We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bernini Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bernini Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Varna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Palazzo Bernini is perfectly located if you want to visit the historical center of Florence. The room I rented through bookings.com was small but very nice and worth the price. There werent any bathrobes but otherwise attention was given to every detail. Upon arrival the reception seemed to be a little bit messy ( you can expect that in Italy, it is part of the charm) but everybody is very friendly and trying to be helpfull. Special attention was given to the bed linens. They were great indeed. Turn over service is done too, with a pair of nicely wrapped fine chocolates.
Some negative points, that didn't bother me but good to know:
My room (308) was overlooking the internal part of the building, where are located the big units of the air conditionners. The windows are quite good and noise is stopped, but if you are sensitive to noise, better take another room.
If you arrive by car, the parking outside the hotel is very difficult and the hotel's parking is charged 35 Euros per night. Also, be careful when receptionnists sell you something or book a service for you. I got the most expensive haircut of my life - 50 Euros and my hair is 3-4 cm long ( Simon hairdresser's salon) ; i was given 2 touristic visit cards at the price of 30 Euros each, they finally were good only for the visit of the visit of the Santa Maria dei Fiori's complex which price were considerably lower in situ and we werent given any " express entry" from the security guy wathing the entry of the Dome. I was expecting a special treatment an more interesting price, as explained by the receptionnist.
This said my stay was a very positive experience and we stayed even one more night, so much we liked the athmosphere there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    181
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
138
369
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was my first (of hopefully several) visits to Florence and my stay at Bernini Palace was WONDERFUL!! The location was perfect. I rarely felt I was more than 15 minutes walk from anywhere (assuming I didn't get lost ;0))The staff was friendly, efficient and extremely helpful; especially the late night/earlier morning reception staff.

My fourth floor room was charming, clean and very well kept. The breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful and its service was far more elegant and attentive than I expected. The only time the service seemed a bit off was on a Saturday morning when the breakfast room was fairly crowded. As an art lover, I really enjoyed having breakfast surrounded by the lovely portraits and other frescoes. I also enjoyed sitting at the bar with a well-mixed cocktail and chatting with fellow guests.

Returning to the Bernini Palace after a long morning or day of sight-seeing was truly a pleasure. I can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel had both highs and lows. The location was wonderful right in the center of everything which made it super convenient. The porter service was wonderful and we were greeted with smiles everytime. The Breakfast offered a decent selection and the mornign staff serving were always very pleasant. On the down side although the overall appearance of the hotel was lovely the room we had was extremely run down and for the prices you would hope that even the basic rooms would be a little more up to par. Furniture was damaged, not all the outlets worked, some of the fixtures were broken and the tub/shower was extremely slow to drain (which in these all buildings are to be expected I know that but it drained THAT slow that it is worth a mention). Our overall experience with the staff was great, their were just a few individuals behind the reception desk that were a bit stuffy and not very helpful but I would say that was the exception. I would still recommend this hotel but unlike us if you are not happy with your room, speak up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Bernini in early September. We stayed in a suite on the second floor. It was extremely quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large with double sinks and plenty of towels, etc. The location was perfect, right smack in the middle of Florence and close to great restaurants and sites. The breakfast was good and the staff was very attentive. We would definitely recommend this hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Bernini in Floence Italy.
Although it is part of chain, you get the feeling it is a family owned boutique hotel.
The staff is well trained and is there to help andmake your stay as comfortable as possible.
A special mention is due to Valentina at the front desk who corrected a problem without hesitation and with grace; Enzo who found a hard to find item I found I suddenly needed.
The location is excellent- close to the Duomo, the Uffizi and the pedestrian shopping street.

I can’t compliment the hotel enough and recommend it to anyone who vacations in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is convenient to everything and certainly comfortable. They have great concierges and a really good breakfast. I do not hesitate to recommend and I will probably return. Great linens and beautiful decor. Went over and beyond expectations.

Room Tip: The more beautiful rooms are not on the Tuscan Floor although it is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at two other 4-star hotels in Florence before and this is my new favorite!

Excellent location! One short block from Piazza della Signoria! I could see the Fountain of Neptune from the hotel entrance!

Discreet exterior. Beautiful and elegant hotel lobby.

VERY FRIENDLY, EXCELLENT staff who made me feel SO WELCOME :) Arrived late by train from Milano and the super friendly staff who checked me in (sorry forgot to get his name) helped me call one of my favorite restaurants in Florence (Ristorante Paoli) at 10:15pm to tell them I'd be coming over soon and please stay open for me at 10:30pm which is their normal closing time. Thanks SO MUCH again for your help! Much appreciated!!!

The night staff gentleman was also very friendly and helpful. Always willing to help. (unlike the cold staff including one rude with attitude staff at Palace Bonvecchiati in Venice: please STAY AWAY from Palace Bonvecchiati!!!)

I booked a Superior Double Room. Good size room and spacious bathroom with closet space, double sink, bath tub. Elegant chandelier over the bed which was pretty comfy and room quiet.

The main photo on tripadvisor the hotel shows is the ceiling fresco painting in the breakfast room with double height ceiling. Breakfast buffet was nice with good selections including some hot food and champagne brut. Too bad I don't drink!

I think that's silk wallpaper in the room? It is beautiful but unfortunately it is light (golden) color and it has some dirty marks on it. Same goes for the light (off white) paint on the walls. Probably time for a fresh coat of paint and maybe clean the wallpaper if it can be cleaned?

Would love to return next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Firenze 29, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.