We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip/Honeymoon of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bernini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bernini Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sand City, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trip/Honeymoon of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

After Rome we ventured to Florence and were booked at The Bernini Palace Hotel. We could not believe what a great central location it was in! It is fabulously decorated and the rooms were very comfortable. Friendly/helpful staff and delicious free daily breakfast (we could not get enough)! I would definitely recommend this hotel to those travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    195
    40
    23
    8
See reviews for
144
402
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in November 2013. This is a wonderful hotel, very central, with all the usual facilities and comforts expected in this level of accommodation. Lovely, well equipped rooms, attentive staff and efficient facilities. We especially enjoyed the self-service breakfast in the beautiful dining room. This hotel is in a great location and offers everything you need to enjoy a visit to this timeless city. Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. A deluxe double on the top floor facing the square provides a nice view and quiet room (stay off the small side street as it can get noisy). Walking distance to all of the sights. Fine breakfast. Never really saw many people at the lobby bar and wasn't overly impressed by its ambiance, the lobby seemed a but stiff and crowded with tour groups. Wouldn't hurt if the front desk people smiled and were a little friendlier - for example, my wife asked about a hair salon and rather than making an appointment for her they merely gave her a phone number (since we don't speak Italian it was an awkward call - the concierge desk at a larger, corporate-type hotel would have made that call for her). Still a top choice if you can afford it and get the right accommodations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bernini Palace as members of a tour group. Our experience was outstanding in all respects. The room was large, well-appointed, and well-maintained. The included breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast dining area was particularly attractive. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

For the visiting tourist, the location could hardly be better...immediately behind the Palazzo Vecchio and three blocks from San Croce.

We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and it is a perfect location adjacent to the central sights in Florence and within walking distance of evenything. The staff were fantastic - very helpful, friendly with good advice - and the room superub. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Upon check in we were told we were upgraded...my mom almost peed her pants...we never get upgraded! I don't want to see what we were upgraded from, but I am sure it was absolutely a fantastic room too. Anyhow, we were upgraded to a great room. Only downside was we were not looking out over the city, but rather other rooms. This however did not detract from the room. We were made to feel very comfortable by the staff. The bed was to die for, the breafast was amazing, the concierge was helpful and suggested great restaurants. The location was perfect, central to all the main sites. We loved the whole stay and have raved about it to many.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was highly rated on trip advisor and I couldn't agree more. It is an old world hotel that is truly magnificent. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets are real linen. The turndown service and chocolates are a really elegant touch. While the room was not overly large there was certainly plenty of room .We faced the back and it was very quiet. The breakfast is excellent and the WiFi is free which is a real bargain in this day and age. The hotel location is one block from the Palazzo Vecchio so it is in the heart of the old city. Nothing is more than a short walk.

The staff is very nice, but the only negative I must mention is that I felt like the staff recommended places to eat or shop based on where they were getting kick-backs. I have no proof but it was a sense I got. THe restaurants they recommended were certainly not the best. They were, however, very helpful in securing tickets to the must see attractions so that was a real plus. The cost was about 20 Euro's more.

All in all this hotel is a true gem. Very elegant and very well located. The price we paid made the stay an unbelievable bargain.

Room Tip: I liked having a room in the back because it was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#27 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.