We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calzaiuoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Calzaiuoli Hotel to your Saves list
Calzaiuoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Calzaiuoli 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 461 Hotels in Florence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a four star hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed elsewhere in Florence before at three star hotels and this one compares less favourably with them. Aside from the central location there is not much to recommend this place.

Last night we had to strip the bed because it had been so badly made and do it ourselves. Generally a good choice at breakfast but fairy unappetising and bland fare. Very few facilities to speak of. No coffee or kettle in the rooms. No baths, just showers. A pointless bar that's never open and doubles as a microscopic TV lounge.
TV and air conditioning in the rooms were temperamental.

Misleading photos of rooms on the web site. Dont be fooled by the photoshopped image of the Duomo as the view from your room. There is no room here that has that view. Great central location but little to recommend it if you were hoping for a genuine four star venue.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    328
    53
    28
    14
See reviews for
165
413
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in July - chosen mainly for location which was perfect for us right in the middle of Florence about 200 m from the Cathedral.
The hotel was not cheap but we had a standard room which was very clean with everything that we required - we had breakfast included which included bacon & eggs as an option from the buffet which was good for us.
A bit disappointed that the room did not have a better view but , overall , a hotel that we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our first stay at Calzaiuoli Hoteland did not know what to expect as we made Internet reservations. We got there very late after a 4 hour drive and we were happily surprised at the location and the professionalism of the staff. The car GPS did a great job in guiding us through the streets, but even with the narrow streets and the crowd, the experience was definitely outstanding. Our car was picked up immediately and taken to an enclosed garage. The room was very good and the view overlooked the crowded Via Calzaiuoili and the excitement was fabulous. The staff was very helpful, corteous and overall professional. Additionall the WI-FI worked very well without having to reset our computer. The location is excellent, with a very short walk (hundreds of feet) to the Duomo and the Piazza Della Signoria. When we checked out, the car was brought back to us in 15 minutes. We will definetily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I liked this hotel, but five stars? Rooms are clean, location is great, staff are pleasant and friendly, but this is not the Four Seasons. Rooms can be modest sized, but they are ideal unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room.

Other reviewers talked about spacious rooms, maybe I got a small one because I was only staying me night. Still, every hotel can't earn five stars in Florence. There has to be some curve to judge accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Centrally located, 200m away from the Duomo, 1 km away from Train station everything is located within walking distance.

The rooms are amazing, clean and spacious.

The only drawback is the variety of the breakfast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Amazing location, in the center of the pedestrian area, between Duomo and Ufizzi! Best location in Florence!! The hotel is very nice, and clean. Room sizes are very good. Bathrooms are very spacious, especially compared to other hotels in Italy. Breakfast variety was good, we though actually better than other hotels we stayed at during the trip. Eggs, cheeses, baked goods, even smoked salmon. Front desk was very nice and accommodating. The air conditioning worked well. Because of the location of this hotel, we were able to take breaks during the hot days and relax and refresh in our rooms between tours and visiting various sights.
A couple of issues, and reasons why we rated this wonderful hotel 4 and not 5. We arrived by car, and this information was communicated to the hotel when we confirmed the reservation. I will say that driving in the center of Florence is absolutely crazy! If you have an option, it is better to arrive by train, which is about 10 minutes walk to this hotel. In any case, we had a car, because Florence was a stop in the middle of our trip. The GPS and Google Map were navigating us straight in to the area closed for driving and we kept turning around and trying to find another road. When we finally gave up and just drove between the pedestrians to reach the hotel, the front desk informed us that it was perfectly legal. A representative from the local garage came to pick up our car to park for the duration of our stay. They informed us that the plate number of the car will be recorded in the system and we will not receive a violation for driving in pedestrian area. It would have been nice for the hotel to let us know it was legal to drive in the pedestrian area, closed to traffic, if we are guests at this hotel....it would have saved us a lot of confusion and aggrevation.
Another issue was street noise at night. I had emailed the hotel a week before our arrival, asking for both rooms to face the back area of the hotel...where it is quiet. When we arrived, we received one room facing the back and the other facing the street. Our kids were in the room facing the back, and had a wonderful and quiet night. We had a very noisy night, listening to people talking and singing on the street...and the clicking of horses. There is no car traffic on this street, but people and horses made more noise than cars. The next morning, after complaining, we were moved to another room, facing the back. It was nice and quiet, no noise from the street. An added benefit was an amazing view of the Duomo from our window. I wish we were given both rooms in the back side right away, as I initially requested in the email.

Room Tip: A few tips: If you are a light sleeper, make sure to ask for the rooms not facing the street. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calzaiuoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calzaiuoli Hotel

Address: Via Calzaiuoli 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Family Hotel in Florence
#72 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calzaiuoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calzaiuoli is a 4 stars hotel in the historical centre of Florence, 2 minutes walk from Uffizi Gallery and from Cathedral.52 rooms, wifi connection free, continental buffett breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Calzaiuoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calzaiuoli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calzaiuoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.