We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it very much and will probably stay there again !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #148 of 461 hotels in Florence
Le Sentier, Switzerland
2 reviews
“We enjoyed it very much and will probably stay there again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have been staying at the Baglioni Hotel for five days and very much appreciated this comfortable historic hotel. A lot of space in the room, windows that ensure quiet nights, very well equipped bathroom with a lot of space and two luxury wardrobes, exactly all what we appreciate in travel. On the top of that the situation of the hotel is excellent, just five minutes walking to go back for a fresh break in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    421
    133
    79
    49
See reviews for
187
422
49
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Absolutely fabulous hotel, the rooms are stunning and the service is fantastic. The Roof top terrace gives a unique opportunity to have a drink and dine while overlooking the city, and after a few days site seeing we welcomed the peace and quiet away from the business of Florence in August.

I left some clothing in one of the rooms and before I could even ask if they would send it back they had asked for my details to arrange them to be returned to me.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Overall very happy with the hotel for our brief family stay. The only thing that I didnt like was the rock hard mattresses on the bed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I recently stayed in Baglioni, Classic Room. Judging by European standards, the room was of a good size, quite dark. I can't say it's a luxury hotel. The roof top garden and restaurant were amazing. But what caught me off guard were photos of Hitler and Nazis in the hall. The comments accompanying these photos actually said that Florence was honored that Hitler chose it as a center of Italian Nazism. I was deeply offended. There is no reason for such propaganda. This incident killed all and any good impression. .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

our room was beautiful and very clean. the staff was very helpful. the hotel is in an excellent location. we were able to walk where ever we went. the breakfest was wonderful and the view from the restaurant was beautiful. we spent two weeks and took the train to visit other locations in italy. the hotel is one block from the terminal. the view from the outside patio on the top floor at night was exceptional.

Room Tip: our room had a good view from the front of the hotel on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel is in a great location. A few blocks from all the action at the Duomo, a short walk to the Arno river and Ponte Vecchio or shopping areas, etc.. The train station is also just a short walk across the Piazza so if you are traveling by train, you don't have to pull your bags for blocks and blocks through city streets.
This historic hotel has old world charm and elegance. Usually you only get charm without the elegance but the staff here are top not professionals, the rooftop bar / restaurant was one of the best meals we had in 2 weeks of travel. The lobby has great paintings, frescos and there is even a photography exhibit on the 3rd floor showing Florence from 1903 - 2003 (yes, Hitler and Italy's relationship in WW2 is documented in the photos as well. A previous reviewer was freaked out about it. It's actually quite well done with a written explanation of why Italy's people did what they did... in context. Not a Hitler worship type of exhibit.)
The room was great. High ceilings with cool wood beams, wood shutters, A/C, large king bed (2 twins), cable TV (My Name is Earl in Italian... funny), a clean and modern bath and high speed internet via Ethernet cable (No wifi in rooms, but they have wifi in the lobby). We heard that some smaller rooms have a small balcony, so I imagine that there is a variety of room sizes and values.
The breakfast in the 5th floor restaurant is quite well done. Don't miss the beautiful rooftop views and sunsets. That is one of the nicest rooftop drink spot around.
We'd stay here again. But several tours were not available in August, and some shops closed for their vacations. Watch that.

Room Tip: Our travel agent called and setup the room. It was nice, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

While I really enjoyed the overall ambiance of the hotel I found my room to be too dark. The shutters didn't open on the window and even if they had the view was restricted to an inner courtyard of meager proportions. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was large and immaculate. I had dinner in the dining room and everything was delicious. The breakfast was more than adequate for me and everything was fresh and good. I attended a cocktail party on the roof and the hors d'oeuvres were great. The view there is spectacular as well. I would recommend the hotel but advise that you make sure you have a room with a view.

Room Tip: Be polite but insistent. Above all, be patient. It can take time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#64 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#71 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
The Style Florence
The Style Florence
#28 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#80 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#26 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze

Address: Piazza Unita Italiana 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#109 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#129 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Hotel set in converted palace, located downtown, near Conference Center & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.