We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and great view from breakfast room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #142 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location and great view from breakfast room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is located walking distance from the train station. It is walkable distance to all major attractions.
The room for hotel breakfast has beautiful view of Florence. I loved it.

It is a big hotel. It gets too crowded at check in/Check out desk and breakfast. The service gets too slow but it is a typical big hotel thing. I understand it.

I am glad that I picked this hotel to stay in Florence. I would highly recommend this hotel for everybody.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    448
    148
    81
    50
See reviews for
211
451
53
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked a suite at 450 euros or thereabouts three months ago and was guaranteed a suite with a view.
Upon arrival the room given was nothing like the photo on website and if you look at the photos I have attached you will see the 'view' is a wall.
In the evening I asked for a bottle of water when I was back in the room having just spent with friends in the four figures at dinner on the roof terrace. Upon my request for a bottle of water - Claudio- a man who truely insults the hospitality industry - and laughably the head waiter- suggested I pop up
and get the water.
I called downstairs and spoke to Tomasso who said it 'is not my problem' and eventually slammed the phone in my face.

Seriously classy staff at this Summit hotel. Lol

Since my arrival I have been asking to use the 'free' wifi. And have been told repeatedly that it is only my IPad that does work.

However just now when I went down there was a line of people with similar problems but the man behind the reception - Lupo- could bearly be bothered to give is the time of day.

Again yesterday- after explaining to the head reception chap about water incident - was AGAIN told if I wanted water to go to the bar.
(450euros a night)

I was entertaining guests for drinks at the roof terrace which has a lovely view. We wanted to order drinks. The waiters refused to take out order as they were busy and suggested we go order ourselves.

I think you get the gist of this horror story?

The only saving grace to this revolting hotel is Pier Pertici who was lovely.

Truely - unless a fan of camping and chucking your money out- AVOID AVOID AVOID

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to understand that we did not match your expectation and I would like to thank you for the time you dedicated to give us your opinion. Your review will be of great use to me as I have already said to other guests that stayed here during the same period.
I am already taking care of what happened and I have made sure that things like the ones you have described will not happen again.
Thanks a lot for your cooperation.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel has two spectacular features: its location and its roof top. It is conveniently located near the main train station and is a very short walk to the Duomo, Santa Maria Novella, Mercato Centrale as well as tons of great shopping. That means you can see all of these spectacular sites from the gorgeous roof top terrace. One of our most lovely and relaxing evenings in Italy was a picnic dinner from the market followed by sipping prosecco on the roof top overlooking all of Florence. The bedroom and bathroom were large and clean but also dark and noisy. We couldn't tell if the talking was from next-door, above or in the courtyard but they could be heard very clearly. Wi-Fi was good throughout the hotel. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a more quite section of the hotel, but not sure there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed 11 nights at the Baglioni in a very comfortable room with fantastic space and comfort. The hotel features a rooftop bar and dining room with fantastic views over Florence. You also breakfast in the same place overlooking the Domo and sights of Florence. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is located close to the attractions and transport hubs.

All in all a fantastic hotel in a brilliant location for spending time in Florence. Would highly recommend this for a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here as part of business trip. Free WiFi was great, albeit slow. The hotel is ideally located near the main rail station and main tourist attractions. Lots of restaurants nearby as well.
However, the hotel is poorly maintained - dark and dingy. Carpets worn, paint peeling off door frames, etc. The room I had was clean and had a lovely courtyard but awful in many other ways - no windows (yes you read right no windows) which just added to the dark and dingy atmosphere. The door do the room was difficult to open (problems with the electronic mechanism). Worn and marked armchair. Worst of all a very uncomfortable bed with a sagging mattress and consequently did not sleep well at all.
Breakfast very disappointing for somewhere like Italy - have had more choice and quality in smaller hotels. Made up for partially by the friendly staff on service in the restaurant (which also has great views over the rooftops).
Staff at reception (as per another reviewer) not particularly warm or welcoming when checking in. When I arrived the hotel was full and so was the restaurant. Tried room service several times - no one picked up. If you must stay here avoid doing so during peak periods - you will not get the service.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the courtyard - they don't have any windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel is well situated and very close to the railway station and the to center of Florence. Very well furnished and clean. The staff members in the restaurant, bar and reception are very pleasant and helpful. The roof terrace/breakfast room with an open view on Brunelleschi's cupola is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I hate to write a negative review, but I hope that my words will help change this place for the better so that others can have a more enjoyable experience in the future. Let me just start by saying that the staff here is excellent. They were friendly and extremely helpful, and the bartender Marco on the rooftop made the best drinks I have ever had in my entire life. Also, the views from the rooftop are stunning and may be the best in all of Firenze. The hotel itself is in a great location, just blocks away from S.M. Novella train station and walking distance to just about every attraction Firenze has to offer, however, it is very old and rundown and needs to be renovated. Also, the views from the room overlook an abandoned hotel covered in graffiti making the stay slightly unpleasant. The plumbing here is awful, giving the entire building an old musty/mildew smell, and the bathtub and sinks back-up leaving dirty water quickly building up and overflowing. Things like this should not occur in a "4-star" hotel. I hope that this place makes some major changes in the near future to become more modern, because it has the potential to be one of the nicest hotels in Firenze if they would just catch up with the times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#122 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.