We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Lucchesi Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

first impressions are that it is a bit dated, but when you consider the age of the hotel what should you expect. Our room was overlooking the River Arno which is exactly what we had requested. Reception and concierge staff were brilliant. We had dinner on our first night which we really enjoyed then ate out the rest of our stay as we wanted to experience the atmosphere in Florence and weren't disappointed. The breakfasts were far better than we were expecting. The staff in the restaurant were a bit distant but if you approached them they were very helpful. Great hotel and hope to visit again as didn't manage to see all 'the sights' on our first visit.

Room Tip: Ask foradvice and tickets to the sights from the concierge, saves hours queueing at the venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    244
    76
    28
    16
See reviews for
165
310
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was one of the greatest places I've stayed! It was so adorable! Great location! The rooms are small but charming! And once you open those shutters on your window and the statue of David is right there, with the canal in the forefront - you will truly feel like you are immersed in the culture! The staff was great! The on site restaurant was lovely! And you can walk anywhere from there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

They should take one star from them! I stayed at this hotel twice before and this year the quality of the service went down. Way down. Don't think I'll stay there again (I go to Florence every December).
For starters when I arrived with my heavy suitcase the hotel staff watched as I struggled my way thru the stairs with it and then when i was up there by them they "helped" me take it up to my room (via elevator!!! Seriously?) and off course expected tip...breakfast selection quality went down too (no more Nutella! Seriously? In Italy??) and the worst: every night I went out when I came back to the hotel in the middle of the night in a deserted street the hotel doors were locked and I had to ring a bell and wait for somebody from reception to wake up and come open the door for me not only dangerous but also a pain! This one room they gave me had shower curtains and the shower was in an awkward position which made me get the bathroom floor all wet every time I showered and they called my room every day when I was in the shower so I assume it was leaking to the apt below.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here at least 7 times and always found the place to be an excellent choice. A little more expensive than other hotels, but certainly worth the price. (if you buy in advance, you can get a significant discount.) located on the arno river, just outside of the busy historical center. everything is within walking distance. Staff is very knowledgeable regarding the tours, the sites, and the restaurants. We have several recommendations and they all turned out great. Hotel is changing ownership on 2013/1/1 but Staff doesn't expect significant changes in their operation. Breakfast is fantastic, eggs, bacon, croissants, real American coffee, etc.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors tend to stay much warmer in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here many times for business. Stylish, and rather old fashioned (in a good way). Rooms are variable in size but all good quality. Those at the front have a great view along the river. Breakfast is very good, and if you choose to eat here for lunch or dinner you will not be disappointed. Great location, only 5 minutes walk from Santa Croce, but not absolutely in the dead centre of town if that matters to you. About 10 minutes brisk walk to the Duomo.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. Old school charm and service, good food in the restaurant. But you'll probably want to eat dinners out. They have a great breakfast. Our room had a view of Santa Croce that was just spectacular at night! And the service is impeccable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the Arno and you should have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Second time staying at the Luccessi and enjoy the clean upscale european style hotel. Very good staff. Free WiFi, great concierage, and excellent service. Nice linens and confortable beds. Nice balcony on the fourh floor rooms overlooking the river. Booked a triple room for three and actually have two connecting rooms wirh two bathrooms. Very nice!! Small showers but hot water and many hotels lack that. Great location to downtown. Mant very good restaurant nearby!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Lucchesi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Lucchesi Hotel

Address: 38 Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#80 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Lucchesi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Lucchesi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Lucchesi Florence
Hotel Plaza Lucchesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Lucchesi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.