We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location "BUT".....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fenice Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fenice Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Fenice Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Martelli 10, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #369 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Location "BUT".....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As part of our Italian tour after a week's Mediterranean cruise that ended in Genua onwards to Milan for 3 nights then next stop Florence, which I must admit I really was looking forward to since it has been almost 20 years since I was last there, I was quite happy upon seeing that our hotel is nicely situated just a stone throw away from the majestic Duomo Cathedral of Florence. But after we checked in and took a look of the room assigned to us, I was dismayed as the window faced a blank ugly wall with no proper ventilation. Despite the winter season, I'd love to let some air in at night plus of course have at least a more decent view! Considering that this hotel, which used to be a Palazzo is quite expensive, one would expect his money's worth instead of being thrown in such an awful box that isn't even fitting a single star category! Anyway, after I profusely complained, they gave us a better room with windows facing the main walkway leading to the square that provided a nice view of the Chapel of Saint John which is adjacent to the Duomo. Vis-a-Vis was also another sweet church and an array of shops and restaurants right next door. However, the room is quite rundown, definitely not the kind you would expect from a 4 star hotel, one that is labelled a palace! Internet access is very expensive, the room is equipped with a tiny television awfully positioned that one must practically hold it in his hand to be able to watch, use of safe isn't free (imagine!) and the worst is the very weak pressure of water that needless to say takes quite a while before getting warm! The staff at the reception and breakfast are mostly at the end of their nerves and hardly gave a smile, well except for the 2 bellboys who were friendly and very attentive. The buffet serves good breakfast but you need to come down early and not at 10 (tho service is til 10:30) coz otherwise you might find it already empty and the ladies in charge could hardly manage to replenish it for they seem to be so stressed despite the fact that it isn't a huge hotel with hundreds of guests. The lobby is quite nice, very tidy and sweetly decorated and furbished but this hotel loses its flair once you realize that the people working there seem to be either a bunch of cold unsmiling robots or nerve-wrecked, a far cry from the warm and cheerful attitude of the staff in our hotel in Milan called The Hub... Sad really for this must have been "once upon a time" a lovely hotel. Oh and BTW, the garage tried their trick on us! We were told it will cost €31/day but when the valet service brought back the car, they billed us €39 which of course I refused to pay! I guess there are better hotels in Florence worth staying specially when one is ready anyway to pay for comfort which we unfortunately didn't really get! But Florence itself? Oh, it is as gorgeous as I remembered it to be!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele128, Direttore generale at Fenice Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
. dear customer, his review seemed to us very objective and centered in the middle of what are the strengths and weaknesses of our structure. Our property is aware of this and will not be made ​​until all the necessary changes has decided to maintain the tariffs due to rising costs would need very strong increase. Abbiao a few months ago started to renovate the hotel and you will see that in a short time we would be able to offer a better product and put on the market with 4 star prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    52
    40
    62
See reviews for
34
88
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, in room 301, two weeks ago. I got a good price on the room via an opaque travel site, and was somewhat alarmed about the hotel after reading some of the negative reviews here, but fortunately we had no issues. The in-room safe is too small to hold a laptop, but I didn't bring mine after reading of some allegations of theft at the hotel. My iPad and Kindle were in the room, stashed away in my luggage, and had no issues.

The sewage smell seems to have been addressed by the liberal installation of large room fresheners, especially in the elevators. We'd occasionally catch a whiff of sewer, but the perfume of the fresheners masked it fairly effectively, so it just made you wrinkle your nose a bit, but wasn't overwhelming. Our room had no odor issues, so this didn't really bother us at all.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a block from the Duomo and the heart of Old Florence. The room was a good size for Europe, and the bathroom was large as well. The mirror was in serious need of re-silvering though, as it had large spots all over it that sort of gave it a dumpy feel, though everything was actually clean, those mirrors just need to be fixed as they'd make the bathrooms feel of a much higher standard.

Our biggest complaint was that the bed was very hard, it was two singles pushed together, which was fine, and is common in Europe, but the mattress was far too hard for our tastes, and was the hardest I've ever slept on in a hotel. I saw the manager said they were "orthopedic" in response to another review, that must be Italian for rock-hard, as I literally woke up sore one morning from the bed.

