We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent stay at the Bernini Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bernini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bernini Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really excellent stay at the Bernini Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

From the first moment we arrived at the front door to the moment we were helped into our taxi on departure the Bernini Palace was truly excellent. All of the staff we encountered at the Bernini Palace Hotel showed what customer service really is. A great central location, room fittings and furnishings were quality, a really surprisingly peaceful nights sleep for a city centre and the breakfast was very good. A complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary was a lovely touch as well. It wasn't cheap at 200 euros a night but for a special occasion it was a real pleasure from start to finish. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    195
    40
    23
    8
See reviews for
144
402
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. It's about a 10 minute walk from the train station. Two minutes from the Duomo. Beautiful lobby, great bar and really cool rooms. What made this hotel a five star review was the lobby staff. They really seemed excited to have us stay in their hotel. They smiled, joked and went out of their way to help out with the little things. By the way, our room was really cool. Not big, but looked out the middle ages. The window looked over a small roof, so not a great view, but who cares. The only reason to be in the room is to sleep, and for this, the room was overkill. Clean is an understatement. Even the TV remote came in a sealed bag stating that is was disinfected. That's a first for me.

Room Tip: If you're worried about a view, ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a very attractive hotel in a good location, on an active piazza with good shops nearby and sites like the Duomo just a few blocks away.

All the basic needs are covered: clean, attractive and comfortable rooms, wifi in the room that actually works, currency exchange at the desk with acceptable if not great rates, and updated bathrooms. In terms of style and service, this hotel is on par with upper-end US hotels such as JW Marriott or Westin, but since it's a classic building in Florence there are sumptuous architectural details as a bonus. Unless you're accustomed to staying in very high-echelon hotels, say top 1%, you'd probably find this to be a very good base from which to explore Florence.

Breakfast is included or was in our rate, and while it wasn't a lavish spread it was good quality with champagne, grilled vegies, many pastries, a good selection of cereals and breads, good scrambled eggs and interesting bacon. No junk food, really, so if you can't get going without coco-puffs you'll be disappointed here. The breakfast room has a barrel-vaulted ceiling with Renaissance artwork and details, and the music being played was Classical.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room was perfect (we were on our honeymoon).

The view was great.

Breakfasts (the only meals we ate there) were fresh & varied.

The bed was a real double bed (instead of 2 twins shoved together - a method employed by most of the other Italian hotels we stayed at).

The entire staff was knowledgeable, courteous, professional, and extremely hard-working.

It was the best hotel we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Italy and probably the best I've ever stayed in anywhere in the world.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visiting Florence, We have chosen to stay again in Bernini Palace hotel. Prior to the visit, we have consulted a lot, mostly by emails, with hotel's staff, they were keen to help and advise on any issue, including tours, reservations, general info. While staying, Everything about it was superb - from the breakfast, to rooms, to service, to location. Any request was handled in no time. the staff is the most professional and kind staff we have encountered. The location is the best in Florence - by Piazza della Signoria - the most beautiful & magical piazza in Florence, and 5 minutes to Arno river.
The overall feeling was classic. Pleasure, beauty, satisfaction. just what we wanted to feel in magical Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, July 3-5/ The location cannot be beat. It is very close to the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi gallery. The rooms were clean and nice, but I had booked two rooms and the staff did not put them together.
The buffet breakfast is average at best. My 7 year old daughter did not care for the eggs. My 5 year old son also did not eat the fruit selections which is unusual for him.

We asked the staff for a kid-friendly tour of Florence. The tour was anything but that. I do not recommend you have the hotel book your tours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

With some improvement on the pastries served in breakfast, the hotel will be unbeatable. The linen beddings made our sleep very relaxing. Location close to everything. Helpful concierge. We felt at home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#27 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#38 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.