We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Firenze Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Firenze Suites & Spa to your Saves list
San Firenze Suites & Spa
Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Because of a very disappointing home exchange experience, my husband and I found ourselves looking for a last minute room to finish out our stay in Florence. I made a list of hotels in our budget, but, I wasn't familiar with any of them. We started out in the morning going to hotels we'd stayed in previously (even though they were over our budget), but no luck. So, we went to the list.
The closest one to our location was San Firenze Suites. As we entered we were met by two lovely women, in a very small, less than impressive, reception area. We asked if there was a room available, but I was thinking to myself that I had to see the room first. I wasn't very hopeful.
What a Wonderful Surprise! They didn't waste much space on the lobby/reception area, but the room was huge, beautifully decorated, spotless and brand new! And that was the junior suite! They also had an executive suite available, but the junior had everything we needed. Including a huge armoire that contained a mini-kitchen complete with mini-dishwasher! All of the room and bathroom appointments were first quality and well thought out. The hotels location is a one minute walk from the Uffizi, so you're in the center of everything, but when you close the windows, it's very quiet. We couldn't have been happier with this hotel, and given our previous, very upsetting experience, it was such a treat. The women in reception were so kind and polite and helpful. We wished we could have stayed longer.
I didn't realize there was a spa on site until our last evening or I would have taken advantage of that too.
And the price...if you've priced rooms in Florence you know they're not cheap. At a bit over 200 Euros per night, it's got to be the best deal in Florence. We'll be recommending the San Firenze Suites to all our friends.
If you're taking a cab, tell the driver to go to the Piazzale San Firenze. It's at the opposite end of the Piazzale from the famous Hotel Bernini.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfirenze, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for this wonderful review, when a guest is so pleased we are more than happy………it means that all our efforts to make your stay very special matched the goal!
Of course we would be very honored to be your "home" during your next visit to Florence and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
146
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My fiance and I spent two idyllic days here in July. It was scalding hot in the city, but we didn't care - we were in the absolute center of all the shopping, restaurants, museums, must-see sites. 10 minutes from the train station, in a tiny piazza (note that the entrance is behind a magazine stand, so it's hard to discern). The rooms show an amazing attention to detail with elegance and that indefinably italian mystique. Our room had a separate little kitchen with balcony that (on the end) looked out on to the Duomo. The front desk staff were very sweet and attentive. I would absolutely stay here again any time we visit Florence!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfirenze, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post, I'm very happy you had good time with us and you enjoyed our services and amenities. You are right, the location is really enviable, San Firenze Suites offers guests the ideal accomodation for an exclusive experience of the city.
I'm sure next time you decide to come to Florence you will stay again with us, see you soon!
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Wow! Although VERY difficult to find for the cab driver.... we were left near Uffizi and worked out way back, the location is ideal for Florence sightseeing. If you takle a cab in justmake sure to ask for Piazzale San Firenze and look for the sign for the Consulate for Peru... :--).... The hotel is new, staff are so very helpful and the rooms were just perfect. Quality linens, loads of space, BIG bathroom, GREAT A/C, small kitchenette unit that is ideal ( esp. considering this is a no F&B facility).

Our best find was the Caffe/Bar on the corner which offered a wonderful appetizer array in the evening with the purchase of an E8.50 cocktail or wine. Help yourself a second time- no problem! Outdoor seating, friendly staff... good find!

Will definitely recommend this place to friends and use again when I travel to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfirenze, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I shared it with the reception girls and they were really very proud of it! As you know the San Firenze Suites is a very new brand hotel and we are really working hard to make it known in the best way and what better way than a review like this? Thank you !
It is really a pleasure for all of us to see that our efforts to customer care have reached the ultimate goal which is to make your stay perfect, thanks again!
Of course we hope to have you soon as our guest again and thank you for recommending our hotel.
My best regards
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I spent a 3 day weekend in Florence. The Hotel had just opened, but everything was just perfect. We had a great room with a spectacular view of the Duomo, an amazing bathroom, and the hotel's style was fine enough to be featured in an interior design magazine. The location is in the center of Florence, near Piazza Signoria, only several minutes walk away from anywhere in Florence you could want to go. The hotel staff was very knowledgeable about Florentine museums and suggested amazing restaurants. Certainty, this is a place for a great vacation with all the comforts that we Americans have become used to: AC, wireless, kitchen, shower and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfirenze, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and we are pleased that you approved our services and enjoyed Your stay.
The central location of our Hotel surely gave you the opportunity to visit and appreciate Florence.
Of course we hope to have you soon as our guest again and thank you for recommending our hotel.
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting Florence. The room where amazing and we had a decent view on the 3rd floor. The location is very nice, only a couple blocks from the Uffizi gallery. Although, the hotel was extremely hard to find and a tip is to look behind the news stand on the corner of the square by via della Condotta. They have a parking service for your car at extra money. We payed 34€ for little over 24H.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite. Well worth the ver little money extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfirenze, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post, I'm very happy you had good time with us and you enjoyed Your stay !It is true, The San Firenze Suites may be a little bit hard to find..........but once you stayed with us I hope next time you will visit to Florence you will come back to San Firenze Suites !
Thanks again and...........see you soon!
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

San Firenze Suites is a truly formidable place to stay in Florence and I highly recommend it for those who do not expect a proper hotel (it's just serviced suites and a reception, and of course the spa). The residence is very central, we couldn't have chosen a better place. We were a little worried about staying somewhere so central, as we had a car, but the hotel offers valet parking and our car was picked up and delivered to us as requested and it is really very easy to get out of the center (but be careful as the garage is a little expensive, around 35-40 euros per day). Our suite was big enough to accomodate four people, wonderfully furnished, very clean, with a wonderful modern bathroom and plenty of storage space, a very cute and fully equipped kitchenette and a wonderful view over Florence's rooftops. Both receptionists were extremely helpful and polite, they even offered to carry our luggage to the room, and attended all our needs immediately. They spoke very good English and so were able to give advise about the city etc. All

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfirenze, Direttore at San Firenze Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure for the entire hotel staff reading your positive review and knowing that you have spent a wonderful stay
We hope to have you soon as our guest again and thank you for recommending our hotel.
Kind regards
Margherita Usai - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Firenze Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Firenze Suites & Spa

Address: Piazza San Firenze, 3/a, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created through the renovation of an aristocratic residence dating to the 17th century, and previously home to noble Florentine and families, the San Firenze Suites & Spa boasts an enviable location in the splendid Piazza San Firenze, adjacent to Piazza della Signoria and opposite the impressive Bargello National Museum.14 suites equipped with all modern comforts, where the style of Italian design is harmoniously blended with the skilfully restored original architecture to offer spacious and elegant premises that are the pefect symbiosis of discretion, elegance and welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Firenze Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Firenze Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.