We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle service not as advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto to your Saves list
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tevere 23 | Zi Osmannoro, 50019 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Greensboro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shuttle service not as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked three rooms at this place primarily because it said on their website that they had 24 hour shuttle service to the airport. In reality. the shuttle starts to run at 8:15 AM. Since all of flights were earlier, we all had to hire taxis to get to the airport ($28 Euro with 4 small suitcases).The shuttle runs until 11:00 AM, then takes a break until, 3:30.
We had reservations on the shuttle for 6 of us to get into town, but so many people got on the shuttle without having reservations (no one checked), that there was not room for all 6 of us, so we ended up taking 2 taxis.
Bar service was HORRIBLE. Took forever to get drinks, and then the bills. They were also out of two of the four items that we ordered.
Lastly.. the rooms were clean, but HOT and the beds were incredibly uncomfortable; very hard mattresses.
Most of the staff was quite nice.
We did not get breakfast because our flights left so early. They did not have coffee made, either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.

We regret that some our standards fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We have taken note about your comments and we want to assure you that proper actions will be taken into consideration for future improvement.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    401
    282
    94
    42
See reviews for
476
164
44
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Room was clean, comfortable and WiFi worked well, staff was friendly at check-in. They don't warn you shuttle does not run for early AM flights. Taxi cost EUR 20 to airport and don't count on breakfast if you are flying out early since all they put out are packaged biscuits and tea. Conveniently located at the end of the 29 bus line if you are coming from the train station with the bus stop across the street. Would probably stay again for a short trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

We have taken note about your comment and we want to assure you that we has already put in place proper actions in order to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Novotel Firenze.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room was fantastic and spacious and the staff were very helpful. I'd definitely stay here again.

The only downside of the hotel is its location as it's on the outskirts of Florence in an industrial area but buses are frequent and simple.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overall I have been disappionted with the standard of the Novotels I stayed in whilst in Italy - this hotel was the first one I stayed at and probably was the most disappionting overall. I have stayed at Novotels in other countries and was very surprised at the standards here. I cannot fault the reception staff as I they were friendly and efficient - they at least were up to the usual standard I have experienced at Novotel.( I have rated the service only average because although reception service was good in other areas service was poor) The room and bathroom were adequate however the entry door kept sticking and was difficult to open. We arrived late afternoon and the restuarant was not open so we had to have a snack meal in the bar - these snacks were expensive and poor quality and took a long time to arrive - there were no other options as there is not much in the local area in the way of cafes/food outlets. The location is a fair way out from Florence itself however the hotel provides a shuttle service - the last return Shuttle is 8 pm so if you wish to have dinner in town you would usually need to get a Taxi - these ranged from about 22 EUR to 32 Euro. Breakfast was absolute chaos each day we stayed with the staff being flustered and somewhat rude ( probably because they were overworked and understaffed). We tried to change our times to aviod this chaos but there was obviously a number of tour groups staying at the hotel as a large number of tables were reserved for them. Although these tables were reserved for certain times the hotel did not seem to have catered for these groups by providing sufficient staff as there was not enough staff to provide sufficent food or utensils for the number that descended on the breakfast room. Each day we were not able to get glasses to put juice or water in and had to ask more than once for these to be provided. The hot food ran out and took up to 30 minutes for more to be brought out. Other items including bread were consumed and not replaced for a long time - usually after you asked more than once. Given that the choices of food available were limited I feel that there should have been more staff to ensure that there was not a long wait for more food to be provided. After my experience with the snack meal and the breakfast I certainly had no desire to try the restaurant for a dinner meal. There were a couple of positives - the hotel swimming pool was really nice and the provision of computers in the foyer was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.

We regret the standards of cafe service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We have taken note about your note concerning it and we want to assure you that proper actions will be taken into consideration for future improvement.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto for 2 nights on the Splendours of Italy Tour. Our check in was swift, with assistance from our tour guide, our luggage took a long time to be delivered to our rooms, they seemed to be a bit shortstaffed. The rooms were large and comfortable. There was a breakfast room for tour groups,which was very busy - we had to wait a while for the buffet to be replenished both mornings. There are gaming consoles for the kids, a ping-pong table and a pool. There is a bus station within walking distance, so it's easy and convenient to travel to the centre of Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool on the lower floors do get quite noisy if there's a lot of activity in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your nice comments, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We have also taken note about your comment and we want to assure you that we has already put in place proper actions in order to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Novotel Firenze.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Breakfast very poor and unorganized. I was with a tour group and there was not enough seating and workers to handle the big groups coming into this hotel. Skipped our room service Finally around 7pm after calling a 2nd time they brought us towels. We where told its a 3 stars and we don't think it's even 2 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttore1798, Direttore at Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing your review.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We have taken note about your note concerning it and we want to assure you that proper actions will be taken into consideration for future improvement.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Ministeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto

Address: Via Tevere 23 | Zi Osmannoro, 50019 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#95 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto is a comfortable 180-room 4-star hotel ideally located near the airport and A1 highway, giving easy access to Florence city center and the train station. 9 meeting rooms and free WIFI available. Shuttle to airport and city center runs at fixed times, subject to booking and availability. Perfect for business or leisure, the hotel offers rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, restaurant, bar, open air swimming pool and indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto Hotel Florence
Novotel Hotel Florence
Novotel Florence
Sesto Fiorentino Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.