We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in the City Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bernini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Austin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in the City Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here from December 17-23, in a double superior room for 768.00 Euros.

- Location - Very centrally located, it's 1 block away from the Piazza della Signoria (the square with the Neptune fountain). We walked everywhere while we were here - The Uffizi, The Academia, the Pitti Palace, Basilica Saint Croce, Ponte Vecchio and Piazzale Michelangelo; all were easily walked to 5-20 minutes from the hotel. While we were here the temps got into the 40's during the day, and we were still able to walk to the major sites without feeling "frozen"

- The Hotel - The staff were all very friendly. Everyone wished us buon giorno throughout the day; they were very attentive and answered all questions that we had. Admittedly, we didn't use many services, but they dud have quite a few available such as, food recommendations, tours, a bar and hotel restaurant. There is a Breakfast Buffet served daily from around 7-10 (not sure the actual hours, but we got breakfast during those times) The charge for the buffet is 15 euro per person, but is worth the price if you are off for a full day of sightseeing; coffee and juice is available free of charge. Each morning they gave me a pot of coffee with latte and sugar to take up to my room on a serving dish, free of charge, they were very nice and I really appreciated their willingness to give me my coffee "to go" = Excellent staff. Additionally, there is complimentary wifi, I was always able to access the internet from my room, no matter the time.

- The Room - We stayed in a spacious double superior room. The bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, but that is common for Europe. There were 2 closets with plenty of space for our 3 pieces of luggage worth of clothes. The bathroom had 2 sinks and plenty of space. There were toiletries, slippers and robes for use at our disposal. The room was soundproof, for being on a main square; we couldn't hear anything when the window was closed. The housekeepers came by twice a day, once in the morning to clean/refresh linens and towels and once again in the evening to do turn-down service. The room was always clean.
- The only minor complaint I had was a very personal issue, which may not apply to most travelers. It was December, and it was in the 40's for most of our trip, therefore the hotel was running the heat. I felt like the room was very warm. You are able to control the heat in your room, but you are not able to turn the a/c on, so we ended up sleeping with the windows open. We basically had to decide between sleeping uncomfortably due to the heat or the crowd noise when we opened the window, we choose the noise. - BUT - this may not apply to everyone, for reference, I sleep at a constant 70 degrees back home in the states, anything above 72 makes is too hot for me sleep comfortably.

Overall - We really enjoyed our stay in Florence. My review is based upon only being there in the evenings, as we were sightseeing during the day. - I would gladly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Bring a small fan if it has to be cold for you to sleep - If you sleep with the window open bring ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    170
    37
    20
    7
See reviews for
132
347
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few of nights in early December - great location, easy to walk to all the tourist sites and shops, good selection of restaurants in close proximity. The hotel is friendly, efficient and good value for money. Our room was one of the nicest we have ever had - admittedly we were able to treat ourselves to a suite on the top floor but we really appreciated all the extra little touches...especially the bed linen that seemed to be changed every day. It's quite a small hotel so it is easier for them to make their guests feel special - not as impersonal as a larger hotel. Food and service are both excellent - although we didn't try the hotel's own restaurant, other guests did say it was very good. Free wifi is a bonus. Only down site was the noise at night - but this would have been the same at any hotel in the city centre - the hotel soundproofing was pretty good but the city doesn't seem to go to sleep until the time when I am wanting to get up - and I am a really bad sleeper!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra have a junior suite - it's really work the extra especially in winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Excellent location in the centre of Florence,perfect for walking to all the major sites.
The hotel was beautiful and the rooms very comfortable,with fabulous bed linen.
Breakfast was very enjoyable and the two girls who worked there were a credit to the hotel.
I paid £73.00 per night for a single room with Expedia which was an absolute bargain

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Florence, in of itself, is breathtaking... The Bernini Palace is no exception. We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 days during our honeymoon and I feel pretty safe saying, it was our favorite of the whole two week trip. Beautiful rooms and exquisite service! My husband and I are covered in tattoos and usually these places are not very welcoming to our kind, BUT the Bernini palace on the other hand treated us like we were family. The decor is breathtaking, the rooms and welcoming and very large! The food...oh my god their food! The restaurant was probably one of the best places we have eaten in all of Florence.
Its centrally located, just one block from the Uffizzi museum, piazza de Vecchio, great shops, etc. its in the perfect spot to see everything! Everything about this hotel was perfect. Every time we go back to Florence we will be staying here! The best hotel in all of Italy! Bellissmo!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, in,a beautiful room that featured a hanging chandelier, such a lovely feature! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a wonderful position, literally 50m from the main piazza, it is walking distance to everything and a perfect spot if you are a tourist. Breakfast was great, and free wifi included. Would love to visit again and also recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

In a great location. Its walking distance to everything. The staff are friendly and speak good english and are very helpful. It isnt the cheapest hotel to stay at but it was lovely. The only problem we had was our laundry. We ended up having to pay $107 euro for a couple of clothes, so make sure you check with them first..apart from that it was great. The room we got (517) was very spacious and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel was excellent so was the breakfast incl. bubbles and for sure the location. Rooms were cleaned twice a day. Staff was very well trained and friendly. A pity that the dining room and bar were not attractive to go to. We tried twice to have dinner in the hotel, but nobody was there. Although you can eat very nice everywhere in the surrounding and staff is willing to help you to find the right place. We certainly will come back there. May be is a suggestion to the hotel to make a dining room/bar on the street side in the entrance hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.