We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bernini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bernini Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, clean and staff faultless. Brilliant location just adjacent to the Uffizi and ideal for the city on foot. However the restaurant was very disappointing. We ate there one evening and to be honest grossly overpriced......it looks ok and competitively priced so you are tempted but believe me the quality just isnt there. Pay the same or slightly less outside and get a better meal. Otherwise the hotel.....great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    183
    37
    22
    8
See reviews for
138
373
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

First off, you enter a gorgeous lobby and are greeted by friendly staff. We got to our room and were pleasantly surprised to see a large, luxurious room that had a small staircase going down to the bedroom. The bathroom was furnished in marble. The linens were beyond anything I've seen before in a hotel. Very high quality. The bed was firmer than I'm used to in the States, but I found my hip did not hurt in the morning like it does at home. I slept great!

We peeked in the breakfast room so we'd know where to go in the morning. It was a gorgeous room! The elevator was a bit weird in that we were on the 3rd floor and we had to get off at 3/4. To go to the 3rd floor you get out one side of the elevator and to go to the 4th floor you go out the other side. It was a bit quirky going around corners to find our room, but after the first day, no problem.

Our room was very comfortable and large. We had our windows open to let in fresh air since the air conditioning was not turned on yet. It was April and the nights were still cool, while the days were warmer. The maid service was very attentive and she must have gone in to supply new towels and to clean up several times per day. Gorgeous candy boxes were left on our bed at turn-down time. The hotel was very quiet. I am a light sleeper and did not hear a thing. I would recommend asking for a room facing a courtyard if you are bothered by noises.

We had four devices we tried to connect to wi-fi with passes given to us at the front desk. We had trouble with two devices and went to get help from the young man at the desk. He was very willing to lend us a hand.

This hotel is in a fantastic location for walking right out your door and easily getting to many of the attractions in Florence. Go to the right and within minutes you are at Piazza S. Croce where you can relax in the square, shop, or visit the Basilica of Santa Croce where Michelangelo and Galileo are buried. Go to the left and the Uffizi Gallery is nearby and it's a short walk to the Ponte Vechhio bridge over the Arno River with it's famous gold and jewelry shops. It's also a short walk to see the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore which began in 1296 and took nearly 200 years to build.

We found it was easy to just walk out the door and head in any direction to find new places to see. In April, there were a lot of tour groups throughout the city so it's good to get an early start if you don't want to battle the crowds. Some of the side streets get quite full of tourists. Also, a lot of Italian school kids seem to be on spring break during April? We found this to be true in Florence and other cities we visited in Italy during that time. I thought we were before the high season, but there were lots of tourists everywhere!

The breakfast was amazing each morning and is included with your room price. All you have to do, is go to the second floor, tell them your room number and you can enjoy everything from eggs and bacon to fruit, yogurt, baked goods and cereal. There are also some veggies, in addition to all the tea or coffee you want to drink. The service was top-notch! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again if we return to Florence some day!

Room Tip: Pick a room facing a courtyard if you don't like noise at night. We found our room to be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is extremely well-located for touring Florence. It's a block from Piazza della Signoria or the Uffizi Museum, almost across the street from the Bargello Museum, and just a few blocks to either the Ponte Vecchio or the Duomo. Better than that, it's very modern but in a 15th century palace. The rooms are spacious with large, modern bathrooms and the public areas are beautiful, with some stained glass windows, beautiful ceilings (particularly in the breakfast room--and the breakfast is excellent, too), and beautiful "palace-like" stairwells. The best part, though, is how warm and friendly the staff are--literally everyone with whom we interacted was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at the Bernini Palace again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Staying at the Bernini Palace truly enhanced our enjoyment of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had an excellent stay. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was top-notch and the rooms were smaller but clean and well appointed.

The only item we would have appreciated was being able to pay the concierge services on our final bill. Keeping enough cash on-hand for several hundred dollars worth of services was a safety concern for us, even though there was a safe in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Bernini Palace staff, from housekeeping, to food service, to front desk and concierge, go the extra mile to provide superb customer service. Every staff member we encountered was uniformly helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. You could tell everyone there took pride in their work. The hotel itself is beautiful, clean and comfortable, and has a good number of amenities. The breakfast is the best we encountered in Italy in terms of quality and variety. Their central location to the many sites in Florence was wonderful, and allowed us to walk to all of our desired destinations. The only downside is that concierge services must be paid in cash, instead of being added to the room bill or being paid separately via credit card. Not a huge inconvenience, but strange if you're not used to this being the case (or don't like to carry larger sums of cash on travel). We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are less noisy, given the central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa,Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just completed a 3 night stay. Excellent central position , classy place but low price. Staff could not be better, in conclusion fantastic in all areas. Rooms not large but very nice. Breakfast room is unreal with huge lights and painted ceilings. Reception staff very helpful
Breakfast staff so attentive.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great welcome from friendly, but professional staff.
Breakfast gave a very wide choice at the buffet, coffee was 1st class and the staff were highly efficient and yet unobtrusive in clearing the table of used plates and cutlery and replenishing with clean during breakfast.
Very comfortable beds and linen with a great room. Bathroom tired, but excellent selection of toiletries and lovely bath towels, no lack of hot water.
Very central to all the key historic sights in a stunning stunning city. Concierge obtained tickets avoiding the line at the Uffizi, there was a surcharge, but worth it to save our precious holiday time. Excellent eating places locally and apart from the station trip there was no need to use any other mode of transport than our feet.
It was a truly wonderful 5 night stay.

Room Tip: Room 415, extremely quiet, no noise from neighbours or outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.