We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, even better Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Splendid

Save Saved
You added Montebello Splendid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Montebello Splendid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi, 14, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 461 hotels in Florence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Hotel, even better Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just finished a stay at Montebello Splendid. It was an awesome experience for the following reasons:

1. Great room, we had the attic, held 4 very comfortably. No view but they fully disclosed that and the room more than made up for it.
2. Location - not far from anything and in a quiet section of town.
3. The Staff was ridiculously friendly and helpful.

We don't know the language but never felt out of place due the the people at Montebello Splendid. One other point, if you want to tour the area don't call anyone but Marchello Mundo of Mundo tours...period. Here's why:

We just finished 2 days with Marchello Mundo of Mundo Tours. We were only supposed to be with him for a day but had such a phenomenal experience in Siena and Chianti that we asked him to drive us to Venice instead of taking the train and he did not disappoint. If you want to experience Tuscany as a local with local knowledge and the best places locals go then Marchello and Mundo tours is the only way to go. When we return to Florence our family has informed us that Marchello will be a mandatory part of the trip.

Room Tip: the Attic - totally dark if you want it to be, and super quiet. Didn't hear anyone else during a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    148
    57
    25
    21
See reviews for
88
302
30
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about the Montebello Splendid hotel. Our rooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with all the amenities we expected. Because we stayed in the winter the hotel was not full, everyone made us feel as if it was our own private residence. The front desk staff found restaurants, made reservations and transportation recommendations including a local travel agent for train tickets to Roma.
Every evening we stopped in the lounge for cocktails and sodas and enjoyed the conversation of the bartender and wait staff.
Every morning we had breakfast in the garden grill room overlooking the courtyard. We found the breakfast to include everything we would need such as fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. Our cappuccino was served with a smile daily.
We had a classic double room with a connection for our nephew. It is possible we had an upgraded room as an I prefer hotel member so I could not say that every room looked as lovely as ours.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again even over the Excelsior because of the quiet location and the value of the Montebello Splendid. We would like to extend our thanks to everyone on the staff we interacted with at the Splendid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough how happy we were at the Montebello Splendid. Splendid accurately described our stay from the moment we were greeted curbside till we said goodbye one week later. We reserved a deluxe double and had a view overlooking the courtyard. Our room had a shower with jacuzzi bath and double sinks and my favorite warm terry bathrobe and slippers. Other room amenities included a very convenient safe and a hair dryer (so leave yours home). Only thing I would suggest adding is an alarm clock, but the wake up call from the desk works fine. Staff was always helpful without hovering (calling us a taxi or making change or reservations or providing directions). Decor is lovely in all the public spaces too with free newspapers in the mornings, complimentary pastry in the afternoon and snacks in the evening. We included breakfast with our stay which was very convenient and the morning staff got to know us after a couple of days. The restaurant overlooks the courtyard as well. The hotel is about two blocks from the Arno river (right near the American Consulate) and about a 20 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Since ita not in the town center its not crowded and very quiet (which is a plus). Within 5 minute walk to some great neighborhood restaurants and the train station and San Maria Novella. 5 stars for a 5 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Steven R.
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for your fantastic review. I’m very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided, including our morning breakfast and restaurant. For all of us your satisfaction is the greatest reward. Looking forward to welcome you again very soon on the next occasion, I remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is slightly removed from the central tourist area, so if you want a quiet location in walking distance of everything else, this is it. My wife and I have stayed here twice, each time for several days. Great staff, well-designed rooms, and nice neighborhood. Fun little trattoria across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Cynwhite1,
It’s a great pleasure to read the satisfaction of a repeat guest who really appreciate the philosophy of our hotel and enjoy the quite location but still walking distance to any sight. From the whole staff of the Montebello a warm thank you for staying with us and for you wonderful review.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I can't really fault out stay at this hotel, we were there for three nights. all the staff we encountered were very polite and helpful! the room was very clean, although looking a little tired. The hotel had free wifi which actually worked that was very useful. it was a 10 min walk from the town centre and most of the attractions which was ok at the beginning of the day, but at the end we ended up taking a cab that cost around 8 euros each time. it's also a 10 min walk from florence station which also wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Nabzilla,
Thank you for choosing the Montebello Splendid for your stay in Florence and for posting your positive review on this website.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your find the attitude of the staff very helpful and friendly. Looking forward your next visit to our beautiful city, please accept the our best wishes.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October 2012. It was fantastic! The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel staff was very accommodating and courteous. I contacted the hotel a couple times prior to our trip with questions regarding the location of a car rental garage and they were quite helpful. This a must stay when I return to Florence!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quite new hotel, with good location in Firenze.
Courtyard is very inviting and the glass terrace overlooking it is great for breakfast.

Very clean hotel and quiet (at least during winter). Nice roughly 4 star boutique hotel.

We booked the suite and it had one quite big drawback. Being a "penthouse" build in a attick, means it had no window with a view.

Could consider coming back, but would request a room with a window.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Splendid

Address: Via Garibaldi, 14, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#86 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montebello Splendid 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Opened in June 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.