We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kraft Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kraft Hotel to your Saves list
Kraft Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Solferino 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“visit review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I agree about the roof top bar being the best amenity this hotel has to offer. Our room was absolutely appalling. First the room was terrible. There was an awful sewer gas odor in the room that only got worse through out the night and unbearable the next morning. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling and the plaster was falling from the ceiling. The room was dingy and dirty looking. I don't think it was thoroughly cleaned after the great floods of 1961. I did request another room the next day and was treated as though I was asking for the world. I was not at all satisfied with the Kraft and agree the pictures on the web site do not paint a true picture of what you get for your money. I stayed in room 150 in May 2014.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 150.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    296
    93
    29
    27
See reviews for
137
342
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I agree with some of the reviewers on this hotel. I was vaguely disappointed in some ways but that said the hotel is ok!. Definitely the roof top bar and terrace was one of the best we have experienced but to be honest the hotel is only just scrapping into a 4 star hotel at best. Our room was clean and comfortable but needed decorating. The hotel is relatively expensive for the area, and I was surprised to find that the hotel charges 5 euro's a day for the use of the safe in the room, which seems daylight robbery. I was disappointed that the hotel and staff didn't offer more information, for example I was struggling to download to museum tickets and went to the reception to ask if I could use their printer, only to be told I should have enquired at reception first as they would have booked them for me without a problem. It would have been nice to have been told that when we checked in. Equally the hotel was busy with Americans on a bus trip, breakfast was similar to a American football game, in the end we went down the road and found a fabulous coffee bar serving pastries with having to endure the scrum.

We really enjoyed our break in Florence (especially the day trip to Sienna), and we definitely hope to go back. Having said that I do not think we would re-book the Hotel Kraft as it left us feeling that it was adequate rather than good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krafthotel, Direttore at Kraft Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have taken note about your review after your stay at hotel Kraft . Some of your comments are good and some other are negatives. We accept your suggestions and we will do our best to improve the services you have pointed out. Please note that a fake information has been reported by you as we don't ask any payment for the usage of the room safe . You said : the hotel charges 5 euro's a day for the use of the safe in the room .
It is false ! Please remove this declaration from your review.
Regarding the problem at breakfast we apologize but we cannot foresee the guests affluence to the breakfast room at any time . The hotel was full during your stay and there is a part of the early morning when most of the guests go having breakfast at the same time .
We remain with our best regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I'll start with the best part of this hotel, the rooftop terrace bar. Decent drinks and a fabulous view. It's all downhill from there. This place hasn't been updated since the 70's at best! The room is small, cramped and nothing like the pictures on the website. Small bathroom with a pedestal sink, no place to set toiletries. The safe in the closet - I have shoe boxes bigger than this! Oh - and we had to get a key from the front desk for the safe that wouldn't even hold our iPad mini. Oh, did I mention the bar is over our room? Chairs dragged, people walking till 11pm! Btw- the pool is not heated. It is clean and in a reasonable location, but, for $300+ a night....never again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Kraft Hotel in Firenze is ideal for families or couples looking for a comfortable four star experience close to the city centre.The hotel is situated at a 10-12 minute walk from the city's attractions and in a street which isn't noisy. The rooms as well as the bathrooms are spacious by European standards.I visited with my four month old baby girl, husband and mom and enjoyed the hospitality of the hotel.


Special mention to their rooftop restaurant and terrace to capture some good views of the city.We were not able to use their pool but this hotel has one on the rooftop which is nice for a dip after a day of sightseeing. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and helped retrieve my mom's mobile phone which she accidentally left in a cab ordered from the hotel while heading to D'ell Academia. Be mindful that all room service is charged and so is fresh juice at the breakfast table. The breakfast at this hotel was the best that we had during our trip to Italy.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Our room was very nice. Relatively large by European standards. Clean, functional, and everything worked (though we could have used more than one electrical outlet).
The terrace at the top is a great place for morning breakfast or an evening cocktail
Location depends on your needs. It is in a quieter section near government buildings, etc. Several nice restaurants in the area. But it is a good 15-minute walk from the main shopping and business district. That's not really far, but it does make a difference at the end of the day when you've been on your feet for several hours.
Our issue was noise. I don't recall ever being in a hotel where it was so easy (and disconcerting) to hear your neighbors. The walls and doors have almost no sound proofing. Hallway conversations seem very loud in our room. We lost a couple nights sleep from all the activity around us.
If your are fortunate to have quiet visitors nearby, this could be a good value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the river and railway station.
The breakfast served on the rooftop was excellent with beautiful views over the city.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful.
The only downside was that we could hear every word said in the adjacent room together with other various noises from their bathroom!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kraft Hotel recently and were a little disappointed. I was confused why so many people would write glowing reviews about the rooms. We we're given a room on back side of the hotel (not facing the river), and soon figured out that these are the rooms that have not been refurbished (i assumed as they are very run down). Be sure to ask for a room facing the river if you plan on staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kraft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kraft Hotel

Address: Via Solferino 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kraft Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kraft is located a few steps away from the Historical centre of Florence and from the main Train Terminal S.M.NOVELLA .The congresses centre and the Opera Theatre are also nearby. .All of the 77 hotel rooms are different and elegantly furnished both with antique furnishings in style "maggiolini" as well as the most modern interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Kraft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kraft Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kraft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.