We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel, not too far from main street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Del Tempio 42 / 44, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel, not too far from main street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We only stayed one night but found the hotel clean, modern and sufficient. The room had everything we needed, and the bathroom had a bath. The walls seemed thin though as we could hear everything happening around us, like it was happening in Our room!

It's not right in the centre of Florence, but just a 15 minute walk which was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    452
    321
    115
    81
See reviews for
260
445
36
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First of all: terrible location. A good 20 minute walk to the nice part of Florence. This hotel was located out of the way. Nothing nearby, and lots of traffic whizzing by.

We only stayed here because we were part of a large tour and this was the hotel that we all had to stay in. First of all, it was under renovation. But seeing the state it was in, it was in dire need of a facelift. Maybe the points below will be moot once the renovation is done. But also, the breakfast staff were quite rude. If one of our group walked out of the restaurant with a piece of bread or fruit from the buffet, they were stopped by a staff member. It must have been humiliating. I mean, come on. The food had been paid for.

The room was small, the bedding was threadbare, and the bathroom was awful. Rusty sink, old toilet... and the shower stall....was the centrepiece of conversation the next morning with my fellow travellers. The shower stall was acrylic, I believe. Rust and water stains everywhere - near the faucet, shower door hinges, drain. it just looked gross. But what was outstanding was the size. I am a small person, and I found it very cramped and crowded. During my shower, I wondered how some of my larger fellow travellers had fared.

When we met at breakfast (which was standard at the very best), the size of the shower was all we could talk about. A few of the comments that I overheard:

"Only the top half of me is clean. I couldn't move to wash the bottom half."
"I was extra careful not to drop the soap. There's no way I'd be able to bend down to pick it up."

and finally:

"That shower stall was so small, there wasn't any room for me to fart!"

Room Tip: Is there a good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very disappointed by this hotel having spent two nights in an excellent 3 star hotel in Venice (The Antiche Figure). The reception staff were not very welcoming or helpful other than to sign us in and direct us to our room. The room itself was clean but small and the evening dining arrangements very poor for a so-called 4-star hotel - a buffet restaurant or 'snacks' at the hotel bar which was situated in one corner of the foyer. Breakfast offered choices but all the 'hot food' was tepid at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a family in Jan 30 for 3 nights. The hotel looks modern from the outside and has a fancy foyer. The location is great along the river only a ten minutes walk from the city center. The breakfast was fabulous, lots of variety and good quality food. The hotel is convenient for groups.The rooms were nice and big and free wifi which is great for travellers. There are some missing points at the breakfast especially servants were not helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable and was warm enough in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel in Florence. It was a perfect location for us - quiet, but within walking distance to all the sights in the centre of Florence. The rooms are small - by North American standards, but perfectly adequate. The bed was firm. Hotel staff were helpful and polite, though not particularly friendly.
Breakfast is included, so we weren't expecting much beyond the typical continental breakfast, so we were totally blown away by the fabulous spread! There were juices, coffees, eggs, breakfast meats, fruit, cereal, yogurts, cheeses, etc etc. It was a wonderful buffet, which we thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence. It is clean, comfortable, well-appointed and in a great location for both sleeping and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Well, this is a large big hotel with many rooms but lack a feel of its own. I failed to put it under any categories ..neither leisure nor business hotel..It has many rooms, with some strange lay-out of rooms,.... With banquet rooms thrown in between,...You will encounter some oddly-placed lifts....One might gets lost in this maze !!
1. This hotel is in a very good location facing a large green park. it is also not far from city centre..Some 20-25 mnts from city center or Piazza De Signora. The walk is along river Armo and very beautiful, enjoyable & romantice. We even went for a late-night stroll along this river nearby. its well-lit and very refreshing.
2. All the rooms were not ready when we arrived. We were tired from our road journey from Rome. The staff who attended us first was new trainee & was a bit-slow But he was immediately taken over by one Ms. Guilia, a very effcient hotel staff. She made check-in ( as well our check-out experiance lwhen leaving hotel) very smooth. Thanks Ms. Guilia.
3. The hotel is large, bright and has many rooms. Probably Hotel with the highest no. of rooms in Florence. It offers free Wi-Fi in entire hotel. Works good.
4. Rooms are compact, with very small bathroom. No in-room Kettle for Tea / Coffee. Rooms are not very properly lit. The room wall are very thin. you can hear all the noise happening outside corridor !..This is very annoying during night time sleep.
5. The breakfast is good. Lots to offer...Juices, Cereals, Boiled Eggs, Scrambled Egg, Bacon, Sausages, Fruits, Bread, Croissants etc.
6. There are nearby good options to eat. The very next door "The Brito" offeres very good Italian cuisine at a reasonable orice and has a very good wide selections of Pastas, Pizzas, Risotos, fine Wine with good services.
7. So overall it is a large, modern hotel with many rooms , Free Wi-Fi , good efficient staff, good breakfast ...but rooms are compact with thin walls that can disturb your night sleep with outside noise in corridor. No swimming pool , No Spa..So maybe a 3 star hotel & may not be 4-Star as mentioned in their website.

Room Tip: Request for rooms in higher floor, with Balcony. You can have a quiet, romantic late night sitting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Location: If you enjoy walking, this hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk to the Florence city centre, or a 12 minute bus ride away. The walk is right along the Arno River, and quite enjoyable.

Hotel Comfort: Comfortable rooms, air-conditioned, free wi-fi and bf included. This is a very generic (>100 room) hotel, and has no vibe to it, like a B&B or boutique hotels. Staff was quite unfriendly. The shower was extremely tiny. No gym, pool, spa etc. in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno Del Tempio 42 / 44, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.