We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Isabella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Room Mate Isabella to your Saves list
Room Mate Isabella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tornabuoni 13, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you want to stay in the center of Florence, this hotel is for you!! This hotel was right in the city center in the middle of all the shops and restaurants. On top of the location being perfect, the rooms were excellent too. Great customer service, helpful and friendly staff.. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    49
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
101
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location of Room Mate Isabella (formely known as Albergotto) is excellent in the centre of Florence, a 10 mn walk from the station, and less from the Duomo or the Palazzo Vecchio.

Young and caring staff, friendly and helpful. Do not hesitate to enquire about restaurants, museum reservations, etc...

Our room was on the 3rd floor (as already mentionned, there are some 20 steps before the elevator starts). Looks like recently renovated, sound proof windows onto the street, tv, aircon, tea&coffee set, large bathroom. Comfortable mattress and pillows (although the double bed is actually made of 2 twins together). Free and efficient wifi.

Nice buffet breakfast, including cold meats and cheese. Eggs cooked to order.
Difficult to find the same level of service for this price in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hello.
My boyfriend and I spent one night at this hotel in April 2013.They had a special offer that time, so we decided to try it. Stayed in the simplest room with a double bed.
Overall the hotel is nice.The room was a bit smaller than we expected, but clean enough. The furniture and the bathroom (in which we found only small towels) were not the newest, but clean. The continental breakfast was fine too. The best thing was the location, very central, maybe a bit noisy therefore (or it was because there were reconstructions of the building in front that particular time), but the street is very fancy, maybe the fanciest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in late may, on arrival we were met by porter who immediately took our bags to our room, check in was smooth and easy, room was lovely , brightly decorated, en suite bathroom small and had plenty of wee freebies, shampoo, bath oil etc.. position of hotel is first class above Gucci shop and wall to wall with all designer shops you could mention, hard rock café 2 min walk away , lovely piazza with various bars restaurants again 2 seconds from hotel,,hotel staff very friendly and breakfast plentiful , would highly recommend this hotel as an ideal base in Florence

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel couldn't be more centrally located -- within walking distance to all the main sites on both sides of the Arno, and in the middle of luxury shopping. The rooms have been renovated and the service was excellent! All of the staff were also friendly and very helpful. Especially, Valentina, who did all that she could to make our trip amazing, from booking reservations at the Ufizzi and Academia last minute, to trying multiple restaurants on our list for dinner reservations. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has just been renovated and is located very centrally. Ten minutes relaxing walk to Uffizzi/Ponte Vecchio and even less minutes to Duomo. We found it very well priced with regards what it offers especially comparing to other 4 star properties in the city. Rooms are nicely designed if not too dark due to usage of black/gold wallpapers. They have wooden floors, comfortable big beds. However if you are light sleeper be prepared to hear some noise from outside even with closed windows. Depends how tired you are from sightseeing... The view was of the high end boutiques streets or the opposite building which was having reconstruction work going on so noise was noticeable as of early morning. Breakfast is continental, so do not expect hot items, however the rest is tasty with unlimited and very good cappucinos. What we would like to point out is absolutely excellent service. All ladies at the front desk we have interacted were fantastic and helpfull. Their restaurant recommendations were good and they made sure the tables were reserved for us as some places had just few places. Also breakfast room is very well serviced as well.

Room Tip: higher is better due to street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location, short walk from train station, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza Republica, Strozzi. It was the same staff as our last visit 4 years ago which to is a testament to their dedication. All the staff did everything they could to make our stay so wonderful. From great restaurant advice to helping with our daily plans.

Room Tip: A little loud if you stay on Via Tournaboni.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Isabella

Address: Via Tornabuoni 13, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#79 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Isabella is a modern design hotel located right in the historic centre in a 19th century building within a 5 min. walk from the Duomo, the Cathedral of Florence. Renovated in 2013, the rooms feature free Wi-Fi, 37'' flat TV, double-glazing soundproof windows, complimentary buffet breakfast until noon 12:00, bell boy and a reading-room perfect for enjoying the Palazzo Strozzi views while savoring a fine wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergotto Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Isabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.