We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at Hotel but had drinks on the roof top” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay at Hotel but had drinks on the roof top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have been to the roof top a couple of times and would say this is the best place to view the city and have a drink. Yes the service is a bit slow but just soak up the sites. They usually serve chips and nuts with your drink and have not been disappointed.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    466
    159
    88
    52
See reviews for
217
470
54
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a beautiful suite on the second floor. The room was dark, with heavy furniture, but quite large, so it didn't feel claustrophobic. The location is about five minutes from the train station and within walking distance of all museums, etc. The buffet breakfast was extensive and the rooftop bar very pretty. We were able to get a triple, which is helpful when traveling as a family. (King size bed plus single; not three single beds!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying here, but the single room was smalland dark at the end of what seemed like an endless corridor. It was more like a converted servant's quarters. The desk staff were very snooty...but turned on the charm to the guests from the Far East or America. Was my Scottish accent looked down upon? My euros held the same value..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our first, and hopefully not last time in Florence.
This is a very traditional hotel with cool dark interiors, very professional and friendly staff
We will definitely return if the opportunity presents.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast deal, the breakfast in the great restaurant has amazing views over Florence and the roof top restaurant/bar has AMAZING views over the city, which is even more beautiful at night.
Breakfast is a buffet with an excellent selection of food, again with kind attentive staff.
The maitre'd was so helpful in inviting us and showing us round.
We had a 3 bed room which was spacious, clean and with every facility you could need. The bathroom was fully updated with a very nice selection of toiletries.
Very fast free WiFi also included.
Location of this hotel is perfect for train station and a very short walk to all the main tourist sights.
We had a late flight/train journey, so the hotel looked after our bags free of charge for the full day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Third time to Florence and first time at this hotel. I will definitely return. Very helpful front desk people. Great restaurant and maitre'd. He was so helpful in setting up a lovely anniversary dinner. Location of this hotel is perfect from train station and short walk to all the tourist sights. Their valet service parked our car and it was a perfect stay. Be sure to go to the rooftop for a drink in the evening and take pictures with the city of Florence in the background, it's picture postcard perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This an old, tired hotel with dark interiors with a rabbit warren of rooms connected with narrow hallways - located across from the train station
The rooms were dark and a little shabby, but surprisingly the bathrooms were modern and well equipped, plus nice toiletries
Staff were helpful
Nice breakfast with good views

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My mother and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst traveling through Italy in May. The hotel itself is beautiful and very close to the train station which was great for us.
Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable however we were on the side of the hotel and during the night we could hear people shouting at each other and police cars screaming past.
Breakfast was very nice and the view from the roof top terrace is amazing.
I would stay here again but I would ask for a room on the quieter side of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Florence
#65 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
#129 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.