We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokin mirrors"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mirage to your Saves list
Hotel Mirage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Francesco Baracca 231/Int 18, 50127 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #420 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smokin mirrors"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Air conditioner were turned off for the season even though it was quite warm! Rooms were quite small, mattress quite hard and pillows extremely soft and flat. It is quite a distance to town, so if you are looking for a place to eat and shop, only one restaurant nearby. Stay closer to town if possible! It's a "mirage" of a decent hotel!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    60
    58
    61
See reviews for
36
69
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for two nights (October 2014).
I’ll start from the good – The staff is mostly friendly. Two out of three receptionists were really kind and at least tried to be helpful.
The breakfast is pretty decent with a nice verity of dishes and drinks. But it’s no way a 4 stars hotel breakfast.
The bathrooms are very clean.
You get (very slow) free wi-fi – But it’s free, so I won’t complain.
And… I’m really trying hard here… It’s an ok distance from the center of the city (about 20 min drive) - with a bus stop few steps outside of the hotel. There is a free parking for hotel visitors… And I think that’s it with the ‘good’ stuff.

Now – My friend and I wanted to get two double bed rooms (according to the description, the single bed rooms are tiny). We were ready to pay extra to get the bigger rooms (the reservation was made through a booking dot com app).
Sounds easy enough but it all went wrong – We’ve asked the receptionist NOT to charge us immediately as she gets the reservation from the app because we wanted to split the bill. They agreed but charged us anyway.
One of the rooms, although with a double bed, was really tiny. Just imagine a room that is practically filled with the double bed – That’s it - Almost no room to move. The official answer was “You’ve paid extra for double bed – here is a double bed”.
The A/C could be turned on to the lowest possible power speed as otherwise it made too much noise. We were promised someone will come over to take a look, never happened.
The balcony was locked – Due to security reasons, according to the stuff. When we told them that the balcony is opened in the next room the story has changed from security reasons to the handyman available only the next day (to be fair we came late).
If you think the second room was any better, you’ll be wrong (even though, I must admit it was bigger) – The smell of dust was really strong. The receptionist sent a guy with an air freshener. Now the room smelled from Lavender dust.
About the rooms – The best part, in my humble opinion, are the bathrooms. They are clean and well maintained. The rooms themselves are ‘old’ with very tired furniture and just look… well… old.
Bottom line – If you need a place to sleep, cheap and relatively close to the center (about 20 min drive on a bus) – go for it. We were on a budget trip and had to settle. But this hotel is exactly that – something you must settle for. If you can afford it, it’s better to add few more euros and find a better place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

i stayed here for a night because i was catching a flight out of Florence the next morning and I desperately needed somewhere closer to the airport to stay. The hotel in general has a very relaxed, quiet ambience. The room was clean, not very modern but still good, felt a bit stuck in the room because i could not open the window/door. The only issues I had was the shower and how whenever you take a shower the floor gets wet, even though there was a drainage it was still very irritating, and I arrived around 11 am, there was no breakfast and the hotel does not serve lunch so it opens for dinner again and I was absolutely starved, I had to exit the hotel to get food from a close by restaurant, ALSO when I was in the room, one of the staff attempted to enter my room, he opened the door to find me in there and apologised, it made me feel unsafe because someone could open my door just like that, this showed that they had no knowledge on the status of the rooms, either it was not updated on the system as it was occupied or they are just not in touch with the front of house staff. However overall, it is a hotel for people who are staying overnight or two nights but not any longer than that, unless you are on a business trip and you are barely in the hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

My staying was very nice in this hotel. I recommend everybody to go there. You will be treated very kindly. The rooms are clean, at the restaurant the waiters are really nice and the food is delicious. Every night i ordered another plate and i was never dissapointed.The only problem that i had was with the airline Alitalia that lost our luggages and for three days i called over and over again for my lugagge.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenmirage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Signore/Signora

Le siamo molti grati per gli apprezzamenti che ci dedica.
Il nostro impegno è garantire sempre una buonissima esperienza di soggiorno assicurando i servizi tipici di un hotel 4 stelle.
Speriamo di riaverla nostro/a ospite nel prossimo futuro per farLe trascorrere un altro piacevole soggiorno nella città di Dante.
Ci spiace per il problema che ha avuto con il bagaglio, unica nota negativa a quanto pare, ma fortunatamente non ero direttamente legata a noi.

