We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service, but worth waiting for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vegan

Dolce Vegan
Via San Gallo, 92/R | Vicino a Piazza Della Liberta, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Marco)
Improve this listing
Ranked #552 of 2,093 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Italian, Organic, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Vegan organic restaurant, bakery and store. Open every day from 12 am to 3 pm and from 7 pm to 11 pm (closed on tuesday) for lunch and dinner. Daily menu with homepasta like lasagne, ravioli, tortelli, tagliatelle, gnocchi and as well seitan and fast food dishes for second courses! Many kind of cakes and desserts, ice creams! Little store inside with several vegan organic and fair trade products, vegan cheeses, yogurt, vegan slices, seitan. Friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Try vegan and organic food in Florence!
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service, but worth waiting for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

OK, it's my own fault, I should have learnt some Italian before I popped to Florence for a short trip, but I didn't. This made the experience at Dolce Vegan challenging. It wasn't immediately clear how the place worked, and there wasn't any staff around. But eventually it was sorted, you order at the counter.

The place is small and it quickly filled up, with the slow service the tables were occupied for longer than in other restaurants, which didn't help.

However once the food arrived it was very good. As a vegan it was worth waiting for, and the menu is varied enough to go back, but we didn't as there were plenty of other restaurants to try during our brief trip.

I wouldn't go as a group unless you went off-peak, but as somewhere for a couple it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank John_Guinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pyrenees orientales, france
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, excellent food (my non vegan partner loved it as much as I !!!)
We have been there twice on our long weekend because we both liked the food so much (and the organic chianti too ;-) )

Visited June 2013
1 Thank clouds07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have no idea how this place has such good reviews.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Extremely over priced for what you get, food very sub par, staff unfriendly, uncomfortable seating, clique-y atmosphere, really disappointed. I don't know what the obsession with fake meat is but I really don't know why a restaurant would base it's whole menu around it. The antipasti we ordered was supposed to be for two but I it was a small portion even for one, primi was cold and also very small for the price. Desserts were slightly better but not much. Woman behind the counter was surly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Thank missingseasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous wether or not your vegan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ate at Dolce Vegan during our four day stay in Florence. We do eat a vegan diet, but even if you are not vegan this place is fabulous. The pasta dishes were the best we had during our entire three weeks in Italy. The falafel sandwich was great, as was the lasagna. We liked it so much we ate here several times during our stay in Florence. It is a small restaurant, so if your looking to get a table in the evening you might want to make a reservation. The price and value is also very good, we highly recommend trying Dolce Vegan!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
2 Thank JenLynn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We came here by accident because another restaurant was full. When we arrived we were a bit confused as there didn't seem to be any "service". After watching some other people we realised it was self service. We were eventually served by the sulky waitress and ordered food and beer. The food was pretty good. Only criticism is the falafel a little dry and not enough guacamole otherwise nice. Wouldn't come here again or recommend to others because even tho the food was good the lack of service and atmosphere made you feel like they were doing you a favour by actually making you anything to eat.

1 Thank KBalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vegan also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence

Been to Dolce Vegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing