We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calzaiuoli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Calzaiuoli Hotel to your Saves list
Calzaiuoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Calzaiuoli 6, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Markham, ON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location location location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Finding a hotel through the internet can often be scary, because you never know if the pictures are real or not, From May 3-May 7th, my two friends and I had the pleasure of staying in this amazing hotel. We stayed in room 318, and it was has an wonderful view of the Duomo. The room was spacious enough for three women and it has 3 single beds. The only draw back to the hotel was a lack of plugs for us to charge all our electronic devices, and the street is very busy and can be noisy at night. I don't know why Florentine people are yelling at 3am in the morning, but it happens and we knew when booking this hotel that it's in a very busy part of town. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    356
    56
    28
    14
See reviews for
185
438
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Situated almost exactly halfway between the Uffizi and Duomo on one of the widest streets in central Florence, you will always find your way back to this great hotel with a full sized-elevator and grand stairwell. Easy walking distance to every major attraction in Florence. The front desk works miracles. The Ufizzi website said no reservations were available for the day we wanted but the front office got them for us anyway over the phone.

The "Double Classic" room we stayed in was delightful. A firm but comfortable king bed, sufficient closet space and great bathroom. Our bathroom only had a shower, which was fine for us. The absence of a shower curtain was startling at first but worked out fine (and does look better). The heavy floor to ceiling curtains are hung far enough out from the window to provide great luggage storage. Be warned, however, the street is very noisy until late at night on the weekends. The windows have interior solid shutters that close over the glass which are great at blocking out sunlight but are not effective on the noise. You may want to ask for a room not overlooking the street.

The free breakfast is served in a lovely dining room upstairs from the ground floor. Everything was delicious. We loved staying at this hotel and will recommend it to all our friends. It was based on the recommendation of friends we chose this hotel in the first place. From our experience, it deserves a higher TripAdvisor ranking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Short version: nice hotel, but be aware: there are bedbugs (!!) and some management issues.

Long version: This is our first TripAdvisor review, but we felt it was important to tell our story and caution other guests. We just returned from a two-week trip in Italy. We were excited to arrive at the Hotel Calzaiuoli last week. The room was very nice (room 303), on the back side of the hotel so away from any street noise. The breakfast was good and the breakfast room pleasant. The hotel location is excellent, and the room seemed clean and updated.

We were there for three nights, and by the third night we were absolutely covered in bedbug bites. We got one or two mosquito bites as well, which made it easy to compare and see the difference. We noticed some of the other recent reviews mentioning bug bites, and are wondering if the hotel has a bigger problem than we thought
.
The hotel management was not helpful when we told them about the problem. They said we could not prove that the bedbugs were in the room and suggested we might have brought them from another hotel, or picked them up on the train. But the Hotel Calzaiuoli was the only place on our entire trip where we suffered from bites at all.

Michele, the assistant manager, reluctantly gave us a discount when we checked out, but it was less than the rate for a single night's stay. We had to replace all our luggage, have all of our clothes dry cleaned in Venice, and buy a couple of outfits to wear while the cleaning happened. The discount that Michele gave us was a mere 10% of what we had to spend to deal with the problem.

Walter, the hotel manager, absented himself from the entire discussion. Michele would not give us contact information for the owners of the hotel.

The only really helpful person was Stefano, who works at the front desk, although there was little he could do in his position. He should be the one managing the hotel, if the company cares anything about customer service.

So, be warned: the hotel does have a lot of good qualities, but approach it with caution.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calzfirenze, Responsabile reception at Calzaiuoli Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear madame,
there is no bedbugs in any rooms or in other place of the hotel.
What you wrote is not true and we only found a mosquito after your departure.
Anyway you said about your problem at 10pm the day before your departure (very strange) and not after the first night, there was more solution like make a check of the room or change the room.
Also the staff (as you can read in most of the reviews) is very helpfull in all the situations.
Michele Bricci
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have stayed at the hotel once before and we booked it again for July 2013. Main reason being it's fantastic location right in the center of Firenze. It is located between Duomo chruch and Piazza della Signoria.
We stayed at a standard room, which was somewhat small, but convenient for a few days stay in the middle of everything. Room was air conditioned and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have visited Florence on business trips for the last 15 years using various 4 star hotels in the city centre. This time I opted for the Calzaiuoli.

Positive points:-The hotel is in a great location, near the two main Piazzas. The check-in was seamless, breakfast is good. Waiting and housekeeping staff are good.

Negative points; Florence was very warm during my stay but the hotel had turned the air conditioning off!! When I mentioned this to to reception they advised to open the windows. As a frequent visitor to Florence I asked about mosquitoes which get into the room at night...Reception advised that there are no mossies at this time of the year!!. Via Calzaiuoli is very noisy so opening the window is not an option even with ear plugs so we opened the bathroom window on the quiet side and awoke to to find that I had over 20 huge mosquito bites over my head and body. Reception lied, they are being cheap by turning the air-con off. Four days later I am still suffering and angry with Reception for their lies. Next...there is only one power point in the room to charge all your phones, tablets etc, try juggling chargers! Next, the very small TV is jammed into a narrow cupboard at a strange angle and when the cupboard door is opened the TV is out of sight from the room sofa! During check out The reception kept me waiting while he talked on the phone for at least 10 minutes, waving his arms and walking up and down, ignoring me.
A strange mix of acceptable and downright awful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed her for 3 nights in late March 2014 in one of the Prestige renovated rooms in the front. Had a great view of the street below which was only rarely a noise problem. The reception desk staff were helpful and the buffet breakfast was the best we had in Italy - great hot and cold selections including eggs, pastries and smoked salmon. Can not beat its location, one direction is the Republicca Plaza and the other the Duomo. Walked comfortably to every museum and church we wanted to see. Room was spacious, clean with an okay size bathroom. Would strongly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Florence is beautiful and we had a great view of the Cathedral Dome from our room. Nice big room with a day bed which we did not need but if traveling with third person would work well. Fine if small bathroom. No shower door so floor tended to get pretty wet. Comfortable bed and good lighting. No AC in April so we were forced to keep the windows open which in Florence means biting insects. Not too bad and understand about energy conservation but would have preferred the option of AC for the above reason. OK breakfast but nothing special. Right in the center which is convenient but noisy, crowded and VERY touristy. You might consider a hotel on the river which will be less of a tourist area, better restaurant choices, quieter at night but still pretty.

Room Tip: Rooms 410 to 414 are top floor and probably all have good views of the Cathedral dome. I reserved a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calzaiuoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calzaiuoli Hotel

Address: Via Calzaiuoli 6, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#73 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calzaiuoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calzaiuoli is a 4 stars hotel in the historical centre of Florence, 2 minutes walk from Uffizi Gallery and from Cathedral and 10 minutes walk from train station.53 Rooms, wifi connection free, continental buffett breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calzaiuoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calzaiuoli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calzaiuoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.