L'aspettiamo nuovamente

Con cordialità

Cosimo Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This hotel is not beautiful or modern. It needs an update but it's clean and in a good location. You can catch a bus to Florence a block away. The hotel sells the bus tickets. We parked the car and rode the bus each day because it's hard to find parking garages in Florence. The hallway is orange velvet something and the carpet is navy it looks a little scary but when you get to the room it's fine. the bathroom was very nice. We had a little trouble finding this place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Very small room, no tea making facilities. Plastic cups(awful for drinking the wine we brought in!) Very much in need of an update. Thought someone was in our room having a wash the walls were so thin, bed was comfortable tho. Breakfast had good choice but we got there one morning at 9 20 and lots of things had been cleared away, If the breakfast is till 10 then this should not be happening! Easy to get to the places we wanted to visit, the bus stop was right outside. A very helpful and friendly receptionist (never got her name but from Milan) ,who had a fondness for England, directed us to some good places to eat. More like a 3* hotel

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Why does this hotel get such low reviews is just beyond me! The hotel is quite adequate and personally I can not fault a single thing. Reading the reviews one can expect something dreadful, but the reality is quite the opposite.
About the location - I picked it because we were traveling by car and wanted to avoid entering the ZTL. Considering that, the hotel is located in great spot. Easy access to/from the autostrada, quite away from the ZTL so you don't have to worry entering it by mistake, large free private parking (this alone can save you 15-20 euros a day), bus stop in front the hotel. The bus will take you downtown in 15-20min even in the morning traffic. Once checked in, you should most definitely leave your car at the hotel and use the public transportation - thus not risking to enter the ZTL and to pay 100 euro fine, or sparing yourself the headache to find were to park downtown and paying an hourly rate. 1.20 euro is the single journey ticket, 2 euro is the hourly parking rate. Decide for yourself which is more convenient. Yes, it is not in the town center, but you simply are not going to book this hotel if you wish to be staying downtown. So, the location was perfect for me.
Not much happening around the hotel, especially after 20:00, but I did not feel unsafe going back to the hotel late in the evening and in Florence you simply do not want to stay in your hotel except for sleeping.
So, the sleep and the rooms - we spent 3 overnights and were staying in a triple room on the 4th floor, facing the hotel parking. It would say it was relatively quiet, so I managed to get good night sleep. The room was big, nicely decorated, with comfy beds - three regular beds, big closet, minibar/fridge, TV with plenty international programs. The AC was slightly loud so we switched it off. As it was September this was not a problem. Maybe we were tired, but everybody slept good. The bathroom was small, but you could easily fit so no major complaints about that. The rooms was cleaned regularly and the towels changed every day. The thing I did not like was the lightning in the room - very dark, at times I found it difficult to read my ebook reader.
The breakfast was good - nice coffee (even if it was from a machine and not real espresso), selection of juices, breads, salamis and cheeses, olives and mushrooms, scrambled eggs and sausage, cakes and croissants, yogurt, fruits. You can pick and get really good energy start for the day.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We were let in our room even that we arrived around 11:00-11:30 at no extra charge. The girls at the reception gave us a city map.
I would rate it high 3+/4* hotel, and this is just because of the small bathrooms and the fact that there is needed some renovation here and there. Otherwise I think everything is according as advertised and really good. It exceeded my expectations.
I do not understand how someone can give it 2* or categorize it as dreadful. I do not want to argue, I suppose everybody has his/hers own standards. If you are looking for the Ritz or Four Seasons, you pay accordingly and stay somewhere else downtown. For the price paid, the location, the free parking - I would say it was great deal. I would recommend it to anyone traveling by car and would definitely stay here again if visiting Florence under same conditions.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage

Address: Via Francesco Baracca 231/Int 18, 50127 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Florence
Florence Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.