the lowest grade of meat possible, which is a shame for a big hotel. Stick to the cold meats and breads. The breakfast staff were certainly working hard - as the room is quite small, so they need to turn things around quickly.

Easy to reach the rest of Florence. Pool on the roof is small, but a nice place to sit. Hardly anyone there in September when we were there which was nice - but expect to pay city prices for a cocktail...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and would have stayed longer but the hotel was full. I think its used a lot for business and tourists so it stays busy. It is very near the train station but they don't really give you directions so I had to ask someone..if you leave the train station, turn right and then bear right next to the arches of the church...that will take you to the SMN piazza..if you turn right but bear left, you will miss it. Anyway, this is a nice hotel..the furnishings were styled as "distressed" but functional. Bed was comfortable. Wifi was free and adequate (some difficulties with streaming like for Skyping but very good for email/ surfing etc). I really enjoyed the restaurant. It had one of the best service that I have experienced in Italy...very attentive and includes a free glass of champagne..a nice way to start dinner. The food was excellent too so I felt no need to have to roam around the city looking for someplace to eat. There is a lovely rooftop pool- I was brave enough to swim in but it is not heated!! The view is spectacular, just like you see on the website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here in June for four nights with our three children. The location was ideal, easy walking distance to everything you want to see. Even better, the pool was a splendid way to relax at the end of a long day of touring. We could have cocktails and enjoy the view while the kids got their energy out in the pool. Absolutely ideal for a family.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#87 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence’s key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes’ walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. Wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.