We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbery in the hotel!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fenice Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fenice Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fenice Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Martelli 10, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #370 of 461 hotels in Florence
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Robbery in the hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've got the worst impression on this hotel from the very beginning, the staff was unpolite and unhospitable. Hot running water was either absent or without pressure so it was almost impossible to tale a shower. But the most important thing: the day before we left we were robbed a big sum of money and a credit card from the safe in our room. Judjing by the staff reaction, it was not happening for the first time. The staff didn't show any compassion or interest on our problem and continued being unpolite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele128, General Manager at Fenice Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Madam, I'm sure you remember me, as we talked for a long time on the morning of the alleged theft in the safe of his room, where he was staying with his mother.
You know that I have been at your disposal in order to understand what had happened and we checked the room together, making sure that it is the door to the room that the safe did not have any sign of forced entry. you also possessed "the only key" to open the safe in your room and you gave us a deposit to get it to the reception, asked just because there is only one key, and if you lose it, the money in the deposit are used to change the safe!
I had also invited you to make a police report and we also gave all the directions to the police station which is just a few minutes from us, Three times I asked you to make the police report in order to start the investigation and to enable our insurance to intervene, but you left without complaint and without contact me even if I was always at your disposal.
I am sorry, but as I tried to explain to the owner of this website, it is very risky and dangerous to write some reviews when you are not 100% sure of what you said.
Always we accept any criticism from our guests, but this one destroys the credibility of an activity for over 30 years is part of the reality of Florence, housing more than 35,000 customers a year! Frankly, it does not seem right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    63
    58
    46
    66
See reviews for
34
86
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed, unfortunately not my first choice, the one I had originally booked was over booked, so my travel agent took a punt, I realised after the experience that I should have paid more for another hotel. You get what you pay for in Italy. The staff were mostly unhelpful. On the third night I could smell the worst stench coming from the bathroom to the point I had to leave the hotel, after 3 nights of constant running water sound in my room and walking around in shoes because it felt so dirty. Spread the word.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele128, General Manager at Fenice Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Customer,
your review surprises me because I am not having received complaints during your stay. I and all of our staff at the reception are always on hand to satisfy our guests. I would also like to emphasize the fact that sometimes the bad smell that sometimes you feel the hotel is not caused by our negligence, but the city sewers that on certain days invades all the shops of the street. Also assure you that the floor of your room is clean, because treated and washed every day by our staff, perhaps saw a little used, but our property is already planning to replace it this winter.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Yes the rooms are very dated but when paying the rates being paid, then this is what you get. Breakfast was ok, not great but not that awful, enough to fill you up before a day walking around Florence And from the hotel you are in the best location. The welcome at reception was lovely and every staff member I encountered was helpful and friendly, even when I was speaking to them in very bad Italian. Great recommendation for dinner about 5 minutes away, majority of the other diners were local, so not expensive and great Local cuisine. The shower was not good but the air conditioning worked fine when I was there. In all honesty I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget who want a safe central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is so close to the center that you can plan visiting Firenze easily and confortable,
BUT distrust if you arrive to the room and see a FAN..... then the air conditioning is out. There are several rooms which AA doesn't works. It seems to be a coincidence, because they don't tell you nothing about, and the waiter tell you "you must wait a while until it works" but when you come back to the room after a walk, it keeps without working.
Breakfast correct.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modi'in
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

if you want to have good stay in a hotel after a day travel in the city don't go to this hotel..not clean the Ac is not working, no hat water in the bath, the toilet is not working and the breakfast is poor....

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The toilet in our room was so near the wall that using it required Houdini like contortions. A fat person or an old person would have no chance.....by splaying legs at 90 degrees we could just get on it but sidesaddle was the only viable option.

The lifts stink and the whole place is dark, smelly and jaded. The showers and baths were also out of commission for our visit.

if this is a four star hotel you might want to consider the five star alternative of a tent.

Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Every negative you read here is absolutely true. Unfortunately, I let my AAA travel agent book this and didn't read the reviews until AFTER it was booked and, of course, it was the ONLY hotel that was "non-refundable". After a long day of touring, you want to be able to come back to a cool, clean, comfortable room of which this hotel has none.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fenice Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenice Palace Hotel

Address: Via Martelli 10, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenice Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovations. Modern Hotel in a 5-story, 18th-century building, originally a Florentine Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Fenice Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenice Palace Florence
Hotel Fenice Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenice Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.