We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smack dab in the center of Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Firenze Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Firenze Suites & Spa to your Saves list
San Firenze Suites & Spa
Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smack dab in the center of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Friendly, very accommodating, superb rooms, fabulous views, professional staff, always going the extra mile, felt so welcome. The rooms were spacious and well laid out. So were the bathrooms. So much to do and see nearby, church bells calling us to mass regularly. Even the driving instructions were perfect, to the letter. Could only wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Alamocity ,
Thank you for Your kind review , it is always a pleasure for us to see described the experiences of our customers in the hotel, all of this helps us a lot in our work as customer care!
Thanks for the kind comments about our suites , in size and structure , we are very glad to know that You have enjoyed every part of our hotel!
Since this hotel has such a central location , all our guests can enjoy the pleasure of the true Florentine atmosphere , being immersed in the historical center , with the bells ringing every day in celebration!
To arrive the city center from the highway exit , there are many little streets and passages to go , this is precisely the reason why we wanted to create detailed instructions with a clear path to follow, we are pleased that you have found them useful!
We hope You can come back soon in the next future and, why no, stay a few extra days to enjoy the beauty of the city and towns nearby , do not hesitate to contact us to get the best rate!
Kind Regards
Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
146
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and 12-year-old daughter stayed at the San Firenze for 7 nights in the large Executive Suite Room 111 overlooking Piazza San Firenze. We loved the decor and modern bathroom--plenty of room for the three of us. The staff was wonderful, especially Lavinia, Barbara, Loran and David. All very helpful and friendly. The Brown Sugar cafe next door was perfect for breakfast. The location is a dream as it is mere yards from the Uffizi, Bargello, Palazzo Vecchio, and the river. Also a 5 minute walk to my favorite church Santa Croce. You really cannot go wrong with the San Firenze suites and it would definitely be our first choice for a return visit. Make sure if you arrive by taxi you go to Piazza San Firenze (ours first tried to drop us off at the Piazza Signoria) and look for the small plaque on the building next to the newsstand at No. 3. It is easy to miss.

Room Tip: Don't worry about rooms facing the Piazza. It is quite quiet at night and the rooms have except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear nnw59,

Thank You for Your nice review and for the complete description you have made of the hotel: this help us showing how the hotel is with the eyes of our guest!
Location of San Firenze Suites & Spa is a strong point, so that You can easily reach any monuments or old palace You would like to visit, and also our staff is always glad to help You in any ticket’s booking!
San Firenze is one of the oldest squares of Florence, so that taxis should know where is located… however being compared to piazza Signoria is, for sure, a compliment by the driver you have met!
For Your next stay, it will be a pleasure for us to offer You a Loyal discount and, why not, should You prefer we can organize one the company drivers of Florence to come to pick You up and to bring You here a t the hotel !
Hope to see You soon again,

With Kind Regards

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just checked out of the San Firenze suites and I must say we had an amazing stay. The hotel staff was always prompt, helpful, and pleasant. We were here for 4 nights and we found it to be a great home base as we explored Florence and Tuscany. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Stephanie B.,

Thanks for Your so nice review, it would have been great to have You here for some days more! Of course in a trip to Italy You need to see all our main cities, so that you cannot stop here for a so long time, however we always hope that You will have the opportunity for a second holiday in Florence!
Should You be able to come in a different season, it will be also a great opportunity to visit Chianti areas, our wonderful hills around the city: our staff will be glad to help You organizing everything You might need!
Hope to see You soon again, please remember that contacting us directly, our management will be glad to offer You the great Loyal discount!

With kind Regards

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

3 of us stayed in two rooms at this magnificent establishment for 6 days. It is really a shame that we couldn't have stayed even longer, but there is a lot of Italy we still need to see. From the moment we arrived Barbara, Livinia and David made us feel that we were special, like old family members coming home. There was not a single recommendation, large or small (where the best whatever was, where an attraction was, how to get directions to something or somewhere, etc) that wasn't spot on. Their English was excellent and they took the time to help us with our limited Italian. So much for the staff--I could go on for some time singing their praises, but on about the property. Location. Location. Location. Literally in walking distance to everything Florence. The two rooms we had were on the 3rd floor overlooking the piazza. In the early evening the street noises were wonderful to listen to--cars passing by, church bells ringing, conversations, etc. However, come 2-3 am those same conversations became quite loud. Close the windows and all you heard was silence. Truly sound-proof-windows. The beds. Six nights of sheer heaven. As far as hotel beds go (and I have slept in more than my share), these are at the top of the princess-and-the-pea stack. Plenty of room in the room for all of our suitcases without having to climb over anything. Breakfast in the morning was nothing less than excellent as well. Fresh fruit, juices, pastries, hot beverages, etc. couldn't have asked for more. If I could have given it more stars I would have. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Tymbo family,

thanks for Your so wonderful review, it has been a pleasure to us all to receive it!
Seeing that we have been so helpful for You it is the most important thing for us: our guest comes before everything!
The architecture of the hotel has given us the opportunity to build the hotel as You can see it: soundproof windows – the main important thing while You stay in a so central location, in the middle of Florentine life!
Our staff is always glad to help our guest, as we want You to feel like home while You are here, so we do all our best to give You the best recommendation, same that we could give to a member of our family!
The, of course, central location, is one of the strong point of the hotel, matched with the furniture and interior decoration, we always hope that this can leave in our guest magic memories of your Florentine stay!
Every single details have been studied and chosen personally by the owners and management: this gives to the hotel a “personal touch”, which we hope everyone will enjoy!
On top, breakfast without having to go out in the morning, is the “cherry on the cake” – ciliegina sulla torta – as we use to say here in Italy: fresh fruit, cakes, hot drinks, fresh eggs, bacon and so much more wait for You every morning, our way to say to you a nice “Buongiorno!”
We hope to have You here in the next future, it will be a pleasure for us to offer You the Loyal discount for Your next travel to Florence!

