We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baglioni: if you like a maze ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #171 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Baglioni: if you like a maze ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed in the Baglioni for business. Hotel has old grandeur but is not very actual. On arrival in april I found a very warm room around 1 AM in morning. I called front desk for AC and they explained me that AC consisted of opening the window...
The Hotel has a lot of small corridors and so you are running up and downstairs before reaching your room like in a maze.
Elevators small and often not working during our stay and finally a small bar that closes very early.
There are more luxurious hotel in Florence...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    579
    191
    109
    61
See reviews for
267
560
67
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location being within easy walking distance of Santa Maria Novella train station and most of the places of interest. Our room, which overlooked the church of Santa Maria Novella was beautifully appointed and very clean.
The staff were efficient but nothing more and we didn't find any of them particularly helpful or personable. Strangely, the clientele this hotel attracts appear to be of a similar ilk with nobody wishing to say "Good morning" or "Buongiorno" so having been ignored outright on more than one occasion we stopped bothering!
We decided to give the hotel restaurant a try on our first night and although the service was good, the food was disappointing and we were both still hungry at the end of the meal. Also, it is expensive. If you choose the T-bone steak, don't agree to it being carved at the table or you will end up having just one between two instead of one each and you will still be charged for two. Yes, it probably was a larger steak but you are better off with individual steaks. Breakfast was sub-standard for this class of hotel and on some mornings, was chaotic with people crowding around the various serveries waiting for them to be replenished. There are boiled eggs or some decidedly unappetizing scrambled eggs on offer but don't ask for a poached or fried egg as you will have to pay extra for the privilege. Really!
Would we stay here again? Probably not. Having experienced the wonderful service at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio in Sorrento we noticed the difference here immediately. Oh, don't bother trying to speak Italian here. The staff, being multi-lingual will either reply in perfect English or very rapid Italian....not very encouraging when you're trying hard to learn the language!
On a more positive note, our chamber maid was helpful and changed our hard pillows for softer ones when we explained we were unable to sleep.

MG

Room Tip: We had room 301 which was beautiful but not very peaceful as it overlooks the square and you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved the hotel. Right next to the train station and within a 15 minute walk of all the sights. Felt very safe walking in the area late at night. Definitely will stay at the hotel again. Was a little pricy but enjoyed the overall stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel reflects the old grandeur of Florence itself. It is located near the railway station and all places of interest, the Galleria Uffizi, Piazza del Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio, are in comfortable walking distance.

Overall the hotel makes a refreshing change from the sameness of today's chain hotels. It has that great feeling of understated grandness. The dining room is on the roof and offers wonderful views over the city's rooftops, the staff are very helpful and the rooms are comfortable.

Overall a great base for a visit to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in April with my wife. The hotel is located right in the centre of the city. Great for walking and exploring. Convenient for the train station, Cathedral, Palazzo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio etc. The hotel building is beautiful. Very Grand. Lovely reception area and very well decorated throughout. Its a big hotel so not so personal, but its not to be expected of such a big Grand hotel. We stayed in a standard room and it was a very good size, decorated with dark wood and with a good size bathroom. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On many previous visits to Florence I have enjoyed an evening drink on the roof terrace of the Baglioni, with its fabulous views over the city. This week, on Tuesday 16th April, I and my wife went in to enquire about whether the roof terrace was available as a place to have a drink that evening. The man at the concierge desk very abruptly said 'No', and that one could only use the terrace area if eating lunch or dinner. His attitude was abrupt and verged on rudeness. The staff at my own hotel, when I later told them about this were surprised and concluded, as did I, that either the hotel has introduced a new policy with the sole aim of making money (a failure, as when I looked across to the Baglioni terrace later from another location, it was virtually empty), or else this particular man was just being obnoxious for the sake of it. I actually got the impression that his two younger female colleagues were perhaps embarrassed by his attitude towards my wife and me - a middle aged couple making a simple enquiry. I have visited Florence many times, and part of my mission on this latest visit was to scout out some potential places to stay for a visit I am organising to Florence next year for 8 professional people from the UK. As a result of my experience this week, there is no chance of me considering the Baglioni for my organised group next year, nor indeed for anything else. My advice to anyone considering using this hotel is to avoid it - on the basis of my experience this week they simply do not deserve your custom. If you want an evening drink with a view, use The Westin whereb they were welcoming, polite and utterly charming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaglioniHotelmanager, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for the preference given so far. I am pleased to know that until now you were able to appreciate the beautiful view and our rooftop bar service. I regret that this time you weren’t able enjoy it because the terrace is closed to the public until May, when the current renovation and gardening will make it in its usual splendor. Currently, it is only open in the inner area where we serve only breakfast, lunch and dinner.
I was very surprised that you did not feel a warm welcoming from our front desk staff. If they in anyway offended you, please accept my apologies. Our entire staff is always here to treat our customers with respect, as well as show them our wonderful hospitality.
I also regret that you consider our hotel "to avoid" having tried a very small part of our services that are so much appreciated by our loyal customers.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Grand Hotel Baglioni. A fantastic hotel in a great location . The staff are helpful, friendly and very pleasant, they honoured our request for a room with a view without any uplift in cost, a nice surprise on arrival. The panoramic view from the restaurant was amazing as was the breakfast. The decoration was of typical Tuscan oozing with history. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#73 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#80 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#26 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#41 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#82 Business Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#146 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.