We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, charming staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bernini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bernini Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, charming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite which was really wonderful. Everything was exactly as it should be (including my request for no feathers in the room), and it was extremely comfortable. There was a nice gift of Vin Santo + cantucci on arrival. Spacious, very beautiful room, sparkling clean bathroom and plenty of space for toiletries for two people. Two robes/slippers provided automatically.

Very nicely placed for the Ufizzi, Palazzo Vecchio, Piazza Della Signoria (copy of David and plenty of others, original of Rape of the Sabine Women), local markets, and Ponte Vecchio and river. Short walk to Duomo.

Our only problem was that the air conditioning (as with most Italian hotels) did not go down far enough and the room was hot by English standards. The windows opened, which was lovely, but the alleyway under our windows was apparently on the route home from a bar of some note, because hordes of drunken young people were yelling and cackling with laughter from about eleven till after 2am each night, and then of course the iron wheeled market carrozze were dragged along to their positions extremely early in the morning, so to say it was noisy was an understatement. If this bothers you, ask for a room which does not overlook the alley. It might help.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the alley from the front of the hotel through to Piazza Santa Croce are NOISY if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First impressions were great and these did not change from when we checked in to checking out could not fault the Bernini Hotel or its staff. Excellent location, approx. 20-30 min walk from train station or 15 euro taxi ride! Room was lovely, nice bathroom with plenty of hot water! Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and excellent service from the staff. We hope to return to Florence and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: our room was on fifth floor and window faced onto side street, when window was open you could hear p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paalSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while vacationing in Italy last summer. I chose it because of all the reviewers that said it was convenient. While it was most definitely convenient, while walking around the city I couldn't walk down a street without bumping into a hotel. All seemed "convenient" so I'm not sure why this one seemed more so.
Pros:
Obviously close to many attractions
nice breakfast included
clean
Cons:
Unfriendly front desk staff
TINY rooms
Shower was old and got clogged easily

Although I expected the rooms to be small, we stayed in positano, Rome, and Sorrento on our stay and all of the rooms were substantially larger.
I would recommend this to someone who doesn't plan to spend a great deal of time in the room.
One great bonus: Wi-Fi was decent and FREE!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Bernini Palace hotel is a great hotel experience. It is what all hotels should strive to be. The service, from the front desk, to the bellman, to concierge was all one could hope for, very friendly and extremely competent. The room was of a decent size and well appointed. The bath tub was huge. The sheets were linen...The bed was comfortable...The location of the hotel was perfect. I

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I recently married in Florence. We stayed at the Bernini Palace hotel and held the reception there as well. Firstly the location: perfect! So close to everything. We married in the Palazzo Vecchio so this is part of the reason that we chose this hotel.

We stayed in a junior suite. It was well appointed with a lovely view of the Duomo. On the day of the wedding there were lots of people in the room and there was plenty of space for all. There was also plenty of room for luggage, something we've found lacking in many hotels.

On the wedding day, we hosted drinks in the bar and then hired the breakfast room for dinner as it has a beautiful painted ceiling. Everything was absolutely perfect. The quality of the food and the attention to detail were more than we had dared to hope for when organising a wedding from across the world! The Food and Beverage Manager, Franco, is an absolute professional and a very nice man who well above and beyond what we expected to ensure that everything was perfect and also that it was personalised - no standard formulas or packages, just exactly what we wanted.

Breakfast each day was wonderful and the staff were all cheerful and friendly and professional.

We are so glad we chose Bernini Palace for our wedding and couldn't recommend it highly enough for anybody considering this type of event, or even just a regular trip to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ok, so if we weren't coming off two magical hotel experiences (Mario de Fiori 37 in Rome and Locanda San Francesco in Montepulciano), we may have liked this hotel better. The room was clean and the breakfast buffet was very complete. Location can't be beat. But the staff seamed a little less than enthused about answering questions or offering help, and there was a strange damp smell in the lobby. Our room looked out into basically an airshaft, and the bedsheets were very strange... there was a card on the nightstand explaining that they were special linen sheets that were selected for their restorative powers (I'm not joking), but they couldn't have been scratchier. So, it was fine. And the staff did do a nice job of booking tickets for us (though be prepared to pay cash, not credit for those).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinmglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The outside of this hotel doesn't look that impressive but that is soon changed once you walk into reception. Very grand with ample seating and a swanking bar at on end.

The staff we're very helpful with a perfect command of English and we we're shown to our room within minutes of arriving.

Our room was of a good size with lovely decor and very clean. A large flatscreen TV was included which has several English channels. The bathroom is again a good size, decorated in marble.

The hotel is ideally located only a stones through from the Pallazzo de Vecchio and many other tourist hotspots.

Personally, I couldn't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranTuriismoSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#18 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#7 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#2 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#31 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#14 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Low Cost Holidays, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing