We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscolo Hotel Astoria

Save Saved
You added Boscolo Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Hotel Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio, 9, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faded glory.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Superbly located for the Academia, Uffizi, Duomo etc. The room was very comfortable with a large en-suite, one wall had been left undecorated to display part of an earlier fresco reminding you that you were not in a generic hotel but staying in a C16th? Palazzo. Eating breakfast in a grand hall under the watchful gaze of countless marble busts was quite a treat. There were no tea & coffee facilities in the room & it was tricky to get room service to produce a hot beverage. There was one very smiliey chap on the desk who couldn't be more helpful, otherwise the staff seemed rather untrained, rather than unwilling. The panorama from the roof terrace is worth taking in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    185
    98
    64
    48
See reviews for
54
235
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked two rooms via Hotwire for the four of us. The reception lady was very nice and told us that she had reserved two adjacent rooms for us. We arrived in the morning so we placed our bags in the locker for the day. We were happy to hear breakfast was included. It was a decent continental breakfast with a variety of choices. We only stayed for one night so we were okay about the rooms being not so perfect. We stored our luggage in their locker for the rest of the next day for free. All in all service was great. The hotel looked tired and the free wifi internet at the lobby was a bit slow. But you can't beat the location, as it was just a short walk from the train station as well as the main attractions.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a fantastic 3 day stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the staff was friendly, helpful, and very professional. The roof top bar was incredible. The location was wonderful as we were able to walk almost everywhere. We would highly recommend this hotel for a unique and memorable stay.
Joel and Stacy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

With the short distance from the train station and amazing central location, we thought we had booked a 4 star hotel in an ideal location...alas no, only the location was right.

This hotel is so tired, old and unkempt it deserves to not only have the 4star rating downgraded but needs to be closed down as a health hazard.

Our room was Smelly, mouldy and the carpets were thread bare. The bathroom lights are barely functional and the shower alcove had a dangerous step down and leaked constantly flooding the bathroom floor. No tea and coffee facilities in the room and no internet service other than in the lobby.

The breakfast room is dark and dingy with a buffet offering that was nearly inedible. The hotel advertised a roof top bar with lovely pictures on the website of pretty views an nicely set tables. When we found the rooftop it was dilapidated, unattended, clearly not being used and resembled some low class dive of a place that would be avoided at all costs.

The front desk staff were nice and helpful, but management should be ashamed that a hotel with such grand heritage gas Ben allowed to deteriorate to such an extent.

Avoid this one...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our favorite hotel experience on our recent trip through Italy. The price was a great value for a luxury room. The room was large, comfortable, beautiful with a very nice large and updated bathroom. The location is quite good and convenient. The lobby was nice. The service was good. The breakfast was good. The only negative comment is that the "free" wireless only works in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this hotel and had a great stay. The hotel is in an old Palace and the original frescoes were beautiful. The location is within walking distance to all the major sites in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

6 ladies of a certain age off on our travels again and again found a gem. The Boscolo Hotel Astoria Florence.

10 minutes walk from the railway station and no further from the Duomo
The hotel was formerly a palazzo and lots of original features have been retained. Yes some of the furniture is "distressed" but what do you expect after several hundred years.

The staff were welcoming and very helpful
The beds were comfortable with clean linen every day and we all had rooms with a bath with shower over.

Breakfast was as good if not better than average for a continental breakfast except the lack of rolls .
The coffee was not good but as someone else mentioned they would willingly make you a cappuccino .

Not to be missed is the view from the Roof Top terrace bar especially at night when there are beautiful views over the illuminated city with the Duomo taking pride of place. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscolo Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Hotel Astoria

Address: Via del Giglio, 9, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boscolo Hotel Astoria 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Boscolo Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscolo Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.