We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country getaway a walk from Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Mina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa di Mina to your Saves list
Casa di Mina
Viale Torricelli, 17/19, 50132 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Waterford, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect country getaway a walk from Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Easy into the city, but felt world's away when we got back to our wonderful room. The breakfast which was included with our room was fabulous. Great place to stay if you love the countryside and enjoy walking.

Room Tip: The garden room was our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
60
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I would give this place a 5-star rating but I think due to its location it may not be suitable for everyone.

To begin, we arrived in Florence and rented a car and drove up to the Casa di Mina. It's not that easy to find as there isn't a big sign for it anywhere and it's along a busy main road so if you overshoot it, you have to make a big round. When we arrived, there was no one home. We waited outside ringing the doorbell for about 10 minutes before deciding to call Lynda on her mobile. Turns out there really wasn't anyone home and she said that she messaged us informing us she would be out (turns out the number she sent it to was not in the right format for msging i.e. included the '00' so we never got it.. but I feel she shouldn't have assumed that we did..and if you're running a B&B and dealing with foreign tourists she should know how to deal with international numbers).

She came back about 20 minutes later (we had to wait in the car in the meantime) to let us in and gave us the run-down of the place and areas to eat etc. We also needed to do laundry and asked her for the nearest laundromat and she was spot on with this on the map. She left right after as she still had things to do. During the day and nights you won't see anyone as the family live upstairs so the floor you're on is basically a place of your own.

The rooms itself are very large and nice. Ours had an entire separate sitting area. Modern furnishings with a bit of antiques here and there. The attached bathroom was abit dated however. Only soap and shampoo provided. Breakfast was good and sufficient. But everything is sort of portioned out for you already and I was wondering what if I wanted more? Anyway you get a fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, prosciutto/salami/cheese, croissants and juice.

Parking is indeed right across the street and free. But it is by no means a 'quiet' neighbourhood because the road outside is pretty busy. It's the main exit road from Piazza Michelangelo so there are a lot of cars at all times of the day. It's also on a hill so yes it may be a downhill walk to Porta Romana but just remember you'll be walking back up too.

Location-wise...even with a car I felt it was a bit far from the city. Having a car in Florence is not much use because of the ZTL so you can't drive in and finding parking just outside the ZTL is really difficult. So you're stuck with walking or taking the bus. To walk to the riverside would take you about half an hour or more and there is only one bus that serves the area. In the daytime it's okay but if you intend on going out at night I think it'd be rather difficult as there isn't exactly a bus timetable you can follow. So I'd say if you don't have a car then maybe you'd like to try to find somewhere closer to stay where all the action is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranavai, PR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 days and really enjoyed the stay.
The service and the staff are very helpful and kind.
Good rates and clean rooms, nice decorated.
Ask to the staff restaurants where to eat.
We'll be back.
Higly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're after a place like home, well this is it!
Located just on the outskirts of the city of Florence (a 10 minute walk down to Porta Romana), the recently renovate house offers 4 large rooms in B&B. Plus, you get access to the lounge that is also used as a breakfast room, where you can enjoy drinks and soft playing music all time round. Free WiFi. Your hosts, Lynda and Francesco together with charming little Mina, ill take care of everything you need, from maps to sightseeing highlights, restaurants and wine bars, the lot. You can get in and out of Florence on foot or by bus, and if you're really late in getting back a taxi from city centre is only about 8€.
The rooms are all fitted with a touch of italian style and taste, one has separate, yet individual, facilities. Very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is a mixture if italian and continental, fresh fruit, fresh cheese and ham readily available.
A great place for feeling at home, despite being on holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved our time at Casa Di Mina. Francesco was at home when we arrived and he gave us a rundown of Casa Di Mina, restaurants and Florence generally. Lynda arrived home later. Both are wonderful hosts. Their B and B is named after their beautiful little daughter Mina. Casa di Mina is quite a grand place. It has four guest rooms and a lovely Tuscan garden at the back. It's very good value for money. We would pay far more in Australia for such a quality B and B. Casa di Mina is in a great location on a quiet road, but within striking distance of anything you want to see in Florence. Our room was large and comfortable and elegantly furnished. Our first breakfast was perfect. Fresh fruit, yogurt, the most delicious muesli, croissants, coffee, cheeses and meats. One thing we really like is the freedom to sit in the communal living/lounge room and to make a cup of tea or coffee ourselves. One morning when it was wet we sat in the living room for a while and Mina chatted to us. That evening Lynda had booked us in for dinner at Quatre Leoni restaurant, but we managed to lose ourselves and had to go another night. She and her husband were both so helpful providing us with information about what to see in Florence and how to get around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent four days at Casa di Mina and found it outstanding. We sought it out because of its 'off the beaten path' location. Just convenient enough to Florence via short bus ride or scenic 20- minute walk, but far enough from the bustle of the city for the feel of a quiet retreat. Lynda and Francesco were superb hosts, very welcoming, accommodating and helpful in every way. They recommended several great restaurants, one of which we visited twice (easy walk from the B&B). Breakfasts are generous...cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, delicious coffee. Our room was cozy, bed very comfortable, big closet, and lovely private double bathroom across the hall (other rooms have in-room baths). The house itself is architecturally stunning, and decorated with contemporary comfortable taste. Amazing value for the relatively low price. I recommend Casa di Mina highly. I wish we could go back tomorrow if I could, but it will have to wait until our next trip to Florence. Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We chose the room with the private bath across the hall. It had a lovely view of the side garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in Nov '12. Generally we use hotels/apartments and this was our first time trying out the b&b. we were not disappointed. Lynda and her family were superb hosts and we were made feel very welcome from the second we arrived.

The accommodation is excellent. A spacious room in excellent surroundings. The house is big and beautifully decorated. It really felt like a hotel but with much more charm and homeliness. Breakfast was top class with an array of choices. The location is very good with the centre of florence no more than a 15 min walk. Parking is no issue outside the house and there is no cost. Our host recommended nearby eateries all were excellent.

The area of florence is extremely safe and we walked at night without a bother. We had to leave early and scooted away at 6am. Our hosts had coffee left out and offered a breakfast if we wanted it.

Could not recommend this place enough. I'd give it 6 stars if I could :)

Our hosts showed us everything that is right about the Italian people.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa di Mina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Mina

Address: Viale Torricelli, 17/19, 50132 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda, Francesco and their daughter Mina are expecting you in their villa, their home, recently remodeled, which they are sharing with guests and travelers from all over the world. The villa has four rooms for their guests, furnished and decorated by Lynda and Francesco (he's an architect) in their personal taste acquired through travel, passion and a continual pursuit of colors ,fabrics, and light. Vi aspettano Lynda, Francesco e Mina che hanno deciso di aprire la propria casa ad ospiti e viaggiatori di tutto il mondo. Questo B&B si chiama CasaDiMina, e quattro sono le stanze per gli ospiti, tutte arredate con un gusto personale frutto di una ricerca continua e nel tempo su arredi, luci, tessuti e coloriLa Villa degli inizi del secolo scorso e' situata sul Viale dei Colli una delle aree preferite da fiorentini e viaggiatori poiche' immersa nel verde ma a soli 15 minuti di passeggiata dall'Oltrarno considerata come una delle zone piu' autentiche della citta'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa di Mina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Mina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.