We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was very comfortable,breakfast just ok.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Del Tempio 42 / 44, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 461 Hotels in Florence
quebec
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“room was very comfortable,breakfast just ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very well equipped hotel centrally located within reasonable walking distance from the Old bridge.
Room was comfortable,our reservation included breakfast which buffet style served in a designated room,the selection was varied but the staff was hurried and not very attentive to the clients.
The selection and quality of coffee was less than average.

Room Tip: worth the price ,,good quality accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Customer, thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We apologize about the problem with staff at the restaurant, we inform the Food and Beverage Manager to check it and improve the service.
We need to inform you and all the readers of Tripadvisor that from April 2013 you can fine new restaurants, new hall and new reception to make your stay more confortable.
We thank you again for the comment.
Kind regards

Alessio Maggi
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    409
    284
    102
    70
See reviews for
233
408
34
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chaniá, Khania, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel 4 nights on our visit to beautiful Florence and we were very satisfyied! The rooms were not very big but they were modern,clean and especially the bathroom's shower was really good! The beds were double and quite comfortable to sleep.
Breakfast was rich and in general the stuff was polite.It was a good hotel and I would deffinately recomend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmedfi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Customer, thank you for your opinion, we are very satisfied when we read a comment like this.

We need to inform you and all our readers that from April 2013 our hotel will have a new look.
The reception, the hall and the restaurants will be all new with a really elegant and modern style, we invite you again to have an opinion also about this.
You can find the rendering and video on our website.

Thanks again for your comment and for your recommendation, my most cordial greetings.

Alessio Maggi
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Jay, New York, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is a large, modern hotel a good 15 minute walk from Florence's center. As other reviewers have stated, it caters to large tour groups, which is why our 46 member group was booked there. Breakfast was included and had the greatest variety of the places we stayed, though the coffee was terrible. Rooms were very clean and quiet, the beds comfortable The desk staff were helpful with getting us reservations for the Uffizzi at a minimal charge of 2 Euros for the trouble.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a large hotel which is situated just across the road from the Arno river. It caters for large numbers of tour groups mostly from USA, China and Japan but the others were well represented by British and Italians. The rooms are cleaned daily with a full change of towels and bedding and the bathroom is well appointed. There is a large restaurant that is divided between catering the tours and the others and a smaller restaurant that does a buffet evening meal and a bar that serves a reasonable level of food. The staff are helpful and speak English. The hotel is a little removed from the cultural centre but a walk along the Arno will take you directly to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery and just across the river is the climb up to the viewpoint of Piazza Michaelangelo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, VA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Part of our 12 day tour was 2 nights at the Mediterraneo. Nothing great but it is a comfortable, clean hotel in the mix of things. Rooms were small by American standards but clean and well decorated. Breakfast was ample for anyone, beverages, pastries, eggs, cereal. Rooms were cleaned well and staff very courteous. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens,ny
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was fine but after I had read the reviews before our trip, I decided to upgrade our room. Very glad we did because most people on the tour were very disappointed in there rooms. Very Very small. Average staff especially the front desk. Good location. Breakfast was average

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade your room if you are on a tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Trafalgar tour.

The vast majority of the business is tour groups. But it's a perfectly fine hotel. The rooms were not large by American standards, but were fine (for some reason we had both a king and a twin in our room). The bathroom won't win any awards, but it was fine too. We actually had a window looking out onto a lovely courtyard. Overall clean and well maintained, with functioning free internet.

Bar was fine, though service was slow. Breakfast was fine as well.

Nothing extraordinarily good or bad. Main appeal is location... it's literally in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno Del Tempio 42 / 44, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.