We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the centre of Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boscolo Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Boscolo Hotel Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio, 9, 50123, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the centre of Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Five - minute walk from SMN train station, from Uffici Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Very clean and comfortable, full air-conditioned, the best choice for tourists visiting Florence. Rooms aren't so spacious but the bed is huge and very comfortable. Breakfast is quite ok. I think that it could be better for a 4 - starred hotel. The stuff is friendly and the decoration reminds you the Rennaissance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located close to Duomo, and is within walking distance to all key locations in Florence. The rooms are clean, and contains enough space for luggage etc. The staff is unfortunately not very helpful when it comes to tips of things to do in Florence, but on the other hand that is not the most difficult task to find out on your own.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Larsmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very sumptuous surroundings as befits the amalgamation of two 17th century palaces. A little tattier than what you see on the website but then you don't go to Florence to get modern do you. I had an ensuite with an upstairs bath and bedroom. The breakfast is taken under a frescoed ceiling. Continental plus choice of scrambled eggs and bacon where you can breakfast like a prince. The bar on the 6th floor gives you an amazing view of the Duomo and the city. Drinks are accompanied by nibbles. Ideally suited to explore the city and not far from the railway station.

Room Tip: If you are not very agile ask for a room without stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seacoastbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We travelled to Florence for a close friends 50th Birthday and stayed in the Astoria Hotel.
We were booked in to the Superior rooms which were excellent. The beds were huge and very comfortable and a small fresco adorned the wall over the headboard. The Hotel feels very grand but not stuffy. The breakfast Buffet included Cereals, Fruit, Cold Meats, Cheeses, Scrambled Eggs and Bacon and all in plentiful supply. The staff were very polite, friendly and very helpful. A big bonus is the roof terrace with it's beautiful view across Florence. There is a bar on the terrace which is a little pricey, but we also got free nibbles and sandwiches with our drinks which was unexpected. The hotel is very central only a couple of minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella, the Duomo and other main attractions
If we go back to Florence in the future I wouldn't hesitate to book in to the Astoria again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Superbly located for the Academia, Uffizi, Duomo etc. The room was very comfortable with a large en-suite, one wall had been left undecorated to display part of an earlier fresco reminding you that you were not in a generic hotel but staying in a C16th? Palazzo. Eating breakfast in a grand hall under the watchful gaze of countless marble busts was quite a treat. There were no tea & coffee facilities in the room & it was tricky to get room service to produce a hot beverage. There was one very smiliey chap on the desk who couldn't be more helpful, otherwise the staff seemed rather untrained, rather than unwilling. The panorama from the roof terrace is worth taking in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlipKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked two rooms via Hotwire for the four of us. The reception lady was very nice and told us that she had reserved two adjacent rooms for us. We arrived in the morning so we placed our bags in the locker for the day. We were happy to hear breakfast was included. It was a decent continental breakfast with a variety of choices. We only stayed for one night so we were okay about the rooms being not so perfect. We stored our luggage in their locker for the rest of the next day for free. All in all service was great. The hotel looked tired and the free wifi internet at the lobby was a bit slow. But you can't beat the location, as it was just a short walk from the train station as well as the main attractions.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank G00dfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a fantastic 3 day stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the staff was friendly, helpful, and very professional. The roof top bar was incredible. The location was wonderful as we were able to walk almost everywhere. We would highly recommend this hotel for a unique and memorable stay.
Joel and Stacy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#154 of 418 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#97 of 418 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#46 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#168 of 418 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#73 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Hotel Astoria

Address: Via del Giglio, 9, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Boscolo Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boscolo Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing