We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfectly situated.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #139 of 460 Hotels in Florence
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
“Beautiful hotel, perfectly situated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I love this hotel! I have stayed here twice, both times as a solo traveler in Florence. My single rooms have been small, clean and cozy - and very quiet when the shutters are closed. The breakfast room and terrace have exactly the view that's depicted in the Baglioni website pictures. The location is perfect; you are surrounded by all of the major attractions. The interior of this historic building is a bit dark but very romantic and provides a nice respite from the bright sunlight and noise of the city. I will always go back to this hotel when traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    430
    143
    78
    50
See reviews for
207
442
51
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

me and my partner spent 3 nights. staff where helpful from the start. room was great looked on to the small square at the front. was an old traditional room what you would expect in Italy. room was spotless throughout and a good size. location was great walk to all main attractions 5-10mins and the train station i could see from my room which suited myself to be close by as i was travelling about Italy by train. Air conditioning was good kept the room nice as it was so very warm outside. could not fault the hotel and really enjoyed Firenze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very easy walking distance to train station and the Duomo, but it leaves much to be desired. They were renovating the floor we were staying on and encountered some noise because of it. Our A/C didn't seem to work all that well and our room was pretty dark. The roof top terrace was the selling point when I booked the hotel, and that was pretty special both during the day and at night. After dinner we went to the roof for a night cap and enjoyed our view, but the bartender wasn't all that friendly. Also, the wi-fi was very temperamental. I loved Florence and can't wait to return, but I would choose something either closer to the Duomo or another piazza.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaikou, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hotel Baglioni is very comfortable and quiet. Great location. Helpful staff. They even made restaurant reservations for me via email before I arrived! I will stay here again when I next have the pleasure of visiting beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has an old fashioned elegance that is often lost in modern hotels. The staff are attentive but not overwhelming. Breakfast is self service but there is lots of it and the view of Venice during breakfast is amazing. We took a bottle of wine and spent one amazing evening watching the sun go down over Florence. If you do nothing else do this you will have the memory all your life, it's stunning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times. It is well situated in the center of Florence. The staff is friendly and serviceminded and the rooms are cleen and nice. Only one thing is a problem at this hotel and that is the noise from the neighbour rooms. The walls are very thin. But of course if the neighbours act normally it is no problem.
The restaurant on the top floor is good and you have a full view over the city.
The top terrace is a must in the evening where you have the most fantastic view over the city with all is beautiful buildings with evening lights on.
I will definately visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room with quite neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed at Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze on two occasions and will be returning in the future. It is a wonderful base for accessing all areas of Florence and, although close to the Santa Maria Novella train station, is quiet and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and the reception staff speak English well. The cleaners are very efficient and truly caring and friendly. Breakfast is included and good quality and quantity, and the view from the restaurant is amazing. Altogether, I can't fault this truly lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#109 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#120 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.