With Kind Regards

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a gem! Given it's proximity to the Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizzi, and Museo Gucci etc the suites were very good value. Our room had a gorgeous view over Piazza San Firenze, and you could open the window to take advantage of the pealing bells, but when closed the room was very quiet. Spacious and comfortable room. Staff were helpful and able to book tickets to Galleria Accademia for us which was a must to save us heaps of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thanks for spending Your time to review us, it is very important to receive our guest comments, it make us feel we are working in the correct way to let our guest feel great while they are here with us!
As the central location give to all our suites the magic view of Firenze main streets, square or even the Chapel of the Duomo or the Bargello museum, we consider us very lucky, so that our guest can feel the real Florentine culture and life!
Our staff, always informed on the new museums opening hours, exhibitions, particular events and much more, is glad to help all our guest to organize their days and evenings here in Florence: any time during the day we are ready to suggest You a walking tour by the secrets old passages of the city and, why not, a nice lounge bar where to enjoy a great aperitif and restaurants to try to best Florentine cuisine!
We will be glad to have You here in the future for you next trip to Florence, do not hesitate to contact us directly to have Your Loyal discount, our staff will be glad to assist You for Your next stay!

With Kind Regards

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in mid July, 2013. It was a great experience. The staff at the hotel all spoke good English and were helpful in providing directions/ information as required. We traveled to Florence to celebrate our honeymoon and were provided with a free room upgrade to help celebrate our special occasion, we even had a view of the top of the Duomo Cathedral from our window! The hotel was clean and had daily room service which was wonderful! The hotel is very centrally located, you can walk to all the main sites of Florence easily, everything seemed to be within 10 minutes reach! Daily breakfast included was great and was served in the restaurant next door to the hotel. This is a fantastic restaurant that we also chose to eat lunch and some dinners at regularly, as the service and quality of food was fantastic, let alone very cheap in comparison to some other restaurants in the area- you can’t go wrong! The hotel staff were all so friendly and helpful in providing us with some great tips on where to shop for great quality leather products- would highly recommend this hotel!

Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Brooke and Tim

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view and it sure was lovely to look out the window and see the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Brooke and Tim,
Thanks for Your so nice review, it is a real pleasure for us to have so nice comments from our guest! The central location of our hotel is of course a strong point, which is luckily match with all the magic and wonderful historical monuments and buildings of Florence, as it is also the one where our hotel has been created in, from the 17th century!
Having a bar restaurant next door connected to us is also a great fortune, so that all our guest can enjoy complete breakfast and, why not, lunch, dinner, aperitif and much more!
Our staff always try to help our guest as best as possible, making You feel at home, providing all the informations and suggestions on how to spend Your holiday here in Florence: whatever You might need, ask to us, we will be glad to help!
On top of all, the double glazed windows can give You the soundproof relaxing stay, as being in the centre of the city can sometimes let You ear tourist and locals around San Firenze square: You can enjoy Florentine life, but also close the window and relax after a long walking tour day!
Should You come in future, You or friends and family, do not hesitate to contact us directly, our staff will be glad to offer You the best rate, with special Loyal discount!
Hope to see You soon again,

With Kind Regards

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world but none compare with the warmth and hospitality extended to us by the staff at the San Firenze Suites.From Lavinia,Barbara,Elena on reception to Amanti(who makes a killer capuccino) and the girls on the bar to our domestic goddesses who gave us fresh linen and towels each day.I know this probably sounds a bit gushing but when you've spent the day absorbing the beautiful city of Florence and you need the sanctuary of your hotel room this is the place to stay.Thanks to all of you.Linda and John Shaw.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Proprietario at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for Your wonderful review and for the beautiful card you have sent to us, it has been a pleasure to have You here as guest in the hotel, all our staff was enchanted by Your beautiful personality: seeing You every morning coming down for breakfast and having a little chat has been so nice and funny!
Our mission is to let guests feel at home while You are here, and I suppose we have reached this purpose with You!
We really hope to have You here back in the next future and even to have the chance to come to visit You sometimes!
Your let us feel that all our efforts have been made in the right way, this is so important to us all! Do not forget to ask for the Loyal discount for Your next stay!
With Kind Regards,

Micol Fargion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Firenze Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Firenze Suites & Spa

Address: Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created through the renovation of an aristocratic residence dating to the 17th century, and previously home to noble Florentine and families, the San Firenze Suites & Spa boasts an enviable location in the splendid Piazza San Firenze, adjacent to Piazza della Signoria and opposite the impressive Bargello National Museum.14 suites equipped with all modern comforts, where the style of Italian design is harmoniously blended with the skilfully restored original architecture to offer spacious and elegant premises that are the pefect symbiosis of discretion, elegance and welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Firenze Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Firenze Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.