We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Is No Longer Grand” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel Is No Longer Grand”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I don't know where all these other people were staying who thought this hotel grand but we found the concierge rude, there was only one housekeeper to clean our entire floor (room still not cleaned at 4:30), they did not turn on the air conditioning for a group dinner at night where we had to wait 45 minutes to be served chicken. The neighborhood is seedy with few nice places to get a bite to eat. The bar closed at 7:00 pm. The straw that broke the camel's back was the included breakfast where the wait was over a half and hour and all the Italians complaining about the tourists. We were here at the end of April and the season had not even begun! The small restaurant cannot accommodate the number of group tours they are booking. We were forced to go across the street to a small cafe for breakfast. That said, there is no more magnificent view of the Duomo and Basilica than from the dining room. We had a delicious 68 euro lunch in the restaurant with only seven other people and were amazed at the view. The baggage service is also quick and efficient. Definitely would NOT stay here again with all the amazing other Florence hotels to choose from. One final point, there was a large step right on the way to the bathroom and Heaven help you if you didn't leave the bathroom light on at night or got disoriented. Very dangerous.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to inform us of the problems you encountered while staying at the Grand Hotel Baglioni. We always strive to improve our service and are happy to hear what our customers think about our hotel and service.
I'm really sorry for not having replied fully to your expectations and in the meantime surprised that you did not feel welcomed from our front desk staff members. Our staff goes through rigorous training in order to meet the needs of our customers. Usually that is confirmed to me by the much appreciation and previous positive reviews left from of our previous guests. Though, please accept our apologies and we will talk to those responsible in order to make sure this never happens again.
The Grand Hotel Baglioni counts a total of 193 bedrooms divided in 4 floors where each day 6-7 housekeepers taking care of the cleaning. Therefore, being a holiday weekend, the delay in delivering your room was due presumably to a late release from most of our guests.
Regarding the rooftop restaurant, which is where we serve breakfast to all our guests all year around, has 120 seats. Sometimes too small to accommodate all our guests simultaneously. Though, in the meantime for many of our guests, it is considered a bless and the perfect place where to start the day.. Unfortunately, the period of your stay was actually a very busy one.. In fact, because of the long holiday weekend, the hotel was fully booked.
I would like to express once again my sincere apologies for not responding successfully to your needs and expectations. I will make sure that any problems you have faced during your stay will be dealt accordingly so that you will not encounter these or any other problems when visiting our hotel in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    467
    159
    88
    52
See reviews for
217
470
54
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great location. Customer service excellent. Strongly recommended. My room was on the 1st floor; very high ceiling. Very comfortable king size bed. Clean hardwood flooring. No problem communicating with the front desk, all speaks English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is amazing. If you arrive by train, the main station is literally in front of this hotel. Actually, a stairway from the train station leads exactly to the entrance of the hotel. If you arrive via car, hotel offers parking but study carefully the ZTL of florence to avoid them - look them up online. Hotel is walking distance from where all the action is taking place. The hotel is very classy and over a 100 years old. The rooms, elevators, reception, corridors and every single thing about this hotel feels a 100 years old yet it is very outstanding. They have Ana amazing roof Resturant that overlooks the dome and the city. Breakfast was fine, free wifi in the room. Parking for the car was 36 euro per 24 hours.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed in the Baglioni for business. Hotel has old grandeur but is not very actual. On arrival in april I found a very warm room around 1 AM in morning. I called front desk for AC and they explained me that AC consisted of opening the window...
The Hotel has a lot of small corridors and so you are running up and downstairs before reaching your room like in a maze.
Elevators small and often not working during our stay and finally a small bar that closes very early.
There are more luxurious hotel in Florence...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location being within easy walking distance of Santa Maria Novella train station and most of the places of interest. Our room, which overlooked the church of Santa Maria Novella was beautifully appointed and very clean.
The staff were efficient but nothing more and we didn't find any of them particularly helpful or personable. Strangely, the clientele this hotel attracts appear to be of a similar ilk with nobody wishing to say "Good morning" or "Buongiorno" so having been ignored outright on more than one occasion we stopped bothering!
We decided to give the hotel restaurant a try on our first night and although the service was good, the food was disappointing and we were both still hungry at the end of the meal. Also, it is expensive. If you choose the T-bone steak, don't agree to it being carved at the table or you will end up having just one between two instead of one each and you will still be charged for two. Yes, it probably was a larger steak but you are better off with individual steaks. Breakfast was sub-standard for this class of hotel and on some mornings, was chaotic with people crowding around the various serveries waiting for them to be replenished. There are boiled eggs or some decidedly unappetizing scrambled eggs on offer but don't ask for a poached or fried egg as you will have to pay extra for the privilege. Really!
Would we stay here again? Probably not. Having experienced the wonderful service at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio in Sorrento we noticed the difference here immediately. Oh, don't bother trying to speak Italian here. The staff, being multi-lingual will either reply in perfect English or very rapid Italian....not very encouraging when you're trying hard to learn the language!
On a more positive note, our chamber maid was helpful and changed our hard pillows for softer ones when we explained we were unable to sleep.

MG

Room Tip: We had room 301 which was beautiful but not very peaceful as it overlooks the square and you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel. Right next to the train station and within a 15 minute walk of all the sights. Felt very safe walking in the area late at night. Definitely will stay at the hotel again. Was a little pricy but enjoyed the overall stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel reflects the old grandeur of Florence itself. It is located near the railway station and all places of interest, the Galleria Uffizi, Piazza del Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, are in comfortable walking distance.

Overall the hotel makes a refreshing change from the sameness of today's chain hotels. It has that great feeling of understated grandness. The dining room is on the roof and offers wonderful views over the city's rooftops, the staff are very helpful and the rooms are comfortable.

Overall a great base for a visit to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Florence
#65 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#120 Family Hotel in Florence
#129 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.