We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Boscolo Hotel Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio, 9, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Lawton, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We wanted authentic Italian not you regular travel hotel. The Boscolo Hotel Astoria is truly authentic! The decor, atmosphere all of it! Truly beautiful!!! The staff are so nice, the breakfast is wonderful! Loved it! Great location to Duomo, train.....you name it! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    202
    112
    66
    51
See reviews for
63
251
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

It has a good location situated very near the train station and tour departure points (saw a few tour groups including mine near the train station) which was very convenient. I basically covered most major parts of florence city by walking. The room was quiet, acceptable and clean. The staffs were friendly and helpful.

The negative part is there were some wear and tear which was also highlighted by others. I am not a very particular person and i could live with it. The shower door in my room was broken and could not close, there were water stains near the air condition vents, the hair dryer was working but part of it was broken and there is no wifi in the rooms (i would prefer a hotel with wifi in this era) however i bought a sim card with data and sorted my problems. There is wifi in the lobby. Notwithstanding the negatives i could live with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is in the central area of Florence, a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the Duomo, so it is pretty much ideally located.

Some of the rooms have a view of the Duomo, such as the low 400s and 500s. There is also a roof terrace bar with a great view.

However I would not stay here again, and here's why:

The hotel is very much a 'faded splendour' place, with musty carpets and a general feeling of wear and tear. The breakfast room is truly magnificent with a huge painted ceiling. However in there, as in reception and on the roof, they play a local radio station all day long, pumping out pop music. There is something very incongruous about checking into a hotel in a marbled lobby to a backing track by Michael Jackson.

The lobby is the only place in the hotel where wifi is available. It is free, but quite patchy, and only works in the main part of the lobby by the reception desks. As a result, the three sofas are usually full of people checking their email and to use it you often have to stand there.

There is no, repeat NO wifi available in the rooms.

The glass shelf in my bathroom came crashing off the wall when I put something on it, and I was lucky that it didn't smash. One of my towels, goodness knows how old it was, literally tore in two when I used it. The bath was incredibly narrow, and I am of average build.

In the bedroom, there was only one power socket and that was not by the bed, so having your phone charge beside you overnight is not an option. The drawers in my wardrobe could not be used as the doors would not open fully, as they were blocked by the bed. And I can't remember being in a hotel that houses such an extensive population of mosquitos.

Unable to recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

In May we spent three nights at the Hotel Astoria which is perfectly located near the historic district in Florence. It is only a few minutes walk to the Duomo, the train station in the opposite direction, and about a ten minute walk to the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio. The hotel itself is comprised of two historic palazzos, the Gaddi and the Arrighetti that belonged to noble Florentine families. The palazzos retain their baroque style. We stayed on the top floor in a large quiet corner room with at least six large windows overlooking the Duomo. Also on the floor is a rooftop patio serving drinks at night. It affords a gorgeous view of Florence. The breakfast room is ornate, quite dark and offered a rather ordinary breakfast. The location and the roomview made this hotel ideal for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Five - minute walk from SMN train station, from Uffici Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Very clean and comfortable, full air-conditioned, the best choice for tourists visiting Florence. Rooms aren't so spacious but the bed is huge and very comfortable. Breakfast is quite ok. I think that it could be better for a 4 - starred hotel. The stuff is friendly and the decoration reminds you the Rennaissance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is located close to Duomo, and is within walking distance to all key locations in Florence. The rooms are clean, and contains enough space for luggage etc. The staff is unfortunately not very helpful when it comes to tips of things to do in Florence, but on the other hand that is not the most difficult task to find out on your own.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very sumptuous surroundings as befits the amalgamation of two 17th century palaces. A little tattier than what you see on the website but then you don't go to Florence to get modern do you. I had an ensuite with an upstairs bath and bedroom. The breakfast is taken under a frescoed ceiling. Continental plus choice of scrambled eggs and bacon where you can breakfast like a prince. The bar on the 6th floor gives you an amazing view of the Duomo and the city. Drinks are accompanied by nibbles. Ideally suited to explore the city and not far from the railway station.

Room Tip: If you are not very agile ask for a room without stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscolo Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Hotel Astoria

Address: Via del Giglio, 9, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#137 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boscolo Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boscolo Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.