We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Slow Day in Tuscany

A Slow Day in Tuscany
Viale G Mazzini, 40, 50123 Florence, Italy
055 906 4092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 322 Activities in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Slow day in Tuscany'offered by Slow-Days® takes you to a family owned vineyard for wine tasting, a charming medieval hill town and full meal at a Tuscan Slow Food restaurant. Not so much a tour as a chance to meet the locals.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Florence and we wanted to get away from the city for a day and view the countryside with some wine tasting included. This was the perfect tour! We were in a small group of under 10 people and the views from the car ride were spectacular. We stopped to have a wine tasting at Fernando's winery, which is next to a small medieval village. The view from the tasting is unreal. As an avid wine drinker, the Chianti was outstanding. We ended up buying half a case of it to drink in Italy. We also visited two small medieval towns, one of which is the home to Dario the Butcher, and my husband really wanted to stop into the butcher stop and Simon took a few minutes to stop in for us! We enjoyed a wonderful slow lunch, with wine of course, and then stopped at a medieval castle. Simon was extremely knowledgeable and answered every question we asked. Perfecto!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alexandria, virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A perfect day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

When I booked this tour I expected it to be a small group, but it turned out to be just my friend and I, so we got a private tour. Simon was great, and we enjoyed visiting with Fernando at his winery and seeing a few other towns as well as a castle on the way back to town. Well worth the cost and highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous location, wonderful wine, knowledgeable local knowledge. Best trip I've had in Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We had the most fantastic day seeing Tuscany, sampling the Chanti wines, enjoying the views and such a knowledgeable guide. Do this tour, it will be the highlight of your trip in Italy!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Best Tour of Our Vacation in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Simon, owner and tour guide, has got it right! With his extensive world travel as background, he has designed a tour that appeals to a certain type of traveler. Some tourists are comfortable with a frenetic pace that has them constantly on the move, seeking to pack into a single day as many sights as physically possible. On the other hand, there are visitors to Italy who seek authentic, meaningful insights into the people and culture of the country. The latter group should seriously consider A Slow Day in Tuscany.
There are several unique aspects of Simon's daytrip into the Tuscan countryside. First, the number of people is small--always eight or fewer (that's the capacity of his van--and even if it weren't, you know that Simon would keep the numbers small so that he is able to interact meaningfully with his guests throughout the day).
Second: time is never the guiding factor. Unlike other tours where the harried guide has a tight timetable and is frequently glancing surreptitiously at his watch, Simon allows events to unfold naturally and at the pace determined by the customers. There is a plan for the day, of course, but guests are not slaves to a tight timetable.
Along the way, Simon provides intelligent commentary and welcomes questions. He creates an atmosphere where guests feel comfortable.
The first major stop was at a small family farm owned by Fernando Sieni. The farm is about 50 metres from the lovely village of Montefioralle (population approximately 100 families). The land, originally owned by the church, has been passed to Fernando from his father. In his seventies, Fenando raises grapes and olives following the age-old ways of his family. He produces about 3,000 bottles of wonderful red wine each year, as well as olive oil. Gracious and generous with his time, Fernando had prepared for our arrival by setting up a table under an awning adjacent to his olive grove. The six Chianti wines we tasted were accompanied by bruschetta, salami, prosciutto and a wonderful sharp parmesan. Fernando explained each wine (while Simon did a simultaneous translation into English). It soon became clear that he is passionate about wine-making and reveres the traditions set down by his ancestors. Like all great hosts, Fernando made his guests feel at home. On one occasion, he brought out an atlas and asked each guest to show what part of the world they were from. The ambience was such that we felt in tune with age-old traditions of hospitality and gained some insight into the Italian character. Later, the group had time for a leisurely stroll through the narrow streets of Montefioralle. Amazingly, there were only a few people about--such a welcome contrast to large cities and towns.
Simon took us to two other towns--Panzano and Greve (where we were treated to wonderful gelato). Each has its charms.
The tour includes an wonderful alfresco lunch at a rural restaurant, Cantinetta Sassolini. The fact that most of the diners were Italians who were clearly enjoying their lunch indicated that Simon had chosen well.
Slow Day in Tuscany has much to recommend. Tourists seeking some insight into the real character of Italy will certainly enjoy the experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slow day in Tuscany a highlight of our time in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well today was one of the highlights of our trip to Europe. Simon, a displaced Englishman whose Italian is fluent,  knows the culture, the countryside of Tuscany and his wine. We enjoyed ourselves so much. We had been on our travels with a 12 day cruise to four countries and we were getting sick of crowds and lines and we needed a day to just take it easy. We went on a wonderful wine tasting tour and met Fernando. Simon translated as quickly as Fernando spoke. We had some great Classic Chianti, and even better conversation about the art of wine making and the tradition of the Chianti region. We then toured several small towns, a couple of churches and were back to Florence to see the Accademia and "David". We can not say enough about Simon and his Slow day in Tuscany" it was Great! 

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Slow Day in Tuscany also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Loro Ciuffenna, Province of Arezzo
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to A Slow Day in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Slow Day in Tuscany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.