We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality, Lovely Setting, Superbly Run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Mina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa di Mina to your Saves list
Casa di Mina
Viale Torricelli, 17/19, 50132 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality, Lovely Setting, Superbly Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Absolutely loved staying at this wonderful B&B. The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is because it's very slightly off the beaten path. When I say off the beaten path, it just means you don't walk out your door and cross the river. However, they have bikes available to use and it's a very quick jaunt down the hill to the Oltrano. Getting back can be tiring after a day of biking and sightseeing but that's my only knock on this place.

In a country not known for it's breakfast, Casa Di Mina included a very sufficient European breakfast. The room was lovely and the caretakers had no problem accommodating our every need, which included ironing, calling a cab, waking us up, etc. Very lovely people. Very lovely place. And the B&B's namesake is cute as a button.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa di Mina at the end of May and it was a great choice. as everyone has stated rooms are clean, elegantly decorated without losing the sense of its origin and the city it resides in. Lynda and Francesco are friendly and happy to help where they can, the restaurant they recommended to us - 'La Terrazza del Principe' was a short leafy stroll and we enjoyed it so much we went back again!

the city center is a short bus 11 ride away, buy your bus tickets at any tobacconist store or the Poggio cafe near the B&B- remember it only is valid for an hour and a half from when you scan it in the bus. otherwise you can walk if you don't mind.

the B&B is located in a leafy and quiet area, the road it faces is a 'main' road and even though we heard the cars they were not a big thing especially as u always heard birds through out the day.

all rooms are as you see them on the site and the junior suite has its own en suite- although we personally thought the other bigger bathroom had more charm due to is tap, handle fittings etc which we felt fitted the Italian villa much more.

we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other travelers- particularly if you want to pamper yourself with a real double/ queen bed- rather than twin bed pushed together, a spacious room to relax in, beautiful gardens and yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white rock, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days at Casa di Mina, and thoroughly enjoyed this home away from home. The rooms are large, clean, quiet, and beautiful. The neighbourhood is very upscale, and the property is gorgeous. Lynda is a terrific hostess, very informative of nearby restaurants, parks, and sites. The home is walking distance from the historic walled city, and there are 2 bicycles available to travel further to surrounding parks. Breakfast was a delightful time to meet the other guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautiful NC mountains
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Casa Di Mina is like a treasured jewel. For our recent trip across northern Italy, with 3 nights in Florence, we had much difficulty finding the place with the right "feel" for us. Casa Di Mina was actually the 5th place we booked (we did cancel each of the others). We would be traveling by rental car, and knew parking in Florence would be an issue. Successively, we were booked in an elegant old hotel out of the city center, to a hostel, to a highly-rated centrally located small hotel, to a top-rated small hotel in the center, and we just weren't "at rest" until we found Casa Di Mina. We wanted to avoid the tension of finding parking in Florence, and we wanted to have a certain sense of remove from the very center of Florence.
Casa Di Mina, classified as a Bed & Breakfast, is in a lovely 19th century villa, and parking is free and, we found, very safe, across the street, along the street. A regularly-scheduled short bus ride into Florence's center was available near by.
The rooms are beautiful, elegant, spacious, high-ceilinged, and give a sense of quiet and spaciousness. Our bathroom was large. The breakfast is served elegantly, and in a large living room, with "French doors" opening onto a balcony, overlooking the garden you may enjoy. Bowls filled with freshly-cut fruit and choices of excellent cereals distinguish the fine breakfasts.
Lynda, the owner, herself sets a tone of warmth and elegance. You "know" she is a person of many interests and intelligence. She is soft-spoken, accomodating (our arrival was late), and non-obtrusive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a a very relaxing time at Casa Di Mina. It was lovely to wake up hearing the birds in the morning and we were only a short walk from the city. There were some lovely restaurants nearby too. We would recommend this B and B to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

A lovely home away from home. Our room had style and was comfortable. Breakfast was nice and ample, with a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salad.
The very best thing we loved about staying here was the free use of bikes - a bike is by far the best way to see Florence. You can easily ride to the nearby San Miniato di Monte church and onward to the Piazzale Michelangelo, which both have stunning views of Florence. A ride into town is easy done, though back might be a bit harder as it is up hill! Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We chose the room across the hall from the stairs next to the kitchen, it was spacious and away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Casa di Mina for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The 18th century villa is beautifully restored and decorated in a trendy, modern way- absolutely beautiful with white bedding and fluffy towels. This place is really a haven away from the bustle of Florence. Although the hotel is on a busy street, the rooms have double glazing and aircon so the traffic didnt bother us. You can walk to the center of Florence, but it is far if youve been walking around for a week- we used the bus and also sometimes our car. Great if you want to stay just outside the center. Breakfast is good. The fresh fruit was a welcome change to the normal sweets one always gets in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa di Mina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Mina

Address: Viale Torricelli, 17/19, 50132 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynda, Francesco and their daughter Mina are expecting you in their villa, their home, recently remodeled, which they are sharing with guests and travelers from all over the world. The villa has four rooms for their guests, furnished and decorated by Lynda and Francesco (he's an architect) in their personal taste acquired through travel, passion and a continual pursuit of colors ,fabrics, and light. Vi aspettano Lynda, Francesco e Mina che hanno deciso di aprire la propria casa ad ospiti e viaggiatori di tutto il mondo. Questo B&B si chiama CasaDiMina, e quattro sono le stanze per gli ospiti, tutte arredate con un gusto personale frutto di una ricerca continua e nel tempo su arredi, luci, tessuti e coloriLa Villa degli inizi del secolo scorso e' situata sul Viale dei Colli una delle aree preferite da fiorentini e viaggiatori poiche' immersa nel verde ma a soli 15 minuti di passeggiata dall'Oltrarno considerata come una delle zone piu' autentiche della citta'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa di Mina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Mina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.