We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montebello Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montebello Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Montebello Splendid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi, 14, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

we loved this hotel so much we decided to add an extra night!! The staff was wonderful and veru helpful, will stay again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    163
    61
    25
    23
See reviews for
98
330
31
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booking a hotel solely through its representation on a website can be unsettling — does it really look like that? Is their definition of quiet the same as ours? Is it really in a good location?
Well, everything claimed by the Montebello Splendid is true, and then some. It's located in a wonderfully quiet corner of Florence, but still within easy walking distance of everything. Everything was wonderful, from our initial greeting, to the suggestions on places to see and where to dine, to the cleanliness and comfort of our room. What makes the Montebello Splendid truly stand out, however, is the friendliness, courtesy, and professionalism of its staff. One of the best parts of our trip was meeting the wonderful people at the Montebello Splendid. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Fenwaysong,
Thank you very much for the great words you wrote about your stay at Montebello Splendid and for recommending our hotel to other travellers.
It’s a great pleasure to understand that we were able to exceed the expectations you had visiting our website. Thank you also for remarking the friendly attitude of the staff and our secrete and quite location steps away from the main attractions.
On behalf of the whole staff, I’d like to wish you all the best and a very soon return to our beautiful town.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have not reviewed any hotel before but I feel that it would be unfair not to compliment this hotel.
It was a pleasure to stay there. The room was as nice a room that I have ever stayed in. Bed was wonderfully comfortable, TV had an excellent choice of channels, the high ceiling was great and the bathroom was great.
Also the staff were wonderful - very helpful and approachable. I can't say how great the staff were.
The food was really good and the menu varied.
In conclusion I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Bryan O,
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to other travellers. It’s such a great pleasure to read your satisfaction about your stay with us and your remark about the friendly and hepful staff. I’m also very pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, which is more and more becoming a must try for the specialities prepared by chef Dino and the great value thanks to the promotion on arrival day.
On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for staying at Montebello Splendid and I invite yu to contact us for any assistance you should need to plan your next visit to Florence.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

everything was great. The quiet location, architecture and decoration of buildings, the service from all staff, the amazing buffet, relaxing bed. I hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Kellyathensp,
thank you very much for your enthusiastic review on Tripadvisor. I’m very glad that your stay with us was particularly memorable and that all the services we provided to you satisfied your expectations, including our buffet breakfast and the helpful attitude of the staff. I look forward to welcome you again very soon and in the meanwhile, on behalf of the whole team, I wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I travelled to Italy for the first time this April starting in Florence and then to Rome. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was perfect. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was luxurious, the staff were excellent. Our room was not small at all and so lovely that we wished we could live in it. Every comfort was provided to us. We especially loved the large windows that you could open and if you wanted to keep out the sun early in the morning there were automated blinds to block out the light. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the view to the hotel's courtyard with the fountain was delightful. We will definitely return to Italy and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Eileen C,
On behalf of the whole staff I’d like to thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.
It’s a great pleasure to read you full satisfaction about your accommodation, the service and attitude of the staff and our food and beverage option, in particular our buffet breakfast.
You and your daughter will be always very welcome at Montebello Splendid and we would be very pleased to help and assist you planning your future visit to Florence.

All the best,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Luxurious is the word that comes to mind when I think about our stay at the Montebello Splendid Hotel. It is a lovely, restful escape in the midst of bustling Florence. Walking to the major attractions only took about ten minutes. The service was also fantastic. Every member of the staff really went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear LisaMnewjersey,
Thank you very much for staying at Montebello Splendid and for sharing your positive experience and nice pictures to other travellers.
It’s a great reward for us to understand that you had a memorable stay at Montebello Splendid and that the whole staff was very accommodating and helped you to feel like home.
Please contact us for any kind of assistance you should need whenever you or any of your family or friends should plan to explore again Florence in the future.
On behalf of the whole staff, I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My 12 year old son and I stayed here for a week beginning March 17. We were very pleased with our room, the staff, the service and location. My son especially appreciated the turndown service and the tasty hard candies that came with it! I routinely left our passports and currency in the room, not in the safe and a few days, on the dresser, and had no issues at all. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the river and walking to city center was a breeze and actually afforded us the opportunity to see many things we may not have otherwise seen. We intend to return for another week in the summer, and we will be sure to book our room at the Montebello Splendid again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Montebello Splendid, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Andrewknox,
Having you and your son at Montebello Splendid it was a great pleasure. We are happy to read you full satisfaction about your stay with us and we really hope to welcome back very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance you may need to plan your visit in Florence in advance.
Thank you very much for staying with us and your contribution to share your experience with other travellers.

Kind regards,

Riccardo Fracassi
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montebello Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello Splendid

Address: Via Garibaldi, 14, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
#93 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montebello Splendid 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old villa from 19th Century with private garden located in the lively heart of Florence and transformed into a boutique 5 stars hotel full of charm and warm atmosphere, according to the neoclassical Florentine tradition. All rooms are elegantly designed and decorated differently but all equipped with the most up-to-date comforts. In a few step from the hotel you can easily reach all the most important attraction of Florence. Capriccio restaurant is the gourmet option for hotel guests to experience greta italian food in a very relaxing enveiroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montebello Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Splendid Florence
Montebello Splendid Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montebello Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.