The breakfast was decent, cold cuts, rolls, coffee, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and fruit. Nothing amazingly fancy, but absolutely nothing to complain about.

Wi-Fi wasn't free, so we didn't use it. The lobby was nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. New beds, free wi-fi, and a re-silvered mirror would have made this a great stay. As it was, I wouldn't stay there again, simply due to the uncomfortable beds. The location, however, is fantastic, and truly can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located a block away from Il Duomo, near the market, the train station and the David this is the best value in Florence. It is surrounded by great restaurants and shops. The staff is very helpful; the rooms are good size, very clean but with some dated furniture. The bed was comfortable though not very soft.
When we return to Florence we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and would recommend this for anyone who like an hotel that is central to the city. The Duomo (cathedral) was less than a minute away. As I was on my own there were no problems been out at night as again less than 2 minutes were shops, restaurant and plenty of people around so I never felt afraid. The room was perfect for one but maybe a bit small for 2 people but if you only use the room to sleep in , as I do, it was adequate. There was plenty of hot water, clean linen and towels, everyday and the room was spotless. Breakfast was plentiful with both cooked ( scrambled egg and sausages) as well as cereal , cold meats, pastries etc. It was on a serve yourself basis so you could have as much or as little to eat and drink as you wanted. The staff were very helpful and polite. One thing I must say is do not compare this to a 4* in England as their ratings are different from ours this possibly would be a 3* but value for money was very good.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the centre of the city and so there was a bit of noise early in the morning which d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

my husband booked a very expensive 3 night weekend package for our anniversary through Citalia. This hotel came highly recommended from Citalia and we were expecting much more than we got. The lifts are old as other reviewers mention and in certain parts of the corridors there is a strange smell. This was not the case in the rooms, which were tidy and clean. The decor in particular the bathroom is tired and in much need of updating. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and the street below is noisy BUT we had a truly wonderful time due to the location of the hotel. It is situated opposite the amazing Medici Palace, only 200 yards from the Duomo and one short stroll away from the Medici Chapels, San Lorenzo and the Mercate Zentrale, where there are some fantastic local restaurants. Other tourists we met said they were staying quite far away so we were very grateful we were so close to everything. Staff were very friendly, we could store our bags after chck out til our flight later in the day and make the most of our final hours in Florence. top tip: bring earplugs, mosquito repellant and bite cream, comfortable walking shoes and a sense of adventure and this hotel will be everything you need! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourh floor facing the Duomo and you will have a view that's worth a milli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele128, Direttore generale at Fenice Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
dear customer, thank you for your review which will be very useful to improve.
However, we want to point out some considerations:
1) the rooms can not be noisy, so to use earplugs, because the hotel is situated in the pedestrian area and the rooms have double glazing. We do not understand then what it points to the noise you heard.
2) The smell, as mentioned above, is caused by the city sewers which, in the historic center are old and in a few days send odor entering the stores and even in our hotel, unfortunately. However, we are studying systems to combat it.
3) All of the beds are orthopedic mattresses, and then a little hard, but suitable to maintain an exact position for the body and the back.
4) The elevators are not old, were changed in 2008 and are modern in style.
5) Strange that you had problems with mosquitoes in the month of October, however if you asked, we would have taken steps to remove them with an insecticide electric.
We are very sorry for this.
Thank you anyway for your kind words about our service and our position and we hope to welcome you again in an even more renewed and taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked this as a business hotel and unsuitable, really tired rooms and a funny smell in the corridors (others seem to have remarked on this) The service from the staff was absolutely fine. This got dood expedia ratings and I got a pretty good deal. The rooms were clean enough so no complaints. If you get a great deal and don't mind somewhere shabby then why not...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The lighting was poor and so was the water flow in the shower . The room was almost good, the location good, the price was expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenice Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenice Palace Hotel

Address: Via Martelli 10, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenice Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovations. Modern Hotel in a 5-story, 18th-century building, originally a Florentine Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fenice Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenice Palace Florence
Hotel Fenice Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenice Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.