We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The exemplary central Florentine hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calzaiuoli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Calzaiuoli Hotel to your Saves list
Calzaiuoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Calzaiuoli 6, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #76 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The exemplary central Florentine hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is 'our' hotel in Florence and we have stayed twice previously. People have been resident on this site for two thousand years but the present building is nineteenth century. It is currently undergoing a renovation of all rooms, one by one. Rooms are of moderate size but with all conveniences. The beds are comfortable. The heating and cooling work efficiently. The bathrooms are compact but fully-fitted. Staff are very helpful and provide everything you need. We needed an argument with Air France reservations, and the concierge did this for us in high speed full-strength Italian. The breakfast room is fine and the food substantial. The glory of the hotel is its Galillean pin-point central location in Florence. Via Calzaiuoli - with four vowels in the middle, it is easier to say than to spell - is the half-mile street which connects north-south between the Duomo, its battistero and campanile, and the Piazza della Signoria. So the hotel is a very short walk from all attractions in Florence and is in the central shopping, eating and drinking district: Coin is alongside, Furla opposite and La Rinacentre round the corner: what more does a girl need? The city abounds with restaurants, caffes, bars and historical attractions of World status. Why would you not be here?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    343
    53
    28
    14
See reviews for
175
423
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Calzaiuoli in February. We got a great Winter Rate which made it the best deal for our three nights. The location was excellent, right in the center of "tourist" Firenze. All of the staff were friendly and accomodating. Our double room was equipped with everything we needed. If you love this city like we do, you will love your stay at this hotel, too. Ciao!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw (as we peeked in while they were cleaning) were elegant and similarly d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moissac, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff were all very helpful. The room was comfortable. The hotel is minutes from all the main city centre places of interest. We had a very nice stay. The only things that dtracted slightly was the noise from renovation of the room next door but the workmen apologised for this & did not start work until 9am so we were being lazy & should have been up anyway. The beds are exceptionally comfortable which is why we wanted to stay there!
The breakfast room is small when everyone wants breakfast at 9am. We only went twice. Far better to go out for breakfast & experience the lovely collazione available steps away in numerous other establishments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This location could not be better. The hotel is quiet, older property and comfortable. Nice bedding and excellent night's sleep. Breakfast is susbstantial and staff is obliging. We would stay here again, because all you would ever want to see is within 10 minutes of your room. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The location is excellent - 2 minutes walk from the Duomo and the Uffizzi Palace. Room was a bit small tight but comfortable and clean. Double glazing and blackout blinds ensure a quiet and peaceful sleep. Reception staff were very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel was stylish, great value. Room was quiet, spotless clean. Location was 2 minutes walk from Duomo - 15 minutes from central train station. Free Wireless Internet was fast. Blackout blinds really ensured a good night's sleep. I will definetely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is excellently placed and is within easy walking distance of all the main visitor attractions. The hotel staff are most helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the standard of our room was superb. The dining room is quite busy at breakfast, but everything you need is there.
All in a great hotel

Room Tip: They are refurbishing rooms in rotation, so just ask. The staff are really helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calzaiuoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calzaiuoli Hotel

Address: Via Calzaiuoli 6, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#72 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calzaiuoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calzaiuoli is a 4 stars hotel in the historical centre of Florence, 2 minutes walk from Uffizi Gallery and from Cathedral and 10 minutes walk from train station.53 Rooms, wifi connection free, continental buffett breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Calzaiuoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calzaiuoli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calzaiuoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.